This book is a collection of essays written by and interviews with working composers for film and television, and video games, exploring the business side of composing, addressing the lack of understanding about career development and business responsibilities as they relate to composers.

The Twelfth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David Baskerville and Tim Baskerville's handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field.

Create, Produce, Consume explores the cycle of musical experience for musicians, professionals, and budding entrepreneurs looking to break into the music industry. Building on the concepts of his previous book, Making Money, Making Music, David Bruenger provides readers with a basic framework for understanding the relationships between the artist and audience and the producer consumer by examining the methods underlying creation-production-reception and creation-consumption-compensation. Each chapter offers a different perspective on the processes and structures that lead listeners to discover, experience, and interact with music and musical artists. Through case studies ranging from Taylor Swift's refusal to allow her music to be streamed on Spotify to the rise of artists supported through sites like Patreon, Bruenger offers highly relevant real-world examples of industry practices that shape our encounters with music. Create, Produce, Consume is a critical tool for giving readers the agile knowledge necessary to adapt to a rapidly changing music industry. Graphs, tables, lists for additional reading, and questions for further discussion illustrate key concepts.   Online resources for instructors and students will include sample syllabi, lists for expanded reading, and more.

Today's music business is more challenging than ever, but music's availability and the consumption of this powerful force offer unprecedented opportunities for those with the desire to succeed. Music Business Essentials: A Guide for Aspiring Professionals takes musicians and beginning business students on a journey full of vital nuts and bolts knowledge as well as practical wisdom from a veteran industry professional. Although the dynamic music industry is always changing, Mark Cabaniss's concise and encouraging, yet realistic approach reveals unchanging principles to guide readers towards successful and fulfilling careers in music. From band dynamics and touring to songwriting and publishing and from branding and promotion to record labels and revenue streams, Cabaniss covers the entire music machine from the talent to the tax returns. Music Business Essentials is an easy-to-read introduction that will prove an invaluable handbook for reference time and again. It is ideal for college students, high school students, and anyone interested in a career in music.

It's tough to measure success for something that doesn't exist yet The language of music meets the language of business in this unorthodox examination of the influences and impact that creativity, improvisation, and collaboration have within an organization. Using interviews with successful business people who also were (or still are) professional musicians, musician/ad tech thought-leader Todd Pasternack takes readers throughLessons From The Road: Musicians As Business Leaders using real-world stories "from the road" to help today's business leaders find fresh ideas to bring back to their organizations to create innovative products and solutions, build stronger teams, and more quickly connect dots in unexpected and valuable ways. Featuring Interviews with: Rob Avery, Scala, Digitas Health and bass player for Boysetsfire Jimmy Chamberlin, CEO of Blue J Strategies and drummer for the Smashing Pumpkins Reid Genauer, CMO at Magisto and guitar and vocals for Assembly of Dust Anurag Gulati, Uber, Facebook, studio owner and engineer Cat Kolodij, Progressive Insurance, guitar and vocals for Working Michael Lowenstern, R/GA, bass clarinet Naomi Margolin, Armada Global, vocalist with Sam Moore and Mark Newman Band Glenn Rosenstein, Wealthpoint Financial Group, record label president and record producer Derek Richmond, Prettybird, guitarist Al Schnier, guitar and vocals for moe.

In today's fast-moving music industry, what does it take to build a life-long career? Now more than ever, all those working in music need to be aware of many aspects of the business, and take control of their own careers. Understanding the Music Business offers students a concise yet comprehensive overview of the rapidly evolving music industry, rooted in real-world experiences. Anchored by a wealth of career profiles and case studies, this second edition has been updated throughout to include the most important contemporary developments, including the advent of streaming and the shift to a DIY paradigm. A new "Both Sides Now" feature helps readers understand differing opinions on key issues. Highly readable, Understanding the Music Business is the perfect introduction for anyone seeking to understand how musical talents connect to making a living.

In the last decade, no industry has been through as much upheaval and turmoil as the music industry. It is a democratic, "DIY" business and any guide to success in these new waters must be told by someone who has survived them. Ari Herstand's How to Make It in the New Music Business is not only a brilliantly compiled tutorial on how to accomplish specific tasks--routing a tour, negotiating contracts, getting paid for streamed plays or licensing music--but also a manifesto, encouraging musicians to pave their own path.

Indie Rock 101 is a clear, concise, all-in-one primer for beginning to mid-level musicians looking for the essential fundamentals behind running, recording and promoting their band. It's all the basics that can take years to collate from more specialized or technical books, magazines and websites-and it's written by a real independent musician. * Part I, Running Your Band covers the topics most relevant to forming and running the band: the people, practice and songwriting * Part II, Recording covers pre-production considerations, gear and how-to basics, and timeless fundamentals and techniques around recording, mixing and mastering * Part III, Promoting covers what you need to know to establish and grow your fan base, including graphic design, your press kit and website, sharing and selling your music, playing out and making a video Whether you're just starting out or looking for a 360-degree primer to help take your music to the next level, Indie Rock 101 is the one book that covers it all. Featuring photos and Q&As from: Birdmonster * CDBaby founder Derek Sivers * Juliana Hatfield * John Vanderslice * Karate * Mark Kozelek of

Do you want to pursue a career and succeed in the lucrative area of music publishing? The Art of Music Publishing provides real inspiration and a tangible hands on perspective to this exciting side of the high-risk, high-reward music business. Prepare yourself for a career in music publishing and understand this complex but profitable part of the music business. Author Gammons walks you through all you need to know * understanding the role of the publisher * copyright * managing rights * income streams * contracts*. Learn how, when and where income is generated in all the current areas of business as well as exploring the new industries offering new income streams and the business models that are developing. The supporting website includes video interviews and podcasts with music business legends. 'If there is anything that Helen Gammons doesn't know about music publishing, it's probably not worth knowing! If you want to take it to the next level in music publishing - read this book. I know I'll be referring to it often.' David 'Hawk' Wolinski Composer of "Aint No Body" (Rufus and Chaka Khan) and one of the most covered songs ever. "Whether you're alreadynbsp;a music publisher or would like to be one, this book will give you a mass of useful information - fresh ideas, up-to-date legal opinions, video interviews with music biz legends, provocative thoughts about where the business is heading, and plenty of good anecdotes." From Simon Napier Bellnbsp; Manager: The Yardbrids, George Michael and Wham, Marc Bolan. Japan.

The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to the Music Businessis written for every musician who needs to learn the business of music, as well as for all businesspeople entering the music industry. Author Michael Miller covers all the key business topics and reveals the wealth of job opportunities in the music industry from a business perspective. Covers finding an agent, negotiating contracts, publishing songs, collecting royalties, and promotion strategies. Also covers such nonmusician industry careers as artist management, concert promotion, music production, and radio. Features essential information on the new frontiers of electronic and online music.

So you're talented, well trained, and passionate about music. What next? The professional marketplace is flooded with outstanding musicians, forced to compete for a shrinking number of ""traditional"" opportunities. The Savvy Musician helps balance three overriding aspects of your professional musical life: (1) building a career, (2) earning a living, and (3) making a difference. Filled with clearly articulated concepts, detailed strategies, and 165 vignettes about actual musicians working to create a meaningful and prosperous career, this book examines critical elements often overlooked or misunderstood by musicians, and helps you take control of your career. Discover how to build an immediately recognizable ""brand,"" capitalize on technology--from Internet tools to the new recording paradigm, expand your network, and raise money to fund your dreams. The Savvy Musician is an invaluable resource for performers, composers, educators, students, administrators, industry employees, and others interested in a thriving musical future.

From Demo to Delivery: The Process of Production discusses each stage of the typical music production process from start to finish. Beginning with the creation and development of the composition and song production, the book then traces the process from the recording, mixing and mastering stages through to marketing and distribution. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to learn the pro techniques involved in creating music from start to finish. Packed with essential information, including signposts to other sources of information at the end of each chapter, From Demo to Delivery provides a map for musicians, semi-pro and aspiring producers, engineers and music professionals interested in learning how music makes it from the an idea to the page to the studio to a demo and into the hands of the market and beyond. Check out the book's website - http://demo2delivery.com/

Here s the first reference book to offer sound business and legal advice specifically tailored to these areas of the music industry. Securing a record deal, starting a label, publishing music, marketing and promoting - this is the information that today s musicians need. With insightful examples, quotes, and anecdotes from dozens of top artists and executives, This Business of Urban Music is entertaining as well as informative. Author James J. Walker, Jr., is a leading entertainment lawyer, representing such well-known clients as Cole, Jamie Foxx, DMX, and many others. Now he brings his years of professional expertise in litigation, business, intellectual property, and corporate law to This Business of Urban Music - at a price every aspiring musician can afford.