The Stanford University Archives contains more than 2,200 collections documenting the history of Stanford, including over 30,000 linear feet of physical records and more than 20 TB of digital content featuring a wide range of topics, groups, and individuals. 

Collections are cataloged in SearchWorks. Collection finding aids are available via Online Archive of California. Many digital exhibits are available via Spotlight. 

The following collections include extensive content relating to the history of the LGBTQIA+ community on campus and beyond:

• Stanford University, Queer Student Resources, Records, 1972-2016:  The collection consists of the records of the Queer Student Resources and its predecessors GLAS (Gay and Lesbian Alliance at Stanford) and the Gay People's Union. Included are correspondence, memoranda, office files, reference files on service organizations in Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties, log books, notebooks, questionnaires, tape recordings, videos, photographs, posters, and ephemera pertaining to the gay, lesbian, and transgender community at Stanford and the surrounding communities. The collection also includes the records of the Gay Community of Concern, 1974-1976, a local community group; records from the Women's Collective, 1974-85; and some materials concerning the Palo Alto School Board anti-discrimination policy, 1975. Tape recordings include "Gay Life Styles, " 1975, and Leonard Matlovich speaking at Stanford, 1975. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• GradQ records, 2015-2017: GradQ is an organization that serves graduate and professional students at Stanford University who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, asexual, or any combination thereof. This collection includes event postcards and email from a listserv managed by GradQ. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Trans & Records, 2017: Trans & is a group where trans students at Stanford University can meet with other trans students to talk about real life issues. This collection includes event postcards and email from a listserv managed by Trans &. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Michelle R. Clayman Institute for Gender Research Records, 1973-2015: The collection consists of records regarding the administrative affairs of the Institute and its programs such as conferences, classes, lectures (especially the Jing Lyman Lecture Series), and publications. Correspondence files of the Directors of the Institute include those of Iris F. Litt, M.D., Barbara Gelpi, Laura Carstensen, and Ineko Tsuchida. Also included are over 800 audiocassettes of seminars, talks, conferences, and lectures, 1973-2004. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• We A.R.E. (Athletes Reaching Equality) Pride collection, 2014: The collection materials consist of a brochure from the panel discussion and a film, "Crossing the Line," created by Hillary Streeter.  The idea for this event began with the goal of bringing Cal and Stanford communities together in hopes to generate awareness for LGBT inclusion in sports. By using the week in which two rivalry games are taking place, both schools have a chance to show that despite a long tradition of competition, sports is also a platform for equality. Organized by members of the Stanford and UC-Berkeley women's basketball teams, Toni Kokenis '14 and Mikayla Lyles respectively, the panel event and art show were part of a weeklong initiative that seeks to promote safe and supportive communities for LGBT athletes, as well as raise awareness of LGBT issues in sports. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University video collection, 1939-2009 (inclusive), 1970-2009 (bulk): This collection contains videorecordings and DVDs pertaining to Stanford University including lectures, cultural events, academic programs, faculty interviews, buildings, the university’s history, and athletics other than football. To find LGBTQIA+-specific material, search for materials by using keywords, or searching for notable LGBTQ+ individuals by name. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Richard William Weiland papers, 1969-2000: Richard Weiland earned his undergraduate degree in electrical engineering at Stanford in 1976. His first job was with his former high school classmates Bill Gates and Paul Allen at Microsoft, where he managed the completion of the COBOL compiler and helped develop the BASIC interpreter. He left Microsoft in 1988 to pursue full-time philanthropy, where his interests were education; lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights; health and human services; and the environment. Weiland died in 2006 at the age of 53. The collection includes personal correspondence, 1969-2002; materials pertaining to Microsoft, both his career there and the company, 1976-99; his research materials and notebooks on computers, the software industry, investments, and other interests, 1988-2006; papers, yearbooks, notebooks, and other items from his student career, 1971-80 (high school, Oregon State University, Stanford University, and Harvard Business School); materials pertaining to his philanthropic interests; and photographs and other AV materials. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University LGBT alumni oral history interviews [sound recording], 2011-2013: The materials consist of audio recordings and transcripts of oral history interviews with Stanford LGBT alums conducted by students in HISTORY 257C: LGBT/Queer Life in the United States (FEMST 140D). Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• LGBT Community Resources Center, "Out on the farm" [DVD videorecording], 2004: This DVD documentary chronicles the history of the Stanford lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and its accomplishments over the past thirty years; it features interviews with faculty, staff, students, and prominent alumni. 

• Charles H. Durham Diaries 1883-1896 (inclusive): Three diaries kept by homosexual academic, Charles H. Durham, chronicling his relationship with Stanford University Classicist, Samuel Walter Miller. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California. 

• Stanford University, Student Center for Innovation in Research and Education, records, 1969-1985: This collection contains correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, proposals, financial records, publications, and other records pertaining to the administration of SCIRE, sponsored projects and internships, and the SCIRE Innovation Fund. Of particular interest may be three sponsored projects relating to LGBTQIA+ issues in the early 1970's. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California. 

• Stanford University, Program in Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies records, 2013-2014: Collection contains materials advertising the program in Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies including course information and ephemera. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California.

• Gerard Koskovich Papers: Gerard Koskovich is a researcher, author, and rare book dealer. He has done significant work to make the queer history of Stanford University visible. The collection includes correspondence and clippings regarding proposed renovations to Stanford's inner quad, 1983; information on chapters of the Student Homophile League, 1967; copy of his paper "Ambiguity, Ideality, and Otherness: Homosexuality and Ideological Strategies in the Art of Charles Demuth," 1982; materials pertaining to performance art by "Ruby Slippers" (Koskovich) for an art class, 1981; and text for an illustrated talk given in 1996 "Private Lives, Public Struggles: The History of Homosexual Students at Stanford University 1891-1975." Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California.

• Becky Fischbach Papers, 1970’s-2019: This collection consists of documents related to Fischbach's work at Stanford in the late 1970s and early 1980s and her participation in feminist, gay, and lesbian culture at Stanford through the 1990s. Small-scale artists' books broadsides and ephemera, some created for Special Collections and University Archives departing staff, are also included. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California.

• Donald Kennedy, president of Stanford University, papers, 1972-2006: Records from his term as President of Stanford University, along with the records of the Provost. Some of the records were generated by the previous administration of Richard W. Lyman. Materials in the collection relating to the LGBTQIA+ community include the Gay and Lesbian Alliance and the Gay Law Studies Association. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Office of Student Activities and Leadership, records, 1943-2008: Correspondence, memos, minutes, reports, lists, guidelines, policies, printed materials, registrations, constitutions, and other records pertaining to the administration of student organizations on campus and support services provided by the Office of Student Activities and Leadership (and its predecessors, the Office of Student Activities, and Student Organization Services ) including space allocation, funding, custodial services, maintenance, and leadership retreats. Collection also includes information files on fraternities and sororities. Materials relating to the LGBTQIA+ community include the Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian alliance Stanford, Gay, Lesbians and Bisexual Business Students Association, the Gay Straight Alliance, and the Stanford American Indian Gays. Material can be searched on the Online Archive of California.