African American studies resources in Special Collections: Electronic resources

Discover and engage with rare and unique historic materials related to African American studies in Stanford Libraries

Selected electronic resources related to African American Studies

This selected list of electronic resources provides access to unique materials related to African American Studies. A complete list of Library databases is available through SearchWorks.

Black Thought and Culture
Source for published and unpublished works of historically important Black leaders.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries and more. Includes the papers of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and the Congress for Racial Equality (CORE).
History makers database
An African American oral history archive.
African American communities
Pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories documenting aspects of the African American community and the challenges of racism, discrimination and integration.
Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922, from the Library Company of Philadelphia
Contains more than 12,000 printed works including books, pamphlets and broadsides about African American history, literature and culture from the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection.
Ethnic newsWatch
Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. from 1960 to present.