Correspondence (1934-2002), manuscripts, personal diaries, publications, research files, ephemera, and books relating to Aptheker's work fighting racism against African Americans and in support of the American Communist Party.

Pamphlets primarily from Oakland churches and a few from San Francisco and Los Angeles. Includes event programs and member lists.

Second World War correspondence pertaining to an issue of racial sensitivity that resulted in banning broadcasts of a racist war tune.

Includes correspondence and photographs of an Afro-American family whose parents originally came from Alabama, and settled in San Francisco. Includes material related to the International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union, and African American Churches.

Policy statement in response to African American efforts to resist the draft in protest of the discriminatory practices in the U.S. Army at this time.

Book catalogs and receipts related to antislavery literature from a library in Waterville, Maine.

1959 edition of an African American travel guide listing hotels, restaurants, gas stations, and other travel amenities that were open to African American travelers.

1950 edition of an African American travel guide listing hotels, restaurants, gas stations, and other travel amenities that were open to African American travelers.

Quotations and maxims from Booker T. Washington with color illustrations; signed by the author.

Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, inscribed by the author, to Ellen Richardson.

Fourth edition, printed in 1845, of Frederick Douglass' autobiography, with a preface by William Lloyd Garrison.

"As fully and voluntarily made to Thomas R. Gray, in the prison where he was confined, and acknowledged by him to be such when read before the Court of Southampton..."

A Quaker publication from a 19th century African American pamphlet collection.

A set of 15 original pamphlets related to 19th century African American history, including slave narratives and arguments both for and against slavery.

A reprint of J. R. Beard's Life of Toussaint L'Ouverture (leader of the Haitian Revolution).

Solomon Northup’s autobiographical account.

Eighth edition of a slave narrative first printed in 1789 which influenced public opinion towards abolition in Britain.

Contains more than 12,000 printed works including books, pamphlets and broadsides about African American history, literature and culture from the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection.

Source for published and unpublished works of historically important Black leaders.

An African American video oral history archive.

A collection that presents aspects of the African American community and the challenges of racism, discrimination and integration through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.