Stanford University, Residential Education, Photographs, 2003-2018

Includes digital photographs of the events and meetings relating to Stanford University, Residential Education, 2003-2018. Residential Education is responsible for developing the policies, programs, and staffing which support the intellectual, educational, and community-building activities in student residences. The Residential Education program provides Stanford undergraduates a small community experience within a large research university.

Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

Content related to Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University includes:

Summer Residential orientation for new students dated, September 20, 2018.

Stanford News Service records, circa 1891-2013

Records include subject files compiled by the News Service in the course of its work, news releases prepared by the News Service, proof sheets of photographs produced by the News Service photographers, taped interviews, office files of the Director of News and Publications Service and of the directors of the individual units, news clippings, and miscellaneous photographic and printed material. Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

Content related to the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University includes:

Mexican-American students in anatomy lab dated November 14, 1969. 

• Chicano law students association meeting

Candid shot of Stanford law students dated May 14, 1974. 

• Chicano students

Two Chicano students working in a science lab dated January 17, 1970. 

• Latino Students leisure activities

Latino students play baseball dated August 7, 1969. 

Stanford Historical Photograph Collection, 1887-circa 1996

The Stanford Historical Photograph Collection, containing over 16,000 images. Series 1, General Photographs, documents the campus and campus life; subjects include athletics, original construction of the campus, individual buildings, students and student life activities, commencement activities, academic departments, and damage from the 1906 earthquake. The majority of photographs are black and white gelatin prints but nineteenth-century albumen prints mounted on boards are also represented. The collection spans the late 1880s through the 1990s. Photographs can be searched through the Online Archive of California.

The collection can also be searched via the Stanford Historical Photograph Collection Spotlight exhibit.

Content related to the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University includes:

Mecha students outdoor gathering dated September 16, 1969. 

• Chicano Assembly

MECHA student council members hold an assembly dated September 16, 1969. 

• Luis Nogales and Richard Lyman with Students

Chicano students and staff members with Richard W. Lyman (second from left), then provost and later president. Luis B. Nogales (center), then Law School student, later assistant to President and member of Board of Trustees. Dated November 26, 1968. 

Activism at Stanford

Includes 5600+ photographs documenting student demonstrations, sit-ins and protests dating back to the 1960s.

Explore more of the photographs.

This particular collection is from the Stanford University, Chicana/o Studies, Feminicide conference, 2007.

Content Includes:

After panel group for the Feminicide conference, dated May 19, 2007. 

The Archives maintains several online exhibits that enable users to search across hundreds of our photograph collections. The most extensive of these is the Stanford Photos Spotlight exhibit.

Additional exhibits that with content related to the history of the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford include:

• The David Bacon Archive Photography
• Bracero Letters, 1943
• Bob Fitch Photography Archive “Cesar Chavez/UFW, 1968-1974
• Barbara Lemus Photographs, 2003-2018

Cesar Chavez stamp photo original dated 1970 (Image credit to Bob Fitch).