The Stanford University Archives contains more than 2,200 collections documenting the history of Stanford, including over 30,000 linear feet of physical records and more than 20 TB of digital content featuring a wide range of topics, groups, and individuals. 

Collections are cataloged in SearchWorks. Collection finding aids are available via Online Archive of California. Many digital exhibits are available via Spotlight. 

The Department of Special Collections & University Archives also includes extensive primary and secondary sources that are not related specifically to Stanford University. Please see the guide to primary sources in Special Collections and University Archives within the Guide to Latin American Studies.

The following collections, listed in alphabetical order, include extensive content relating to the history of the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford:

• Alfredo Castaneda papers, 1972-1980 

These papers pertain to Castañeda's teaching career at Stanford and include correspondence, student papers, reports, publication files, and course materials. Subjects include his professional and teaching activities, his students, bilingual education, and Mexican Americans. The papers also include minutes from seminars held at the Boys Town for the Study of Youth Development at Stanford, 1975-76 (subsequently known as the Stanford Center for the Study of Youth Development). This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Arturo Islas Papers, 1956-1991

Professor Arturo Islas is considered the first Chicana/o-Latina/o tenured professor at Stanford University. 

Personal and professional papers including correspondence, literary manuscripts (including DAY OF THE DEAD, THE RAIN GOD, THE KING OF TEARS, and several short stories), literary criticism, files, course work notebooks (1960s), teaching material, photographs, etc. A later accession, 2000-272, includes journals and diaries, 1959-1991, as well as five photos, typescripts, 1989-1990, and some miscellaneous correspondence. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Ballet Folklorico de Stanford records, 1973-2008 (inclusive), 1973-1993 (bulk)

Ballet Folklórico de Stanford was formed in the early 1970s to present and promote Mexican culture to the Stanford University campus. Originally affiliated with the academic Dance Division, it is now a student run organization. In addition to the annual El Concierto de la Primavera, the group performs at other campus functions.

This collection includes programs, clippings, correspondence, flyers, and posters, 1974-93 and 2008; photographs, 1973-1992; and DVD copies of filmed performances, 1984-93. The records folder for 1991-92 includes the Twenty Year Commemorative Booklet. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Camarillo (Albert) papers

After receiving his Ph.D. from UCLA, Professor Al Camarillo was appointed to the faculty in the Department of History at Stanford University in 1975. He is widely regarded as one of the founders of the field of Mexican American history and Chicano Studies. 

The collection is divided into three series: History Courses, Court Cases, and the University Committee on Minority Issues (UCMI). The History Courses series contains teaching materials from Camarillo's courses, most of which focus on race and ethnicity, urban history, and the Mexican American and Chicano experience in the American West. The Court Cases series contains case files from Mexican American civil rights cases in which Camarillo provided assistance. The University Committee on Minority Issues (UCMI) contains working group files and drafts, as well as final reports. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Casa Zapata murals collection, 1984-1995

Dating from 1984 to 1995, files include clippings, correspondence, course materials, and student papers about the murals at Casa Zapata. Included are letters to and from Casa Zapata muralist José Antonio "Tony" Burciaga, records from the “Murals as Social Conscience Art” and “Enfoque Femenil” courses offered as part of the Stanford Workshops on Political and Social Issues (SWOPSI) program, as well as several clippings related to the controversial mural “The Spirit of Hoover.” See also this video walkthrough of the Cases Zapata murals conducted by Tony Burciaga. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Cecilia P. Burciaga papers, circa 1945-2013

Cecilia P. Burciaga (1945-2013) was a leader in civil rights and higher education who inspired generations of Latino students during a long career as a high-ranking administrator at Stanford and at California State University-Monterey Bay. 

Materials include project reports, ephemeral publications and pamphlets, daybooks, journals, programs, personal materials, books, and newspapers. 

• Ernesto Galarza papers, 1936-1993

Ernesto Galarza earned his M.A. in History at Stanford in 1929. 

Correspondence, reports, minutes, legal documents, notes, newsletters, press releases, newsclippings, statistical information, questionnaires and photographs documenting Galarza's career as a labor organizer, scholar, Research Director in the National Agricultural Workers Union (1947-1960), and nationally prominent Mexican American activist.

This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Gloria Velásquez papers, circa 1980-2010

Stanford alum and Chicana writer, known particularly for her short stories and poetry. She currently teaches in the Foreign Languages and Literatures Department of California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo.

• Jose Antonio Burciaga papers, circa 1940-1997

José Antonio "Tony" Burciaga (born in El Paso, Texas, in 1940) was a Chicano writer, artist and poet. He met Cecilia Preciado in 1972 in Washington, D.C., and the two eventually moved to California and married. He is well-known for his involvement in the comedy troupe Culture Clash, his book "Weedee Peepo," and his mural "The Last Supper" which is installed at a dormitory at Stanford University.

The collection includes materials related to his articles, essays and books, correspondence, notebooks, artwork, media, photographs & slides, cassettes and more. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Juan Felipe Herrera papers, 1974-2017

Juan Felipe Herrera is a Stanford alum and Chicano poet who was Committed to social change and justice. Herrera's work resists traditional categorization. His most recent writings can best be described as postmodern expressionism that incorporates elements from drama, music, and the visual arts.

• Miguel A. Mendez papers, 1968-2009

Miguel A. Méndez, was the Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law, Emeritus, and Stanford Law School’s first Latino professor. Méndez earned a BA from George Washington University in 1965, and a JD George Washington University Law School in 1968. Méndez, was a leading authority on both the federal and California rules of evidence, taught at Stanford Law School for more than three decades. Méndez died in 2017. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Rita Sanchez papers, 1951-2005

Papers pertain to her education at Stanford University, her teaching career at San Diego Mesa College, her interest in Chicano/Chicana artists and activists and Chicano history, and her own writings.

Included in this collection are class papers, articles, correspondence, publications, audio and videotapes, journals, photographs, and other materials. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford Center for Chicano Research records, 1984-1998

Records pertain primarily to the Ernesto Galarza Commemorative lecture series and the Galarza Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate or Graduate Research. Collection includes correspondence, committee records, publicity materials, invitations, text of lectures, papers submitted by students, clippings, photographs and other records. Also includes Armando Valdez’s report “A Study of Foundation Awards to Hispanic-oriented Organizations in the U.S.: 1981-1982,” March 1984. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford Center for the Study of Families, Children, and Youth records, 1972-1994

Records pertain primarily to the Ernesto Galarza Commemorative lecture series and the Galarza Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate or Graduate Research. Collection includes correspondence, committee records, publicity materials, invitations, text of lectures, papers submitted by students, clippings, photographs and other records. Also includes Armando Valdez’s report “A Study of Foundation Awards to Hispanic-oriented Organizations in the U.S.: 1981-1982,” March 1984. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford Chicano community records, 1968-1980

Collection primarily concerns publications of the Chicano student community at Stanford and includes proposals, reports, and issues of LA ONDA, CHICANISMO, IMAGENES DE LA CHICANA, and MIQUIZTLI. Other items include Luis Nogales' memorandum on Mexican Americans at Stanford, 1968; constitution of Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlan (MEChA), 1969; and proposals and reports regarding the Chicano Press at Stanford, 1970. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Capital Planning and Management, records, 1965-1992

Records include correspondence, reports, memorandum, and minutes largely pertaining to buildings, budgets, and facilities issues such as air quality and seismic refitting, with some files pertaining to personnel policies and issues. Many of these files were kept by Ray Bacchetti. In addition there are some files kept by Fernando de Necochea pertaining to El Centro Chicano, the Chicano Fellows Program, and Chicano research. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Casa Zapta, Records

The collection consists of administrative records, staff memos, flyers, posters and various ephemera.

Student materials in box 5 are restricted for 75 years from date of creation. Materials are otherwise open for research use. Audio-visual materials are not available in original format, and must be reformatted to a digital use copy. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Chicana/o Studies, Feminicide Conference, 2007

The conference Feminicide = Sanctioned Murder: Gender, Race and Violence in Global Context, held at Stanford University, May 16-19, 2007, was organized by Chicano/o Studies and co-sponsored by the Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity. Yvonne Yarbro-Bejarano, chair of Chicana/o Studies, was one of the main conference organizers.

• Stanford University, Class of 1979, records, 1975-2014 (inclusive), 1975-1979 (bulk)

Collection pertains to student life at Stanford and includes programs, booklets, publications, clippings, flyers, newsletters, photographs, and other items. Of note are items pertaining to the Mexican American community and Casa Zapata. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, El Centro Chicano, records, 1964-2018

Correspondence, memorandum, reports, minutes, calendars, publications, budget files, program files, clippings, articles, and other materials pertaining to the administration of the center and its programs. Other student groups represented in the collection include MEChA, the Chicano Pre-Medical Organization, Casa Zapata (theme dorm), and the publication LA ONDA. Also includes a history, Stanford—Our University. El Centro Chicano y Latino—A Pillar of the Community, written by former Director of El Centro Chicano y Latino and Associate Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Frances Morales.This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Office of Chicano Affairs, records, 1967-1985

Correspondence, memorandum, reports, minutes, calendars, publications, budget files, program files, clippings, articles, and other materials pertaining to the administration of the center and its programs.

Notable Chicana/o-Latina/o resources in this collection include the Luis G. Nogales files, Sal Sanchez files, Maria Baeza, Fernando de Necochea and Cecilia Burciaga files. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Office of Student Activities and Leadership, records, 1943-2008

Correspondence, memos, minutes, reports, lists, guidelines, policies, printed materials, registrations, constitutions, and other records pertaining to the administration of student organizations on campus and support services provided by the Office of Student Activities and Leadership (and its predecessors, the Office of Student Activities, and Student Organization Services ) including space allocation, funding, custodial services, maintenance, and leadership retreats. Collection also includes information files on fraternities and sororities. 

Notable Chicana/o-Latina/oresources in this collection include, Argentinos en Stanford, Ballet Foklorico de Stanford, Barrio assistance mentorship program, Chicano/Latino Big Sib/Lil Sib Program, Chicano graduate Student Association, Chicanos in Health Education, Chicano Latino Graduation Committee, !Expression!, Latin American Student Association, Los Hermanos de Stanford, Los Hermanos de Stanford, Mariachi Cardenal de Stanford and many more. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Society of Latino Engineers, Records, 1989-2000

Administrative records and reports created by SOLE.

Stanford University Society of Latino Engineers (SOLE) was founded in 1972 and originally named Stanford Society of Chicano and Latino Engineers and Scientists (SSCLES). It started as an organization dedicated to tutor and train students majoring in engineering and other sciences. Throughout the years, SOLE has undergone immense transformations, with one of the most important becoming part of the national Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE). This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

• Stanford University, Stanford Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlan (MEChA), Records

Administrative records and materials from MEChA events.

The purpose of MEChA de Stanford is to respond to the social, political, cultural, and educational needs of the Chicana/o-Latina/o community and to promote and publicize these needs to the Stanford Community at large. Founded in 1969 as a response to the discrimination of Chicana/o-Latina/o in society, MEChA is now dedicated to fostering cultural awareness, political activism, educational outreach, and a bond of familia in Chicana/o-Latina/o students. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.