Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University: Introduction
After using this guide, Stanford Libraries users will be able to identify and access primary and secondary sources about the history of the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University.
Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx Community at Stanford University
This guide includes information about resources available in the Stanford Archives to support research into the history of the Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community at Stanford University.
Despite being a historically white institution, Stanford has a rich Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx history. Additional community support occurred through the actions of Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx students and other students of color at Stanford in the second-half of the 20th century. More specifically, student activism such as the Latino student's "Turning point letter," in 1967, Black Student Union's "Taking of the Mic" in the 1968, the Asian-American student-led "Takeover of the President's Office" in 1989, and the "Chicano/a Student Hunger Strike" in 1994, caused a significant increase in student and faculty diversity at Stanford, as well as additional support for staff and other Chicana/o-Latina/o-Latinx community members. Please visit the FAQ section for additional historical information about the Chicana/o-Latina/o community.
Note that while the materials shared here are intended to be representative of Library collections, this guide is not meant to be exhaustive. Additional materials may be discovered and accessed via Searchworks, the Online Archive of California (OAC), and Spotlight. For access to physical materials, please refer to guidelines for accessing materials through Special Collections & University Archives on the Stanford Libraries website.
The Department of Special Collections & University Archives also includes extensive primary and secondary sources that are not related specifically to Stanford University. Please see the guide to primary sources in Special Collections and University Archives within the Guide to Latin American Studies.