Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesArchival sound recordings online and tools to find them: Stanford collections digitally available on request but not streaming or in Searchworks
Strategies for finding archival recordings that are available online
Select Stanford collections digitally available on request and not in Searchworks (Available by contacting the Archive of Recorded Sound)
This is a category of recording that has been recently digitized but has yet to be released to the library catalog. To find out the specific items that have been digitized from these collections you will need to contact the Archive of Recorded Sound.
- Ambassador Auditorium CollectionMany live concert recordings from this collection have been digitized and are available on request. Digitized recordings include artists such as Pina Carmirelli, Luciano Pavarotti, Janos Starker, and Andre Watts.
- Jascha Heifetz collectionThere are 43 digitized recordings from this collection currently available.
- Meridian Gallery CollectionDigitized sound recordings from 1985-2017 featuring performers such as Pauline Oliveros, Stuart Dempster, and the Cornelius Cardew Choir.
- Non-Commercial Disc CollectionsThere are over a 1,000 digitized non-commerical disc recordings available. These feature home recordings, recorded letters home from soldiers during World War 2, Kellogg Circle Hour radio broadcasts featuring opera star Lawrence Tibbett, and Firestone hour radio broadcasts. Please note that only a small portion of the linked inventory is currently digitized.
- The Richie Unterberger CollectionRecorded interviews with 20th century popular music luminaries such as Isaac Hayes, Geoff Emerick, Ed Sanders, and Moondog.
