This practical guide models a research-based, linguistically inclusive approach to grading writing so that you can incorporate inclusive assessment and feedback into your everyday practice. A linguistically inclusive grading approach honours Black linguistic justice, facilitates students' use of feedback, and guides students to make rhetorical linguistic choices.

A Sentence a Day is not your average grammar workbook. Focusing on short, playful, interesting sentences with a sense of humor, these proofreading exercises help students learn without feeling overwhelmed. This new edition features 50 new exercises and interactive elements in its ebook+ version!

What can 100-word stories help your students understand about writing? The short answer is, everything! This flash-fiction form has become a popular structure for efficiently teaching a wide variety of literary devices, terms, and processes in a targeted way. Part teaching guide, part anthology, 100-Word Stories is a dynamic guide complete with lessons and prompts to help young writers learn and practice literary elements, narrative skill, and personal voice.

This book is a collection of essays I have written over the years about the scholarly writing, doctoral study, and the academic life. Most were published in a variety of venues including my blog, but I thought it would be useful to put them all together in one volume. Most of them I wrote for the benefit of my doctoral students, in order to give them insight into the nature of the world they were entering and provide them with advice about how to negotiate this world.

Essay. Poetry. Book Clubs. Digital Composition. Penny Kittle and Kelly Gallagher extend their work in 180 Days: Two Teachers and the Quest to Engage and Empower Adolescentsby taking a deep dive into four essential studies. Their aim is to move beyond compliance and formula, and to develop students' agency, independence, and decision-making skills.

This book is a comprehensive guide to administering writing programs at a moment when communication, and thus the teaching of writing, is always changing. It includes guidance on building and assessing writing programs; on hiring, training, evaluating, and mentoring instructors; on eliminating cultural bias; on encouraging the well-being of administrators and instructors; on assignments and instructional tools; and on access, diversity, and inclusion.

"This volume details the development and initial evaluation of a supplemental literacy course intended to support at-risk high school students in the US. Developed using design based research (DBR), the course combines argument writing and knowledge building literacy routines to support academic literacy development."

This practical resource guides students step-by-step through the writing of a personal narrative. Provides young writers with an opportunity to link their personal lives and school experiences via writing. Will transform a writing classroom into one of enthusiasm and engagement in which children find their own voice and style.

The only book-length study of the ways that postsecondary desegregation litigation and policy affected writing instruction and assessment in US colleges, Desegregation State provides a history of federal enforcement of higher education desegregation and its impact on writing programs from 1970 to 1988.

This unique volume brings together an extraordinary range of international scholars, researchers and artists who articulate new concepts for thinking differently, generate new theories differently, and present new methods of writing differently. This book provides 'permission' to depart radically in academic writing and creative practice - particularly for doctoral and higher degree research students, and those who work alongside them as supervisors and advisors and higher research degree educators. The claim here is that rebellious departures and performances in academic research and writing are the future of academia.

This book presents a comprehensive approach to issues related to researching and teaching second language (L2) writing in digital environments. This book provides up-to-date coverage of the main areas of L2 writing and technology, including digital multimodal composing, computer-mediated collaborative writing, online teacher and peer feedback, automated writing evaluation, and corpus-based writing instruction.

Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data.

"This timely and accessible book offers engaging guidance to teachers of second language students on teaching creative writing in their classrooms. Creative writing is a tool that can inspire second language learners to write more, play with language, and enjoy and improve not only their writing, but also their speaking, listening, and reading skills."

Teaching Writing in the Twenty-First Century is a comprehensive introduction to writing instruction in an increasingly digital world. It provides both a theoretical background and detailed practical guidance to writing instructors faced with novel and ever-changing digital learning technologies, new approaches to access needs and usability design, increasing student diversity, and the multiliteracies of reading, alphabetic writing, and multimodal composition.

Writing is thinking! It is a tool for learning in all content areas. The ever-growing body of brain research supports that learning to write transitions into writing to learn as students progress through upper elementary, middle, high school, and college. Writing is much more than the ability to craft an analytical essay. Writing has the potential to engage students in critical thinking and critical reflection as historians, mathematicians, scientists, or experts in any content area.

This edited collection positions writing at the center of interdisciplinary higher education, and explores how writing instruction, writing scholarship, and writing program administration bring STEM and the humanities together in meaningful, creative, and beneficial ways.

In 5 Kinds of Nonfiction: Enriching Reading and Writing Instruction with Children's Books, Melissa Stewart and Dr. Marlene Correia present a new way to sort nonfiction into five major categories and show how doing so can help teachers and librarians build stronger readers and writers.

Argumentative Writing in a Second Language is a collection on teaching argumentative writing, offering multiple vantage points drawn from the contributors' own teaching and research experiences. This volume shifts attention to teachers and argumentative writing instruction, especially within increasingly common multimodal and digital literacy settings.

This volume examines the role of writing, rhetoric, and literacy programs and approaches in the practice of civic engagement in global contexts. Writing programs have experience in civic engagement and service learning projects in their local communities, and their work is central to developing students' literacy practices.

Provides teachers a practical and powerful way to connect academics with social emotional learning using classroom anecdotes combined with anchor charts and student writing.

Explores how the principles defined in NCTE's PROFESSIONAL KNOWLEDGE FOR THE TEACHING OF WRITING position statement can support high school writers and teachers of writing; principles help us better understand our teaching purposes, make decisions about teaching, vet ideas supplied by others, and grow as teachers of writing.

In this book, Dr. Timothy Horan presents an original and highly effective writing program whose major goal is to transform middle school students into competent and confident writers.

Story workshop is a structure for early literacy that amplifies the relationship between play, art, and writing. Children develop ideas and stories through choices of art materials.

Teaching Writing through the Immigrant Story explores the intersection between immigration and pedagogy via the narrative form. Embedded in the contexts of both student writing and student reading of literature chapters by scholars from four-year and two-year colleges and universities across the country, this book engages the topic of immigration within writing and literature courses as the site for extending, critiquing, and challenging assumptions about justice and equity while deepening students' sense of ethics and humanity.

Argues for a pedagogical shift in centering the public writing classroom more on students' work as organizers and rhetoricians, pointing to a new role for the writing teacher in changing anti-immigrant and white supremacist laws and policies.

Through 40 in-depth interviews with student writers as well as teachers of writing, Newkirk builds an argument for bringing fiction back into our writing curriculum as a way to strengthen all writing. He addresses the common obstacles and resistance to fiction and illustrates, through students and teachers' insights, why keeping fiction writing on the outside of school walls is a missed opportunity.

This volume showcases some of the latest research on academic writing by leading and up-and-coming corpus linguists. The studies included in the volume are based on a wide range of corpora spanning first and second language academic writing at different levels of writing expertise, containing texts from a variety of academic disciplines (and sub-disciplines) and of different academic registers.

Provides vivid examples of how elementary school teachers make NCTE's position statements on students' rights to read, write, and use their own languages come alive in their diverse classroom settings.

Teaching Writing is Lucy Calkins at her best-a distillation of the work that's placed Lucy and her colleagues at the forefront of the teaching of writing for over thirty years. This book promises to inspire teachers to teach with renewed passion and power and to invigorate the entire school day.