Tracing the Impact of First-Year Writing presents the results of a large-scale longitudinal study of college writers that explores the impact of a required first-year writing course with a comparative approach not previously available. Over five years Laura Wilder conducted 143 interviews with, and collected 774 pages of writing from, 58 students, half of whom had taken a new first-year writing course and half who had not. Wilder found that while in many ways the experiences of both groups are comparable--demonstrating how students receive valuable educations in rhetoric and writing from a variety of sources beyond a first-year writing course--students who took the first-year writing course were much more likely to identify as writers.

"Generative AI, such as ChatGPT and Gemini, has substantially disrupted educational spaces, forcing educators, policymakers, and other stakeholders to reconsider writing and how it should be used in education. Responding to this disruption, this book provides technically sound guidance on how various stakeholders should engage with generative AI. After providing a foundational and technical discussion of the technology, this book directly addresses the educational context."

Generative AI in the English Composition Classroom proposes strategic methodologies to ensure that AI is utilized as a facilitator of learning and creativity, rather than as a shortcut to academic success. With a particular emphasis on sophisticated large language models such as Claude, ChatGPT, and Gemini, this book critically addresses potential challenges, including concerns related to academic integrity. It includes case studies and practical strategies to exemplify how AI can enhance the writing process while emphasizing the continuing importance of a solid foundation in writing structure, processes, and rhetorical strategies.

"Descriptosaurus Grammar Companion Ages 9 to 12 is a flexible grammar toolkit based on current research about effective strategies for teaching grammar tools and sentence construction (investigation, imitation, combining and expansion). It includes guidelines, exercises, scaffolds and models, and by showing a clear progression route to the acquisition and consolidation of increasingly more complex grammar tools it provides teachers and students with a road map that makes learning about sentence construction and revision visible."

This book argues that the transformative act of writing can be used to strengthen the racial competency of White educators in profound ways, leading them to a more comprehensive consciousness regarding the way their racial identity impacts them personally and professionally.

"It provides young writers with a language toolkit with which to expand their descriptive vocabulary, experiment with language and sentence structure and build up narratives based around settings, characters and creatures. Its inspiring, original and proven approach encourages use of the correct grammatical structures, and helps children add colour to their writing through evaluation and experimentation."

How do we get fourth-grade writers to revise? And once we do get them thinking about revision, what, exactly, do they do? What do we do? In Patterns of Revision, best-selling authors Whitney La Rocca and Jeff Anderson answer these questions and more. This practical resource uses the research-proven and classroom-tested methods of sentence combining in a meaningful, engaging way that supports authentic writing as well as writing for performance-based or multiple-choice tests.

This book describes an innovative, evidence-based method for preparing students for the demands of college writing called Supporting Strategic Writers (SSW). The goal of SSW is to help students become independent learners who understand the value of strategies and can apply them flexibly in future courses and the workplace.

Set up your writing block quickly and easily with a simple, research-based framework Schools need their writing instruction simplified. Most classrooms share writing time with another subject, making it difficult for students to receive the direct writing instruction they need. Between the lack of time, increased gaps in writing skills, and inconsistent writing curriculum, teachers are struggling to bring their students up to grade level. Simplify Your Writing Instruction provides you with a classroom-tested framework that helps you set up your writing block within the limited time and resources you have.

This book is written for K-5 educators who are interested in cultivating young writers by designing and facilitating writing instruction that begins with the resources that young writers bring to the classrooms from their families, homes, and communities. This kind of asset-based and individualized instruction is designed to meet the unique writing needs of each young writer.

Publishing your research in an international journal is key to your success in academia. This guide is based on a study of over 1000 manuscripts and reviewers' reports revealing why papers written by non-native researchers are often rejected due to problems with English usage and poor structure and content.

Instructional Leadership Efforts and Evidence-Based Practices to Improve Writing Instruction provides an exploration of evidence-based practices aimed at developing instructional leaders and enhancing student achievement in writing. It covers a broad range of topics related to writing instruction, including learning theories, conceptual models, and the latest empirical research associated with the supervision, organization, implementation, and monitoring of writing programs and instructional approaches. With its emphasis on writer identities, self-efficacy, equitable and inclusive practices, curriculum planning and implementation, assessment, instructional frameworks, and managing instructional change, this book provides educators with a comprehensive guide to improving writing instruction.

Tell Your Story: Teaching Students to Become World-Changing Thinkers and Writers explores how to help students see themselves as writers and storytellers who are developing the skills and techniques to communicate in ways that resonate with various audiences. When students make that shift and see themselves as active and valued participants in their own communities, cultures, and literary journeys, they become powerful writers eager to explore and share ideas.

The Handbook of Research on Teacher Practices for Diverse Writing Instruction provides a rich discussion of the issues, perspectives, and methods for writing instruction currently in use, with an added lens focusing on diversity and equity. It provides unique coverage on the topic of writing instruction for practical implementation within the classroom setting.

The Handbook of Research on Writing Instruction Practices for Equitable and Effective Teaching serves as a comprehensive reference of issues related to writing instruction and leading research about perspectives, methods, and approaches for equitable and effective writing instruction. It includes practices beyond K-12, including best writing practices at the college level as well as the development of future teachers. Providing unique coverage on culturally relevant writing, socio- and racio-linguistic justice, and urgent writing pedagogies...

This book supports writing educators on college campuses to work towards linguistic equity and social justice for multilingual students. It demonstrates how recent advances in theories on language, literacy, and race can be translated into pedagogical and administrative practice in a variety of contexts within US higher educational institutions.

Methodological Innovations in Research and Academic Writing serves as a resource for graduate students and higher education faculty and presents a number of methodological innovations in research as well as applied examples of these methodologies in practice.

Author Tyler S. Branson  argues that education reform initiatives in the twentieth century can be understood in terms of historical shifts in the ideas, interests, and governing arrangements that inform the teaching of writing. This book reopens the conversation between policy makers and writing teachers, empirically describing the field's institutional/historical relationship to policy and the ways teachers work on a daily basis to carry out policy.

This text helps developing writers in the academy and beyond think through their writing process and develop strategies for styling their writing to meet the demands of a wide range of goals. Readers are guided through before-, during-, and after-writing strategies and techniques, including: freewriting, outlining, visual planning, and composing in multimodal forms. Readers are also introduced to the importance of setting clear writing goals and sharing their work in a variety of ways, both in preparation for classroom success through peer review and writing center visits, and beyond the classroom in virtual and in-person spaces.

In Toward an Anti-Capitalist Composition, James Rushing Daniel argues that capitalism is eminently responsible for the entangled catastrophes of the twenty-first century--precarity, economic and racial inequality, the decline of democratic culture, and climate change--and that it must accordingly become a central focus in the teaching of writing. Delving into pedagogy, research, and institutional work, he calls for an ambitious reimagining of composition as a discipline opposed to capitalism's excesses.

In this book, Dr. Timothy Horan presents an original and highly effective writing program whose major goal is to transform high school students into accomplished writers and mature young adults. This volume contains a total of twenty original writing projects that represent creative (and innovative) interpretations of Common Core Writing Standards.

Timely and accessible, this book offers tangible strategies that will help teachers plan and sustain writing workshop experiences that are responsive to the needs of their specific students. Angela Stockman helps teachers understand why some writers may fail to meet their expectations and how to help all writers reach their fullest potential.

This book explores ethos and games while analyzing the ethical dimensions of playing, researching, and teaching games. Contributors, primarily from rhetoric and writing studies, connect instances of ethos and ethical practice with writing pedagogy, game studies, video games, gaming communities, gameworlds, and the gaming industry.

The Hidden Inequities in Labor-Based Contract Grading intervenes in the increasingly popular practice of labor-based grading by expanding the scope of this assessment practice to include students who are disabled and multiply marginalized. Through the lens of disability studies, the book critiques the assumption that labor is a neutral measure by which to assess students and explores how labor-based grading contracts put certain groups of students at a disadvantage.

Every classroom is shaped by the skills, languages, social and cultural identities, perspectives, and passions of the children within it. When you approach writing instruction with a deep understanding of children in your classroom, everything else--assessment, planning, differentiated instruction, mentor and shared texts--begins to fall into place. And you can teach writing with inclusion, equity, and agency at the forefront.

This collection offers support for instructors who are concerned about students' critical literacy abilities. Attending to critical reading to help students navigate fake news, as well as other forms of disinformation and misinformation, is the job of instructors across all disciplines, but is especially important for college English instructors because students' reading problems play out in many and varied ways in students' writing.

Discover how to effectively incorporate literacy instruction into your middle or high school science classroom with this practical book. You'll find creative, inquiry-based tools to show you what it means to teach science with and through writing, and strategies to help your students become young scientists who can use reading and writing to better understand their world.

Engaging Teachers, Students, and Families in K-6 Writing Instruction demonstrates the use of flipped writing methodologies to engage preservice teachers in literacy instruction, increase their confidence as writers, and bolster their understanding and application of pedagogical content knowledge. In turn, this underpins teachers' ability to teach writing as an authentic, purpose-driven, audience-focused process.

For ELA teachers, the danger of burnout is all too real. Inundated with seemingly insurmountable piles of papers to read, respond to, and grade, many teachers often find themselves struggling to balance differentiated, individualized feedback with the one resource they are already overextended on, time. Matthew Johnson offers classroom-tested solutions that not only alleviate the feedback-burnout cycle, but also lead to significant growth for students.

Through ideas and practices straight from the classrooms of outstanding teachers, this lively resource illustrates writing that makes an impact on a reader, a writer, or a cause--writing that everyone wants to read. The book is rich with student work that shows how writing can make things happen in the world. The authors provide ready-to-use lessons that include a full range of writing, including poetry, narrative, petitions, proposals, emails, self-reflections, long-term projects, and critical analyses.