Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesWomen in science: Stanford
This topic guide covers resources and organizations about women in science and engineering
Stanford events and news
Women @ Stanford
"This online exhibit documents the history of women at Stanford. Included are collections of various administrators, faculty members, and research centers, as well as materials documenting students and student life, athletics, and activism."
Explore the exhibit: Women @ Stanford
Stanford facts 2021
To view an enlarged version of the images, please click on links below.
- Stanford Class of 2024
- Stanford All Undergraduates - Fall 2020
- Stanford Graduate Students - Fall 2020
- Stanford Postdoctoral Scholars - Fall 2020
- Stanford Faculty Profile - Fall 2020
Source: Stanford Facts 2021 (PDF version)
Stanford University enrollment statistics 2020-2021
Enrollment Statistics, 2020-2021 (from Stanford Registrar's Office)
- Graduate School of Business Enrollment, 2020-2021
- School of Earth, Energy, and Environmental Sciences Enrollment, 2020-2021
- Graduate School of Education Enrollment, 2020-2021
- School of Engineering Enrollment, 2020-2021
- School of Humanities and Sciences Enrollment, 2020-2021
- School of Law Enrollment, 2020-2021
- School of Medicine Enrollment, 2020-2021
IDEAL dashboards
IDEAL is an acronym that stands for Inclusion, Diversity, Equity & Access in a Learning Environment. "Our goal in releasing this information is to be transparent about the composition of the campus community and to help us monitor our progress toward advancing diversity, equity and inclusion at Stanford."
Gender ratio for select majors at Stanford 2015-2016
Image Credit: Stanford Daily, November 8, 2016.
Stanford organizations, programs, and events
- ChemAIMS (Department of Chemistry)"The Chemistry Association in the Interest of Minority Students (ChemAIMS) is a group of graduate students and postdoctoral scholars interested in expanding the spaces and support for women and underrepresented minorities in the Department of Chemistry."
- The Clayman Institute for Gender Research"The Michelle R. Clayman Institute for Gender Research creates knowledge and seeks to implement change that promotes gender equality at Stanford, nationally, and internationally. Since its founding in 1974, the Institute has offered many programs to further gender equality. We set a broad research agenda, translate gender research, convene interdisciplinary networks of scholars and advocates, empower women's voices and educate students."
- Distinguished Women in Science seminar series (Department of Chemistry)"A woman's likelihood of success in a scientific career has been shown to increase dramatically with the number of successful female scientists to which she is exposed to during her academic career. For this reason, the quarterly student-hosted "Distinguished Women in Science" seminar series was founded to provide graduate students and postdoctoral scholars with an opportunity to interact with prominent female role models in the science community."
- Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment"Gendered Innovations harness the creative power of sex and gender analysis for innovation and discovery. Considering gender may add a valuable dimension to research. It may take research in new directions. The peer-reviewed Gendered Innovations project: 1) develops practical methods of sex and gender analysis for scientists and engineers; 2) provides case studies as concrete illustrations of how sex and gender analysis leads to innovation."
- Mechanical Engineering Women’s Group"The Mechanical Engineering Women's Group is a collection of students dedicated to fostering a sense of community and environment of support among undergraduate and graduate women in engineering at Stanford University."
- Stanford Chapter of Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics (oSTEM@Stanford)"oSTEM@Stanford is part of the national student society dedicated to serving sexual and gender minority students, including but not limited to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and allied (LGBTQA) students, in the STEM fields, with a primary goal of fostering success in leadership, academic pursuits, and professional activity. The mission of oSTEM@Stanford is to educate and foster leadership among LGBTQA students in STEM fields by enriching their professional background, providing them with unique STEM experiences, affirming their identities, and addressing their individual needs." (website description)
- Stanford Graduate Society of Women Engineers (GradSWE) (Facebook page)"The Stanford Graduate Society of Women Engineers (GradSWE) seeks to promote the study of engineering through outreach, provide professional development opportunities, and enhance the diversity of the Stanford Engineering community by focusing upon the needs and interests of its female graduate students. GradSWE WordPress website."
- Stanford Institutional Equity and Access"Our mission is to empower the Stanford community to thrive in an equitable, safe, and just campus that supports diversity and promotes inclusion in order to enhance the teaching and research mission of the University. Institutional Equity & Access is a division at Stanford led by Senior Associate Vice Provost, Lauren Schoenthaler, and is comprised of five offices: Diversity & Access, Ombuds, the Office of Sexual Assault and Relationship Abuse Education and Response (SARA), the Sexual Harassment Policy Office (SHPO), and Title IX." (website description)
- Stanford Society of Women Engineers"Strives to build programs based on women's issues in engineering, promote corporate involvement, spark interest in engineering and science at the pre-college level, and create a friendly, interactive atmosphere within Stanford SWE and in the Stanford engineering community."
- Stanford University Student Parent Alliance"Founded in 2017, we are a diverse group of students, postdocs, staff, faculty, and community members who are working to promote better resources for pregnant and parenting students at Stanford. We are also thankful for our allies—people without children, and people outside of the Stanford University community—who support us in our advocacy and research efforts. They have compiled a helpful list of resources."
- Stanford Women in Computer Science"At WiCS we hope to achieve three broad goals: () Raise awareness about issues faced by women in Computer Science. (2) Provide aspiring computer science professionals with tools to compete. (3) Encourage more women to pursue Computer Science, as it is fun! Most of all we wish to build a community of women who enjoy Computer Science and to provide an outlet for women to share and receive advice or simply discuss what is going on in the field."
- Stanford Women in Earth Sciences"We promote gender diversity in scientific fields of study related to the Earth. We seek to empower women in earth science at Stanford, build networks within and outside of Stanford, and build a community in Earth science and related programs. Women in Earth Sciences (WES) is a group of students, post-docs, staff, and faculty in the School of Earth, Energy, and Environmental Sciences and related fields. The group is open to anyone."
- Stanford Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Ventures"Stanford WISE (Women in Science and Engineering) Ventures serves as a catalyst connecting research, resources, and innovation to increase the success of women and advance equity in science, engineering, and mathematics fields, across the Stanford community."
- Stanford Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) and Women in Social Sciences and the Humanities (WISSH)"Sponsored by the Stanford University Vice Provost for Graduate Education, WISE and WISSH are open to women PhD students at Stanford and to women postdocs at Stanford. Groups meet weekly for 90 minutes. Meetings are professionally facilitated, and the discussion topics are selected from the concerns of the members."
- Stanford Women in Technology (Stanford WIC)"Sponsored by the CIO-Council, Stanford Women in Technology (Stanford WIT) is a university-wide program that advances gender representation, engagement, and support. Through networking, workshops, mentoring, and more, the group helps foster a supportive, productive, and inclusive work environment where all people feel valued and respected. While primarily aimed at university, SLAC, and Stanford Medicine staff who work or have an interest in technology roles, the community also welcomes faculty and students who are interested in participating."
- Women in Data Science @ Stanford University"The Global Women in Data Science (WiDS) Conference aims to inspire and educate data scientists worldwide, regardless of gender, and support women in the field. This annual one-day technical conference provides an opportunity to hear about the latest data science related research and applications in a broad set of domains, All genders are invited to participate in the conference, which features outstanding women doing outstanding work."
- Women in Electrical Engineering"Stanford’s Women in Electrical Engineering (WEE) student group was founded in 2004 and has grown in size and engagement throughout the years. The organization fosters a sense of community among female EE students through programming that includes mentoring, community service, outreach, and social events. In addition, WEE provides opportunities for professional development and networking across all of the engineering disciplines." (website description)
- Women's Community Center"The Women's Community Center exists to facilitate growth and engagement for Stanford students around issues of gender, equity, identity, and justice. We do this by building community and providing innovative opportunities to explore scholarship, leadership, and activism. Our approach is inclusive, intersectional, and welcoming of people of any background or level of prior engagement with these issues."
- YouCubedStanford's Graduate School of Education main goal with YouCubed is "to inspire, educate and empower teachers of mathematics, transforming the latest research on math learning into accessible and practical forms. We know from research how to teach math well and how to bring about high levels of student engagement and achievement but research has not previously been made accessible to teachers. Mathematics is often the reason that students leave STEM, particularly girls and some students of color. We aim to change this by communicating the sources of math inequality in the US and by teaching the classroom methods that are needed for 21st century learning."