Containing all of the practical tools needed to put theory into practice, STEM for All by Leena Bakshi McLean provides a roadmap for teachers, instructional coaches, and leaders to better understand the challenges that create low engagement and scores in STEM subjects and implement exciting and culturally relevant teaching plans.

A collaboration between a seasoned math teacher and a research mathematician, this resource offers balanced instructional ideas based on student intellectual engagement and skilled teacher leadership. It is solidly grounded in many areas of classroom practice, but rather than serving as a prescriptive how-to manual, the authors invite reflection and discussion across classrooms and math departments, much in the way you would share ideas in the teachers' lounge or across the table at a conference. Chapters offer practical suggestions and concrete examples to teachers of grades 6-12 on just about every aspect of the job: manipulatives, technology, lesson planning, group work, classroom discussion, and more.

This resource offers hands-on strategies you can use to help students in grades 6-8 discuss and articulate mathematical ideas, use correct vocabulary, and compose mathematical arguments.

Fluency in math doesn't just happen; it is a well-planned journey. In this book, you'll find practical strategies and activities for teaching your elementary students basic multiplication and division.

"Drawing from many years of shared experiences in mathematics teaching and teacher education, the authors of Towards a Socially Just Mathematics Curriculum offer a pedagogical model that incorporates and introduces learners to new cultures, challenges stereotypes, uses mathematics to discuss and act for social justice, and develops a well-rounded and socially just pedagogy."

This book presents contemporary STEM education research conducted by mathematics education researchers and their collaborators which highlights the important and pivotal role of mathematics in school STEM education.

The volume ventures into a burgeoning new field. It offers a unique set of investigations, both theoretical and in terms of practices. It announces the ethics of mathematics education as a new subfield of research and includes valuable contributions from many of the best-known researchers in mathematics education; additionally, it is a valuable resource for students, teachers and researchers in the field.

Breaking away from the standard drill and practice routine Try It! Math Problems for All is a collection of offbeat, open-ended math problems designed to make even the most math averse student excited about working through these challenging yet accessible problems.

The Art of Learning Math is a journey into what makes math meaningful. It takes the reader through the developmental stages of learning math, from infancy to adulthood. It weaves stories, examples, research references, reasons, the arts, and evolutionary understandings to make it relevant and comprehensible to readers. It also provides concrete, actionable tools to help the reader be successful in their endeavor, whether that is to educate groups of children, their own children, or themselves.

Teaching and Learning STEM: A Practical Guide covers teaching and learning issues unique to teaching in the science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) disciplines. Secondary and postsecondary instructors in STEM areas need to master specific skills, such as teaching problem-solving, which are not regularly addressed in other teaching and learning books. This book fills the gap, addressing, topics like learning objectives, course design, choosing a text, effective instruction, active learning, teaching with technology, and assessment--all from a STEM perspective.

Problem-based instruction (PBI) is a research-based, student-centered instructional strategy that uses rich mathematical tasks to connect students' previously acquired math knowledge to new mathematical concepts. Unlike traditional teaching and learning strategies, PBI facilitates learning by making connections between mathematical concepts and real-world applications rather than through noncontextual, rote learning of skills, steps, and equations.

Boost young children's problem-solving skills and set them up for long-term success with the second edition of this practical guidebook! Enhanced with new lessons and timely topics--including equity and the use of makerspaces--this book will help you get all children ready for kindergarten by teaching them basic practices of engineering design and critical thinking skills.

"This book reflects the author’s experience in teaching a mathematics content course for pre-service elementary teachers. The book addresses a number of recommendations of the Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences for the preparation of teachers demonstrating how abstract mathematical concepts can be motivated by concrete activities. Such an approach, when enhanced by the use of technology, makes it easier for the teachers to grasp the meaning of generalization, formal proof, and the creation of an increasing number of concepts on higher levels of abstraction."

The number of teacher educators using lesson study with preservice teachers is small but growing. This book is aimed at teacher educators who may want to try lesson study in university contexts without the challenge of translating the practice from the K-12 context on their own. In this volume, lesson study is broadly overviewed, attention is given to its constituent steps, and examples of lesson study in preservice contexts are shared. Given the broad array of teacher education program designs, numerous contingencies guide teacher educators in their implementation of lesson study, given their contextual affordances and limitations.

This book empowers educators to embrace the unique talents of neurodivergent learners in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. An exploration of the exciting opportunities neurodiversity presents to build an innovative workforce is grounded in research from psychology, neuroscience, and education.

Everyday STEAM for the Early Childhood Classroom offers a rich, rewarding pathway for early childhood educators integrating the arts into STEM instruction across ages 0-8.

Cultivating Mathematical Hearts: Culturally Responsive Mathematics Teaching in Elementary Classrooms, aims to re-center mathematics as a humanizing endeavor because putting children and their humanity at the heart of mathematics education can result in more engaged, meaningful, and joyful learning. This book introduces a model and a tool for Culturally Responsive Mathematics Teaching, constructed to create a safe, inclusive space where all learners can come together in their own educational journey and develop a love for math that centers their experiences and comes from the heart.

This resource provides mathematics educators with tools for conducting Collaborative Lesson Research (CLR).Renowned mathematics education researchers Akihiko Takahashi and Geoffrey Wake bring together educators across the US and UK with first-hand experience using CLR in their schools.

Using practical advice from their own work as well as from interviews with 23 exceptional technology-using math teachers, the authors develop a vision of teaching with technology that positions all students as powerful doers of mathematics using math-specific technologies (e.g., dynamic graphing and geometry applications, data exploration tools, computer algebra systems, virtual manipulatives).

In this book, educational consultant Dr. Nicki Newton shows K-8 teachers how to accelerate mathematics instruction so that all students learn and work on grade level, receive the right scaffolding when they need it, and feel a sense of achievement and success. Educators will in turn experience less frustration and the joy of helping students thrive.

This book guides middle and high school teachers toward providing all learners - including neurodiverse students - with the support necessary to engage in rewarding math content. Students who receive special education services often experience a limited curriculum through practices that create long-term disadvantages and increase gaps in learning. The tools and strategies in this book help teachers better understand their students to move them closer to their potential.

Math really is for everyone--so let's prove it. You've heard it from kids, from friends, and from celebrities: "I'm bad at math." It's a line that society tends to accept without examination--after all, some people just aren't "math people," right? Wrong. As we do with other essential skills, we need to expose the stereotypes, challenge the negative mindsets, and finally confront the systemic opportunity gaps in math education, and replace them with a new vision for what math is, who it's for, and who can excel at it.

Every teacher strives to make instruction effective and interesting, yet traditional methods of teaching algebra are not working for many students! That's a problem. But the answer isn't to supplement the curriculum with random tasks. Classroom Ready-Rich Math Tasks for Grades 6-12 equips you with a cohesive solution--50+ mathematical tasks that are rich, research-based, standards-aligned, and classroom-tested.

Language is a vital tool for teaching math--it's present in word problems, textbooks, teacher talk, and more. With this game-changing guidebook, middle and high school teachers will harness the power of language to ensure math success for all students, including multilingual and other diverse learners who may need support to access academic language.

Written by popular author and consultant Nicki Newton. Based on the bestselling book Guided Math in Action. Contains easy-to-implement activities for fifth grade guided math groups.

The Handbook of Research on Interdisciplinarity Between Science and Mathematics in Education presents results of good practices and interdisciplinary educational approaches in science and mathematics. It presents a broad range of approaches for all educational levels, from kindergarten to university. Covering topics such as computer programming, mathematics in environmental issues, and simple machines...

* Breaks down the components ambitious and equitable teaching - the kind of teaching that results in students who are powerful and empowered mathematical thinkers and learners * Provides detailed case studies to help readers see the impact of classroom practices on students' learning and the development of students' mathematical identities

This book explores ways in which systems of local knowledge, culture, language, and place are foundational for STEM learning in Indigenous communities. It is part of a two-volume set that addresses a growing recognition that interdisciplinary, cross-cultural and cross-hybrid learning is needed to foster scientific and cultural understandings and move STEM learning toward more just and sustainable futures for all learners.

Water is a meaningful context for children to engage in inquiry, and to acquire and use science and engineering practices, such as developing spatial thinking and early concepts of water dynamics. This book shows teachers how to provide children with opportunities to engineer water movement through pouring and filling containers of various kinds and shapes, observing how water interacts with surfaces in large and small amounts, exploring how water can be moved, and using water to move objects.

Using humor, enthusiasm, and years of teaching expertise, Jim Noble presents the features and potential of ideas and experiments he has used in his classroom. He draws on his extensive experience of using these activities to demonstrate their pros and cons, what you might expect and where they might lead.

This book is a guidebook for improving mathematics teaching, based on the Teaching for Robust Understanding (TRU) Framework and its five dimensions. Ideal for individual mathematics teachers at all grade levels, and as an enhancement to pre- and in-service level mathematics instruction.

Meaningful Small Groups in Math, Grades K-5 offers practical guidance on how to meet the diverse needs of today's students. Written for K-5 classroom teachers, math interventionists, and instructional coaches, this user-friendly, accessible book provides guidance on the necessary components of small group instruction in math, trajectories for small-group instruction on specific concepts, and practical steps for getting started.

Measuring and Visualizing Space in Elementary Mathematics Learning explores the development of elementary students' understanding of the mathematics of measure, and demonstrates how measurement can serve as an anchor for supporting a deeper understanding of number operations and rational numbers.

This book describes recent research on curriculum, pedagogy and outreach initiatives from countries as diverse as Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. It has a focus on the use of data in the teaching and learning of statistics across grade levels and begins with an overview of the status of statistics education and the use of data from seven different countries across the continents and the link between research and practice in those countries.

The author documents the journey of highly successful adults reflecting back on their journey through school (K-12 to college) The book answers the questions of what kept these individuals on track and the impact of the home and school environment on motivation and perseverance. What does the research say will spark curiosity and love of math so students can pursue their passions?

In Teaching Toward Rightful Presence in Middle School STEM, Edna Tan and Angela Calabrese Barton introduce the rightful presence framework, a multifaceted approach to instruction that enables historically marginalized students to gain agency in their science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) learning.

We live in an era in which students of all ages have--through media and their lived experiences-- a more visceral experience of social injustices. However, when people think of social justice, mathematics rarely comes to mind. With a teacher-friendly design, this book brings upper elementary mathematics content to life by connecting it to student curiosity, empathy, and issues students see or experience.

This book is a collection of scholarly studies in the history of mathematics education, very abbreviated versions of which were presented at the ICMI Congress in 2021. The book discusses issues in education in Brazil and Belgium, in Poland and Spain, in Russia and the United States.

So much about how we teach math today may look and feel different from how we learned it. Today, we recognize placing the student at the center of their learning increases engagement, motivation, and academic achievement soars. Teaching math in a student-centered way changes the role of the teacher from one who traditionally "delivers knowledge" to one who fosters thinking.

This groundbreaking work explores the powerful role of communities in mathematics. It introduces readers to twenty-six different mathematical communities and addresses important questions about how they form, how they thrive, and how they advance individuals and the group as a whole. The chapters celebrate how diversity and sameness bind colleagues together, showing how geography, gender, or graph theory can create spaces for colleagues to establish connections in the discipline.

Designed for educators to learn from other practitioners about engaging in Lesson Study - Offers specific case studies of US educator learning through Lesson Study - Provides practitioners with resources for Lesson Study as well as planning daily lessons.

This book provides prospective and practicing teachers with research insights into the mathematical difficulties of students with learning disabilities and classroom practices that address these difficulties.

Engaging in Culturally Relevant Math Tasks helps teachers to design and refine inspiring mathematics learning experiences driven by the kind of high-quality and culturally relevant mathematics tasks that connect students to their world.

This book focuses on the creative and transformative work of scholars who are advancing social justice through science/STEM education with limited resources. It draws attention to the significant body of work being conducted in various contexts so that readers could reflect and appreciate how much broader and transformative our impact could be if funding agencies, policy makers, and other researchers would widen their perspective and seek to promote social justice-driven scholarship.

Fluency in mathematics is more than adeptly using basic facts or implementing algorithms. It is not about speed or recall. Real fluency is about choosing strategies that are efficient, flexible, lead to accurate solutions, and are appropriate for the given situation. Developing fluency is also a matter of equity and access for all learners.

The landmark book Figuring Out Fluency in Mathematics Teaching and Learning offered educators the inspiration to develop a deeper understanding of procedural fluency, along with a plethora of pragmatic tools for shifting classrooms toward a fluency approach. Now, teachers have the chance to apply that inspiration through explicit instruction and practice every day with the classroom companion Figuring Out Fluency: Addition and Subtraction with Whole Numbers.

The landmark book Figuring Out Fluency in Mathematics Teaching and Learning offered educators the inspiration to develop a deeper understanding of procedural fluency, along with a plethora of pragmatic tools for shifting classrooms toward a fluency approach. Now, teachers have the chance to apply that inspiration through explicit instruction and practice every day with the classroom companion Figuring Out Fluency: Multiplication and Division with Whole Numbers.

The landmark book Figuring Out Fluency in Mathematics Teaching and Learning offered educators the inspiration to develop a deeper understanding of procedural fluency, along with a plethora of pragmatic tools for shifting classrooms toward a fluency approach. Now, teachers have the chance to apply that inspiration through explicit instruction and practice every day with the classroom companion Figuring Out Fluency: Multiplication and Division with Whole Numbers.

Global Perspectives and Practices for Reform-Based Mathematics Teaching explores international perspectives on diverse reform-based practices in teaching and learning mathematics, describes challenges and issues for teachers and teacher educators, promotes reflection and academic discussion at various levels and in various educational systems, and raises questions for the field of mathematics education.

The Handbook of Research on International Approaches and Practices for Gamifying Mathematics provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in teaching and learning mathematics in bilingual/plurilingual education by using active methodologies, specifically gamification and game-based learning and teaching.

This textbook offers an accessibly-written, practical, and amply illustrated introduction to the science of elementary math learning, written for pre-service and in-service K-5 teachers and educators with little background in cognitive development.

The premiere book in the STEM for Our Youngest Learners Series introduces the Infant Toddler Inquiry Learning Model, a new way to think about how young children (birth-age 3) explore, think, and learn STEM concepts. The book also demonstrates how the Inquiry Teaching Model can guide teachers in implementing STEM experiences for this age group.

Making Black Girls Count in Math Education explores the experiences of Black girls and women in mathematics from preschool to graduate school, deftly probing race and gender inequity in STEM fields. Nicole M. Joseph investigates factors that contribute to the glaring underrepresentation of Black female students in the mathematics pipeline.

"Mathematics as the Science of Patterns: Making the Invisible Visible to Students through Teaching introduces the reader to a collection of thoughtful, research-based works by authors that represent current thinking about mathematics, mathematics education, and the preparation of mathematics teachers.

This edited book provides an overview of unstructured and structured play scenarios crucial to developing young children's awareness, interest, and ability to learn Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) in informal and formal education environments. The key elements for developing future STEM capital, enabling children to use their intuitive critical thinking and problem-solving abilities, and promoting active citizenship and a scientifically literate workforce, begins in the early years as children learn through play, employing trial and error, and often investigating on their own.

Project-Based Learning in the Math Classroom (Grades K-2) explains how to keep inquiry at the heart of mathematics teaching. This book: Outlines basic teaching strategies, such as questioning and exploration of concepts. Provides advanced strategies for teachers who are already implementing inquiry-based methods. Includes practical advice about strategies the authors have used in their own classrooms.

"Adopting an intersectional lens, this timely volume explores the lived experiences of members of the queer and trans community in post-secondary STEM culture in the US to provide critical insights into progressing socially just STEM education pathways."

Same But Different Math is a powerful routine to help students improve their mathematical reasoning, clarify concepts and make critical connections between ideas. Popular math consultant Sue Looney takes you step by step through implementation so you can easily add this routine into your toolbox. She establishes the rationale for the routine and then walks you through specific examples of when to use it, how to use it and how to make specific connections for learners.

This book analyses and synthesises past and current approaches to STEM Education in the Early Years, particularly the role of digital technologies and play based pedagogies, and provides a look forward to a new way of conceiving STEM Education.

STEM Education Reform in Urban High Schools gives a nuanced view of the obstacles marginalized students face in STEM education-and explores how schools can better support STEM learners. Reporting the results of a nine-year ethnographic study, the book chronicles the outcomes of various STEM education reforms in eight public high schools with nonselective admissions policies and high proportions of low-income and minoritized students: four schools in Denver, Colorado, and four in Buffalo, New York.

We are currently experiencing an unprecedented era in the history of the planet. Our addiction to fossil fuels and powerful technologies is dangerously altering the Earth's natural systems, giving rise to well-documented global crises of climate change, plastic pollution of the oceans, and tragic loss of biocultural diversity.These crises have created a unique challenge for STEM educators, given that STEM disciplinary knowledge and skills are often viewed as the panacea to the world's economic and environmental problems. This popular view tends to focus narrowly, however, on students learning scientific, technological, engineering and mathematical concepts about the world out there, thereby ignoring the crucial role education must play in shaping students' attitudes and values - their inner worlds - that drive moral agency to live and work in sustainable ways. It is moral agency that empowers socially and environmentally responsible citizens to tackle global crises.

Engaging students in high quality discourse is important for their conceptual learning, but successfully promoting such discourse in elementary classrooms--with attention to the needs of every learner--can be a challenge. Based on research, Activating Math Talk tackles this challenge by bringing 11 practical, math-specific, productive discourse techniques to the classroom.

Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics, Grades K-12 helps teachers implement 14 optimal practices for thinking that create an ideal setting for deep mathematics learning to occur. This guide Provides the what, why, and how of each practice Includes firsthand accounts of how these practices foster thinking Offers a plethora of macro moves, micro moves, and rich tasks to get started.

The more than 50 mathematical tasks in this guide will challenge your students to do deep problem-based learning. These ready-to-implement tasks connect concepts, skills, and practices and encourage students to reason, problem-solve, discuss, explore, justify, monitor their own thinking, and connect the mathematics they know to new situations. In other words, these tasks allow students to truly do mathematics!

The 56 mathematical tasks in this guide will challenge your youngest students to do deep problem-based learning. These ready-to-implement tasks connect concepts, skills, and practices and encourage students to reason, problem-solve, discuss, explore, justify, monitor their own thinking, and connect the mathematics they know to new situations.

Creativity of an Aha! Moment and Mathematics Education lays down the basis for a new theory integrating creativity with learning to describe moments of insight at different levels of student development. The collection illuminates the creativity of the eureka experience in mathematics through different lenses of affect, cognition and conation, theory of attention and constructivist theories of learning, neuroscience and computer creativity.

This practical guide outlines a vision for online and distance STEM learning at the elementary level, with creative activities based on eight STEM themes.

This book approaches STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Mathematics) in early childhood education from multiple angles. It focuses on the teaching and learning of children from two years of age to the early years of school. Proponents of STEAM describe how it can create opportunities for children to learn creatively, and various chapter authors make strong connections between discipline areas within the context of an informal curriculum.

Teach your students to become decision makers who rely on their own mathematical thinking. Fluency in mathematics is more than adeptly using basic facts or implementing algorithms. Real luency involves reasoning and creativity, and it varies by the situation at hand. Figuring Out Fluency in Mathematics Teaching and Learning offers educators the inspiration to develop a deeper understanding of procedural fluency, along with a plethora of pragmatic tools for shifting classrooms toward a fluency approach.

"This innovative text offers a unique approach to making mathematics education research on addition, subtraction, and number concepts readily accessible and understandable to pre-service and in-service teachers of grades K-3. Revealing students' thought processes with extensive annotated samples of student work and vignettes characteristic of teachers' experiences, this book provides educators with the knowledge and tools needed to modify their lessons and improve student learning of additive reasoning in the primary grades."

This key resource for K-12 educators offers a systematic guide to delivering Tier 2 and 3 math interventions within a multi-tiered system of support. The volume explains critical math areas in which many students have difficulty--early numeracy, time and money measurement, number combinations, fractions, word-problem solving, algebra, and more.

Put math manipulatives to work in your classroom and make teaching and learning math both meaningful and productive. Whether physical or virtual, commercial or home-made, manipulatives are a powerful learning tool to help students discover and represent mathematical concepts.

What exactly do your students need to know by the end of each unit of mathematics study throughout the school year? This practical resource empowers teacher teams to collectively plan for and deliver highly effective units of study in grades PreK to 2.

Through the medium of word problems, these books are designed to help teachers and students develop and employ operation sense, meaning to understand the meaning of multiplication and division, in the context of solving problems in a coherent way. The books support teachers in scaffolding the use of word problems and provides practical examples for introducing students to verbal, contextual, concrete, visual, and symbolic representations, helping students make sense of the operations (both conceptually and algorithmically) across elementary and middle grades mathematics.

Expanded from the highly popular "Rules that Expire" series of NCTM articles, this essential guide leads educators through the collaborative step-by-step process of establishing a coherent and consistent learner-centered and equitable approach to mathematics instruction.

Expanded from the highly popular "Rules that Expire" series of NCTM articles, this essential guide leads educators through the collaborative step-by-step process of establishing a coherent and consistent learner-centered and equitable approach to mathematics instruction.

Expanded from the highly popular "Rules that Expire" series of NCTM articles, this essential guide leads educators through the collaborative step-by-step process of establishing a coherent and consistent learner-centered and equitable approach to mathematics instruction.

Engage students in mathematics using growth mindset techniques The most challenging parts of teaching mathematics are engaging students and helping them understand the connections between mathematics concepts. In this volume, you'll find a collection of low floor, high ceiling tasks that will help you do just that, by looking at the big ideas at the first-grade level through visualization, play, and investigation.

Classroom interaction has a significant influence on teaching and learning. It is through interaction that we solve problems, build ideas, make connections and develop our understanding. Patterns in Mathematics Classroom Interaction describes, exemplifies and considers the implications of patterns and structures of mathematics classroom interaction.

This book will help elementary teachers incorporate familiar fairy tales into STEM lessons. Each of the tales is easily acquired children's literature (most non-copyrighted) so teachers can easily access a copy and/or provide students with their copy. Additionally, each tale has its organized STEM lesson with easy replication with low-cost household items that provide students with rich, hands-on experiences.

Take a deeper dive into understanding the five practices -- anticipating, monitoring, selecting, sequencing, and connecting -- for facilitating productive mathematical conversations in our high school classrooms and learn to apply them with confidence. This follow-up to the modern classic, 5 Practices for Orchestrating Productive Mathematics Discussions, shows the five practices in action in high school classrooms and empowers teachers to be prepared for and overcome the challenges common to orchestrating math discussions.

Building STEM Skills Through Environmental Education addresses gaps in the understanding of green education and offers educators meaningful and comprehensive examples of environmental and sustainability education in the Pre-K through secondary grade levels. The book offers a unique combination of foundational understanding of green education and chapters that illustrate the principles and impact of green education across grade levels, content areas, assessment systems, instructional strategies, technology, and other related topics.

Day-by-Day Math Thinking Routines in Fifth Grade helps you provide students with a review of the foundational ideas in math, every day of the week! Based on the bestselling Daily Math Thinking Routines in Action, the book follows the simple premise that frequent, rigorous, engaging practice leads to mastery and retention of concepts, ideas, and skills. These worksheet-free, academically rigorous routines and prompts follow grade level priority standards and include whole group, individual, and partner work.

Based on the bestselling Daily Math Thinking Routines in Action, the book follows the simple premise that frequent, rigorous, engaging practice leads to mastery and retention of concepts, ideas, and skills.

The book presents comparative analyses of five elementary mathematics curriculum programs used in the U.S. from three different perspectives: the mathematical emphasis, the pedagogical approaches, and how authors communicate with teachers.

Discover what math teaching and learning looks like in the playful, emergent environment of the early childhood classroom. Every day, children explore math concepts in their conversations and interactions. You can build on that natural curiosity by engaging children in meaningful, complex math learning opportunities that are grounded in their observations and questions.

"The 11 chapters in this book provide a glimpse into the journeys that women from diverse backgrounds and ethnic differences take in their higher education undergraduate or graduate careers. The diverse women include ethnicities of Arabic, Asian, African-American, American Indian, and Latina"

This book explains how to teach mathematics for self- and community-empowerment. It walks teachers step-by-step through the process of using mathematics--across all high school content domains--as a tool to explore issues of social injustice including: environmental injustice; wealth inequality; food insecurity; and gender, LGBTQ, and racial discrimination.

Over the past three decades, research efforts and interventions have been implemented across the United States to increase the persistence of underrepresented minority (URM) students in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). This Element systematically compares STEM interventions that offer resources and opportunities related to mentorship, research, and more.

Influence of Waves introduces children to the concept of waves as disturbances that travel through space and substances to transfer energy. With this module, your students will conduct a variety of investigations using science as well as English language arts, mathematics, and social studies. Along the way, they'll discover that different types of waves, such as water and sound, come from different sources and travel in various ways.

This groundbreaking anthology is a collection of accounts from leaders in mathematical outreach initiatives. The experiences range from prison education programs to alternative urban and Indian reservation classrooms across the United States, traversing the planet from the Americas to Africa, Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Build collaborative teacher teams committed to fostering student self-efficacy and increasing achievement in mathematics. Part of the Every Student Can Learn Mathematics series, this practical resource provides a framework for collectively planning a unit of study in grades 3-5.

Mathemitize It! Going Beyond Words to Make Sense of Word Problems, Grades K-2 shares a reasoning approach that helps students dig into the problem to uncover the underlying mathematics, deeply consider the problem's context, and employ strong operation sense to solve it.

Math teachers will find the classroom-tested lessons and strategies in this book to be accessible and easily implemented in the classroom. The Teacher's Toolbox series is an innovative, research-based resource providing teachers with instructional strategies for students of all levels and abilities.

Engage students in mathematics using growth mindset techniques The most challenging parts of teaching mathematics are engaging students and helping them understand the connections between mathematics concepts. In this volume, you'll find a collection of low floor, high ceiling tasks that will help you do just that, by looking at the big ideas at the kindergarten-grade level through visualization, play, and investigation.

All students face struggle, and they should--it is how they learn and grow. The teacher's job is not to remove struggle, but rather to value and harness it, helping students develop good habits of productive struggle. But what's missing for many educators is an action plan for how to achieve this, especially when it comes to math.

What if instead of focusing on what students haven't mastered, we identify their mathematical strengths and build on students' points of power? Beth McCord Kobett and Karen S. Karp highlight five key teaching turnarounds are presented: identify teaching strengths, leverage students' strengths, design instruction from a strengths-based perspective, help students identify their points of power, and promote strengths in the school community.

This edited book is about preparing pre-service and in-service teachers to teach secondary-level mathematics to English Language Learners (ELLs) in twenty-first century classrooms. Chapter topics are grounded in both research and practice, addressing a range of timely topics including the current state of ELL education in the secondary mathematics classroom, approaches to leveraging the talents and strengths of bilingual students in heterogeneous classrooms, best practices in teaching mathematics to multilingual students, and ways to infuse the secondary mathematics teacher preparation curriculum with ELL pedagogy.

Learn how to provide rich, online mathematics instruction that maximizes the screen time you have with students and includes parents without overwhelming them. Marian Small shows teachers how to use open questions and parallel tasks as ideal strategies for teaching math in a virtual environment, how to adapt existing materials, how to build and maintain community with students online, and how and when to use "office hours" to assist students and parents.

"This book seeks to understand the complexities of talented and high-performing Black girls and women in STEM across the P-20 trajectory. Analogously, this volume aims to understand the intersections between giftedness, its identification, and racial, gender, and academic discipline identity.

"Designed to help educators recognize and nurture students with dyslexia, dysgraphia, and dyscalculia, this book guides readers through best practices for using creativity theory and strategies to address the learning challenges for students who have difficulty in acquiring literacy and mathematics content. Offering concrete examples of creativity assessment and pedagogical techniques, chapters are supported by rich Appendices providing assessment and screening checklists, time-telling objectives, learning trouble spots, a creative approach to teaching place value, and a handy cross-referencing table."

Why Science and Arts Creativities Matter is a ground-breaking text which significantly extends current understandings of STEAM and debates about individuation of disciplines vis-a-vis transdisciplinary theory.