Marine Sciences and Aquatic Biology: Expand your search
Expand your search
When you are ready to conduct your own research, it's important to complete a thorough literature review. You want to make sure you find all the prior, relevant research so that can conduct a well-informed study.
Stanford Libraries subscribes to several article databases that you can use to search for relevant research across many journals. The database you choose will depend on the nature of your research.
Is your topic new or broad-ranging?
If your topic is new or broad-ranging, we recommend using a multidisciplinary database to find research publications from across different disciplines. When you work in a new area, there may not be enough research in your field to help guide you. A multidisciplinary database will allow you to find relevant research publications from other fields.
- ScopusScopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- Web of science--all databasesA set of interdisciplinary abstract and citation databases from Clarivate (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge). Includes access to the WoS Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, CABI (CAB Abstracts and Global Health), Data Citation Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record and more.
Is your topic well-researched or specialized?
If your topic is well-researched or specialized, we recommend using a discipline-specific database. When you work in an area that is well established, there will be a plethora of relevant research available. A discipline-specific database will allow you to focus in on that research and not become overwhelmed or distracted by other content.
- ASFA aquatic sciences & fisheries abstractsThe Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Database provides editorially-curated abstract and index resources in the fisheries, aquatic, and marine sciences. Sources include scholarly journals, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and grey literature in English and multiple other languages.
- BioOneBioOne is a full-text aggregation of bioscience research journals. Most are published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. Subjects covered by BioOne journals include ecology, evolution, environmental science, natural history, taxonomy, and systematics.
- AquaDocsAquaDocs is the joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC InternationaI Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) and the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers (IAMSLIC) with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. It is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments and includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL operates as a worldwide consortium of natural history, botanical, research, and national libraries working together to digitize the natural history literature held in their collections and make it freely available for open access as part of a global biodiversity community.
- bioRxiv.org: The Preprint Server for BiologybioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
- Hopkins Marine Station Student PapersFrom 1963 - 2011, Hopkins Marine Station offered Biology courses 175H or 176H. Students in these courses developed and conducted research projects in the area around the station, and the culmination of each of their efforts was a final paper. Copies of these papers were deposited in the station's library, and we now have over 1,000 undergraduate research papers in our collection. These student research reports contain observations of environmental conditions, species and populations recorded over a span of nearly 60 years, and provide an extremely valuable corpus for conducting historical ecology research. 672 papers are available online to read and download; 400+ more are available on-site.