The Oxford Handbook of Language and Race positions issues of race as central to language-based scholarship. In twenty-one chapters divided into four sections--Foundations and Formations; Coloniality and Migration; Embodiment and Intersectionality; and Racism and Representations--authors at the forefront of this rapidly expanding field present state-of-the-art research and establish future directions of research.

Our evolving understanding of the role of English as a lingua franca and our growing sensitivity to the unique needs of students and teachers who communicate across languages and cultures has led to significant changes in language teaching, pedagogy, and curriculum design. The Handbook of Plurilingual and Intercultural Language Learning is a field-defining book, which examines the various ways learners learn and acquire language in a truly global context.

This is the first international and interdisciplinary handbook to offer a comprehensive and an in-depth overview of findings from contemporary research, theory, and practice in early childhood language education in various parts of the world and with different populations. The contributions by leading scholars and practitioners are structured to give a survey of the topic, highlight its importance, and provide a critical stance. The book covers preschool ages, and looks at children belonging to diverse ethno-linguistic groups and experiencing different histories and pathways of their socio-linguistic and socio-cultural development and early education.

"The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Writing is the authoritative compendium of theoretical perspectives and empirical developments on how and why the processes involved in writing (planning, composing, reflecting, monitoring, retrieving knowledge, processing feedback) can promote language learning."

The Handbook of Research on Bilingual and Intercultural Education is an essential scholarly publication that provides comprehensive empirical research on bilingual and intercultural processes in an educational context. Featuring a range of topics such as education policy, language resources, and teacher education...

This second edition of The Routledge Handbook of Language Testing provides an updated and comprehensive account of the area of language testing and assessment.

The Handbook of Research on Advancing Language Equity Practices With Immigrant Communities explores issues of linguistic and educational equity with immigrant communities around the globe in an effort to improve the teaching and learning of immigrant communities, featuring a wide range of topics such as higher education, instructional design, and language learning.

The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.

The Handbook of Research on Teaching in Multicultural and Multilingual Contexts moves beyond the constraints of current language ideologies and enables the use of a wide range of resources from local semiotic repertoires. It examines the phenomenon of language use, language teaching, multiculturalism, and multilingualism in different learning areas, giving practitioners a voice to spotlight their efforts in order to keep their teaching afloat in culturally and linguistically diverse situations. Covering topics such as Indigenous languages, multilingual deaf communities, and intercultural competence...

This handbook draws together international perspectives on technology and its application to language teaching and learning, written and edited by leading scholars in the field.