This higher education playbook provides a wealth of research-backed practices for nearly every aspect of effective teaching throughout higher education. It is filled with practical guidance and proven techniques designed to help you improve student learning, both face-to-face and online.

Sharla Berry offers faculty practical strategies for building asynchronous, synchronous, and blended online courses and programs that are inclusive and engaging for diverse learners. Recognizing that community is a complex, contextual and constantly shifting concept, Sharla Berry opens this book by addressing how to develop an inclusive approach to online teaching that takes into account the experiences and needs of historically marginalized and underrepresented students.

Highlights the broad field of AI applications in education, regarding any type of artificial intelligence that is correlated with education Discusses learning methodologies, intelligent tutoring systems, intelligent student guidance and assessments, intelligent educational chatbots, and artificial tutors Presents the practicality and applicability implications of AI in education Includes new and current research from research centers and higher education universities Offers case studies of AI techniques in educational activities.

The Wiley Handbook of Collaborative Online Learning and Global Engagement is designed to help educators develop and conduct high-impact, globally-connected courses across the humanities, the fine arts, and the social and natural sciences. This comprehensive guide covers collaborative practices, course design variables, student learning approaches, logistical planning, and more. An international team of contributors from diverse geographic, cultural, and academic backgrounds offer insight into enhancing pedagogical practice, coordinating study abroad experiences, and promoting both students' and faculty's global competencies.

In Instructor Social Presence: An Essential Tool for Online Student Engagement and Persistence in Higher Education, Catheryn Reardon argues that the social presence of the instructor plays a critical role in online student engagement and persistence in higher education. Although the results presented in this study were inconclusive, the findings revealed some important areas for future research including the role that empathy plays in a virtual environment.

This book seeks to create a space for playful learning in higher education, asserting the need for a pedagogy of care and engagement as well as collaboration with students to help us reimagine education outside of prescriptive educational technology.

Education Reform in the Aftermath of the COVID-19 Pandemic educates individuals regarding the impact of COVID-19 on higher education institutions internally and externally and considers the lessons learned as well as what could be next. The book also presents solutions to the challenges that the COVID-19 pandemic wrought on universities and colleges and looks toward using those solutions for future applications.

Driving Innovation With For-Profit Adult Higher Education Online Institutions focuses on teaching and learning in distance learning remote universities. This book explores, describes, and questions the role of these institution in the higher education landscape. This publication examines the ideas, programs, student services, and curriculum innovations that created the space for the for-profit distance education university to become a competitive force in the higher education marketplace.

The Handbook of Research on Managing and Designing Online Courses in Synchronous and Asynchronous Environments provides up-to-date knowledge and experiences regarding technologies, processes, and environments for online course design in distance education systems and covers topics related to the aspects of successful distance education systems with a focus on teaching and learning in online environments, focusing on topics such as instructional design and integrated systems.

"Designing Courses with Digital Technologies offers guidance for higher education instructors integrating digital technologies into their teaching, assessment, and overall support of students. Written by and for instructors from a variety of disciplines, this book presents evaluations that the contributors have implemented in real-life courses, spanning blended and distance learning, flipped classrooms, collaborative technologies, video-supported learning, and beyond."

This book addresses course design, teaching, and student motivation across the continuum of online teaching modes--remote, hybrid, hyflex, and fully online--integrating these with pedagogical and cognitive science, and grounding its recommendations in the latest research. The book will help you design or redesign your courses to ensure strong course alignment and effective student learning in any of these teaching modes.

Active blended learning (ABL) is a pedagogical approach that combines sensemaking activities with focused interactions in appropriate learning settings. ABL has become a great learning tool as it is easily accessible online, with digitally rich environments, close peer and tutor interactions, and accommodations per individual learner needs. It encompasses a variety of concepts, methods, and techniques, such as collaborative learning, experiential learning, problem-based learning, team-based learning, and flipped classrooms.

Advancing Online Course Design and Pedagogy for the 21st Century Learning Environment navigates today's dynamic education requirements and provides examples of how online learning can foster growth in skill areas necessary for career advancement through effective course design. Moreover, it helps educators gain insight into online pedagogy and course design for the 21st century learner and prepares them to convert traditional courses and enhance existing online courses, thereby supporting students' growth and development in the highly dynamic online learning environment.

Much more than a collection of cool tools and apps, The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction mobilizes decades of Visible Learning® research to reveal those evidence-based strategies that work best in an online environment. Supplemented by video footage and opportunities to self-assess and reflect, the book addresses every dynamic that must be in place for students to learn, even at a distance.

Early Warning Systems and Targeted Interventions for Student Success in Online Courses is a cutting-edge research publication that examines current theoretical frameworks, research projects, and empirical studies related to the design, implementation, and evaluation of early warning systems and targeted interventions and discusses their implications for policy and practice. Moreover, this book will review common challenges of early warning systems and dashboard design and will explore design principles and data visualization tools to make data more understandable and, therefore, more actionable.

Emerging Techniques and Applications for Blended Learning in K-20 Classrooms focuses on pedagogical strategies and technologies that have been successfully employed by educators in blended instruction. In addition, the student outcomes from the use of these techniques are presented.

Enhancing Learning Design for Innovative Teaching in Higher Education examines how instructional systems design, instructional design, educational technologies, curriculum design, and program design impact innovation and innovative teaching in higher education. The book offers definitions of innovative teaching and examines critical intersections to achieve innovation and innovative teaching in post-secondary environments.

Gamification Strategies for Retention, Motivation, and Engagement in Higher Education: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a critical scholarly resource that examines gaming technologies as effectively utilized learning tools to improve retention, engagement, motivation, and problem solving, featuring a wide range of topics such as higher education, augmented reality, and socialization.

ICT-Based Assessment, Methods, and Programs in Tertiary Education provides relevant theoretical frameworks and recent empirical research findings on integrating ICTs in tertiary education to enhance learning and allow students to take more control of their learning, highlighting topics such as assessment, language learning, and e-learning.

"This book explores the phenomena of the emergence of the use of artificial intelligence and other emerging technologies in teaching and learning in higher education. Recent technological advancements and the increasing speed of adopting new technologies in higher education are explored in order to predict the future nature of higher education in a world where artificial intelligence is part of the fabric of our universities"--

This volume takes a comprehensive and broad look at e-text programs across a wide spectrum of programs, institutions, and policies in three parts. The first part showcases several policy papers to contextualize the discussion and highlight the reasons for IAE programs' structure and the obstacles they face for implementation.

Information technologies have become an integral part of writing and communication courses, shaping the ways students and teachers think about and do their work. But, too often, teachers and other educational stakeholders take a passive or simply reactive role in institutional approaches to technologies, and this means they are missing out on the chance to make positive changes in their departments and on campus. Institutional Literacies argues that writing and communication teachers and program directors should collaborate more closely and engage more deeply with IT staff as technology projects are planned, implemented, and expanded.

In this book, the authors have expanded the text of the 2016 manifesto, revealing the sources and larger arguments behind the abbreviated provocations. The book groups the twenty-one statements ("Openness is neither neutral nor natural: it creates and depends on closures"; "Don't succumb to campus envy: we are the campus") into five thematic sections examining place and identity, politics and instrumentality, the primacy of text and the ethics of remixing, the way algorithms and analytics "recode" educational intent, and how surveillance culture can be resisted.

This book examines in detail how the world of the digital interacts with texts, artifacts, devices and humans, in the contemporary university setting. Weaving together perspectives from a range of thinkers and disciplinary sources, Lesley Gourlay draws on ideas from posthuman and new materialist theory in particular, to open up our understanding about how digital knowledge practices operate.

Virtual and Mobile Learning Activities in Higher Education focuses on virtual and mobile learning activities in higher education for student-centered learning and the ways that teachers can design and use different learning activities, both blended and mobile, for self-directed and motivated "smart" education. Additionally, the book examines how students perceive these activities and how the outcomes can be analyzed in use with adaptive, resource-enriched, and technology-embedded tools.

Advanced Web Applications and Progressing E-Learning 2.0 Technologies in Higher Education is an essential reference source providing relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in e-learning and mobile learning in modern higher education and its applications in other professional fields.

Educational Technology and Resources for Synchronous Learning in Higher Education provides evidence-based practice on incorporating synchronous teaching tools and practice within online courses to enhance content mastery and community development.

Form, Function, and Style in Instructional Design: Emerging Research and Opportunities explores attributes of instructional design in various real-world projects and how it is applied to learning contexts, technological contexts, visualization design, character design, and more.

Fostering Multiple Levels of Engagement in Higher Education Environments serves as a guideline for institutions looking to improve current undergraduate or graduate programs and successful engagement practices with online faculty, staff, and students. Featuring research on topics such as student-faculty engagement, engaging curriculum, engaging platform, and engaging relationships...

Modern Technologies for Teaching and Learning in Socio-Humanitarian Disciplines aims to systematize technologies for teaching social and humanitarian disciplines and discuss educational technologies that the modern teacher can and should possess including tools for person-oriented learning and for setting and achieving learning goals.

Preparing the Higher Education Space for Gen Z delves into the specific challenges, issues, strategies, and solutions that are associated with using participatory social media, virtual communication, and other Web 2.0 innovations in higher education, and its particular implications for Generation Z.

Technology Leadership for Innovation in Higher Education provides vital research on the intersection of technology, innovation, and leadership in higher education by examining the role of technology in activating, promoting, and accelerating innovation and by identifying challenges regarding technology leadership, highlighting topics such as blended teaching, faculty development, and university advancement.

Kevin Bell's Game On! presents dynamic case studies of gamer educators and game-derived techniques to help instructors creatively formulate their own teaching strategies.

Gaming Innovations in Higher Education: Emerging Research and Opportunities features the latest scholarly knowledge on the application of different gaming techniques within education to make learning activities more enjoyable and successful. Including research on a number of topics such as virtual laboratories, interaction media, and intrinsic and extrinsic motivation...

Optimizing Instructional Design Methods in Higher Education discusses the importance of collaboration, training, and the use of new and existing models in supporting instructional designers to formalize and optimize curriculum development in higher education. It covers the importance of adapting, adjusting, and re-evaluating models based on learner needs in relation to both the process of learning and outcomes.

Optimizing Open and Distance Learning in Higher Education Institutions is a pivotal reference source for the latest scholarly material on the development of e-learning programs and other technologies in university settings. Highlighting numerous topics such as quality assurance, learning measurement, and skill training...

Pedagogy Development for Teaching Online Music examines the nature of teaching and learning music in the online environment at the post-secondary level, featuring a broad range of topics such as online and face-to-face instruction, instructional design, and learning management system.