Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesChildren's books by guided reading level: H-L
This is a guide to children's books held in Cubberley Library arranged by Guided Reading Level.
H-L
Rabbit Moon by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I454518 R33 2018Lexile measure AD410L; Ages 4-8; PrK-K.
Bedtime prayers take flight on paper airplanes, traveling all the way to the moon. There, Rabbit gathers the night's haul, grinds wishes into stardust, and fills the sky with their starlight. But one night Rabbit takes a wish and makes it float down to Earth; when it comes true he makes new friends and the star work takes a back seat to some well-earned fun.
Baby Monkey, Private Eye by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E469 B33 2018Lexile measure 210; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1.
Who is Baby Monkey? He is a baby. He is a monkey. He has a job. He is Baby Monkey, Private Eye! Lost jewels? Missing pizza? Stolen spaceship? Baby Monkey can help!
Goodbye Autumn, Hello Winter by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A3378 A65 2017PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading H
As leaves fall from their trees, animals huddle against the cold, and frost creeps across windows, everyone knows--winter is on its way! Join a brother and sister as they explore nature and take a stroll through their twinkling town, greeting all the signs of the coming season.
Good night Owl by Publication Date: 2016Lexile measure 410; Ages 5-7; PrK-gr.1; Guided reading H; Geisel Award Winner, 2017.
Will Owl ever get a good night's sleep? He's ready for bed, but as soon as he settles in, he hears a strange noise. He looks everywhere--in his cupboard, underneath the floorboards -- even in his walls. He'll never get to sleep unless he can figure out what's going on!
Looking for Bongo by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 L66 2016Lexile measure AD280L; Ages 3-6; PrK-K; Guided reading level H
Where could Bongo be? Help a young boy find his beloved toy--and figure out how he got lost to begin with. He asks his whole family if they've seen the stuffed toy. "Yo no sé," says abuela, "I don't know." Mom and Dad haven't seen him either.
Waiting by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E49586 W35 2015 FLexile measure 260; Ages 3-6; Guided reading H; Caldecott Honor, 2016
An owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig--all toys arranged on a child's windowsill--wait for marvelous things to happen in this irresistible picture book by the New York Times-bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes. Five friends sit happily on a windowsill, waiting for something amazing to happen. The owl is waiting for the moon. The pig is waiting for the rain. The bear is waiting for the wind. The puppy is waiting for the snow. And the rabbit is just looking out the window because he likes to wait! What will happen? Will patience win in the end? Or someday will the friends stop waiting and do something unexpected?
Willy the Dreamer by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W553 2002 FGuided Reading Level: H; Lexile measure 50; Ages 2-6; Book level 1.8
Willy dreams of being a movie star, a singer, a sumo wrestler, an artist, a giant, and other exciting figures.
Waiting for Wings by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL544.2 E35 2001 FGuided Reading Level: H; Lexile measure 160; Ages 3-7; Grade level 1.9
Every spring, butterflies emerge and dazzle the world with their vibrant beauty. But where do butterflies come from? How are they born? What do they eat--and how? With a simple, rhyming text and glorious color-drenched collage, Lois Ehlert provides clear answers to these and other questions as she follows the life cycle of four common butterflies, from their beginnings as tiny hidden eggs and hungry caterpillars to their transformation into full-grown butterflies.
The Rain Came Down by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H3348 R35 2000Guided Reading Level: H; Lexile measure 440; Ages 4-8; Grade level 1.8
"On Saturday morning, the rain came down. It made the chickens squawk." But that's only the beginning. Before the sun comes out again, an entire neighborhood is in a crabby uproar. There's no end in sight... until the rain stops, the sun comes out, the air smells fresh and sweet, and a rainbow appears. Before they know it, the bickerers are helping each other clean up the mess caused by the ruckus, and everyone's smiling again.
Circus Shapes by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U76193 C57 1998Guided Reading Level: H; Lexile measure 140; Ages 2-5
Circus animals and performers getting ready for a show form basic geometric shapes.
Jafta by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9369.3 .L43 J34 1994Age 4-7; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading H
A young black South African boy describes his feelings about his father's return from working in the city.
If You Hold a Seed by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .M3253 I32 2013PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading I
Something magical happens when you plant a dream with a seed. With plenty of love and patience, they can blossom into an extraordinary gift.
Are We There Yet? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A5718 A74 2016 FAges 4-8; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading I
Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat takes readers on the road trip of a lifetime! "Are we there yet?" Every parent has heard this classic kid question on a long car ride--and after reading this astonishingly inventive new book (that even turns upside down for several pages!), you'll never look at being bored the same way again.
Knuffle Bunny by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I555 K58 2004 FGuided Reading Level: I; Lexile measure 120; ages 2-6; book level 1.6
A trip to the laundromat leads to a momentous occasion when Trixie, too young to speak words, realizes that something important is missing and struggles to explain the problem to her father.
My Name Is Yoon by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E2848 M9 2003Guided Reading Level: I; Lexile measure 320; Ages 4-9; Grade level 1.6
Yoon's name means Shining Wisdom, and when she writes it in Korean, it looks happy, like dancing figures. But her father tells her that she must learn to write it in English. In English, all the lines and circles stand alone, which is just how Yoon feels in the United States. Yoon isn't sure that she wants to be YOON. At her new school, she tries out different names - maybe CAT or BIRD. Maybe CUPCAKE!
The Stray Dog by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3537 .I688 S77 2001Guided Reading Level: I; Lexile measure 60; Ages 4-8; Grade level 1.8
Caldecott Medalist Marc Simont's heartwarming tale of a stray dog is told with tender simplicity and grace. When a little dog appears at a family picnic, the girl and boy play with him all afternoon, and they name him Willy. At day's end they say good-bye. But the dog has won their hearts and stays on their minds. The following Saturday the family returns to the picnic grounds to look for Willy, but they are not alone--the dog catcher is looking for him, too! Awards for this book include: Caldecott Honor Book * New York Times Best Illustrated Book * ALA Notable Children's Book
Komodo! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .I73 K66 1993Guided Reading Level: I; Lexile measure 780; Book level 1.8; Ages 4-7
Mad about dragons, the boy who narrates this picture book is pleased when his doting parents decide to take him to Indonesia, home of the Komodo dragon....[The boy] takes the road less traveled through the jungle, where he encounters the dragon of his dreams.
What Comes in 2's, 3's and 4's? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA113 .A52 1990Guided Reading Level: I; Lexile measure 470, grade level 1.7; gr. K-2
Introduces the numbers two, three, and four by enumerating the ways in which they occur in everyday life, from your two eyes and two arms to the four seasons of the year.
The Night World by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .E7285 N54 2015Lexile measure AD190L; Ages 3-6; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading J
A stunning new book from Caldecott Medal winner Mordicai Gerstein. One night, a little boy is awoken by his cat, Sylvie. Everyone in the house is sleeping, but outside, the Night World is wide awake! Beginning with a beautiful black-and-white palette, the shadows of the Night World come to life: lilies, sunflowers, rabbits, deer, and owls are all revealed as Sylvie and the boy explore the world outside his door.
And Then It's Spring by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .O4225 A63 2012Lexile measure AD600L; Ages 3-7; Prk-Gr.3; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Writer, 2013; Guided reading J
Following a snow-filled winter, a young boy and his dog decide that they've had enough of all that brown and resolve to plant a garden. They dig, they plant, they play, they wait . . . and wait . . . until at last, the brown becomes a more hopeful shade of brown, a sign that spring may finally be on its way.
Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y55 H45 2005Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 460; Ages 5-8; Grade level 2.3
When Henry and his dog Mudge go with Henry's parents to visit Great-Grandpa Bill in the home with lots of other grandpas, they lead them all on a wonderful adventure.
Your pal Mo Willems presents Leonardo the terrible monster by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I555 Y68 2005 FGuided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 670; Ages 3-7; Grade level 2.1
Leonardo is truly a terrible monster-terrible at being a monster that is. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to frighten anyone. Determined to succeed, Leonardo sets himself to training and research. Finally, Leonardo realizes that he might be a terrible, awful monster-but he could be a really good friend.
What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL945 .J46 2003Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile: 620; Ages: 5-11; Grade Level: 3.3
A nose for digging? Ears for seeing? Eyes that squirt blood? Explore the many amazing things animals can do with their ears, eyes, mouths, noses, feet, and tails in this interactive guessing book, beautifully illustrated in cut-paper collage, which was awarded a Caldecott Honor.
Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I555 D66 2003Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 120; ages 3-9; book level .9
When a bus driver takes a break from his route, a very unlikely volunteer springs up to take his place-a pigeon! But you've never met one like this before. As he pleads, wheedles, and begs his way through the book, children will love being able to answer back and decide his fate.
Head, body, legs : a story from Liberia by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR352.2 .D36 P39 2002Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 220; Ages 3-8; Grade level 2.1
This vibrant, joyous retelling of a traditional Liberian creation story shows how much can be accomplished with a little cooperation.
Dream Snow by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A6889 D74 2000Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 300; Ages 2-6; Grade level 1.7
It's December 24th, and the old farmer settles down for a winter's nap, wondering how Christmas can come when there is no snow! It is in his dream that he imagines a snowstorm coming and covering him and his animals--named One, Two, Three, Four and Five--in a snowy blanket. But when the farmer awakens, he finds that it has really snowed outside, and now he remembers something! Putting on his red suit, he goes outside, puts some gifts under the tree for his animals, and presses a button near a Christmas tree, creating a most surprising musical treat for children everywhere.
The Honeybee and the Robber by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A6889 H66 2000Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 530; Ages 2-4; Grade level 2.8
Follow an adventurous honeybee as she goes about her busy day, sipping nectar from flowers, avoiding hungry birds and playing with butterflies. But when a robber bear comes looking for honey, all the bees must rush out to defend their home.
Olivia by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .A3673 O45 2000Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 270; Ages 3-7; Grade level 1.9
Have fun with Olivia... -dressing up -singing songs -building sand castles -napping (maybe) -dancing -painting on walls -and -- whew! -- going to sleep at last.
The Ugly Duckling by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 U45 2009Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 650; ages 4-9; book level 4.5
A gorgeous, Caldecott Honor-winning version of the classic story For over one hundred years The Ugly Duckling has been a childhood favorite, and Jerry Pinkney's spectacular adaptation brings it triumphantly to new generations of readers. With keen emotion and fresh vision, the acclaimed artist captures the essence of the tale's timeless appeal: The journey of the awkward little bird--marching bravely through hecklers, hunters, and cruel seasons--is an unforgettable survival story; this blooming into a graceful swan is a reminder of the patience often necessary to discover true happiness.
Goggles by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .E25243 G64 1998Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 340
Two boys must outsmart the neighborhood bullies before they can enjoy their new treasure, a pair of lensless motorcycle goggles..
The Grouchy Ladybug by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A6889 G76 1996Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile measure 560; Ages 2-6; Grade level 3.3
From Eric Carle, New York Times bestselling author of The Very Hungry Caterpillar and From Head to Toe, comes the classic story of one very grouchy ladybug. As children follow the Grouchy Ladybug on her journey, they will learn the important concepts of time, size, and shape, as well as the benefits of friendship and good manners.
Inch by Inch by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I567 I53 1995Guided Reading Level: J; Lexile: 210; Ages: 2-6; Grade level 1.7
To keep from being eaten, an inchworm measures a robin's tail, a flamingo's neck, a toucan's beak, a heron's legs, and a nightingale's song.
Oliver Button Is a Sissy by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E11474 O54 1979Lexile measure 480; Book level 2.9; Ages 5-8: Gr.k-2; Guided reading J
A little boy must come to terms with being teased and ostracized because he'd rather read books, paint pictures, and tap-dance than participate in sports.
The Snowy Day by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » TX 428.51 .K25SGuided Reading Level: J; Lexile: 500; Ages: 3-9; Grade level 3.2
No book has captured the magic and sense of possibility of the first snowfall better than The Snowy Day.
When you can swim by Publication Date: 2023Lexile measure 1100L;Ages 4-8; K-Gr.1; Guided reading level K.
A reverent celebration of learning to swim among a diverse cast of children and families who each experience the mysterious joys of water in nature. In this exploration of what it truly means to swim, expansive vignettes introduce sandpipers, tannin-soaked lakes, and the feeling of a small waterfall on sun-soaked shoulders.
Say something! by Publication Date: 2019Lexile measure AD510L; PrK-Gr. 3.
From the creator of the New York Times bestseller The Word Collector comes an empowering story about finding your voice, and using it to make the world a better place.
The word collector by Publication Date: 2018Lexile measure 490; Gr. K-2.
From the beloved bestselling creator of The Dot and our own Happy Dreamer comes an inspiring story about the transformative and profound power of words.
When Sophie thinks she can't... by Publication Date: 2018Lexile measure 520; Gr. Pre-K–2.
Three-time Caldecott Honor illustrator Molly Bang helps children solve problems by showing a different -- and highly effective -- approach: "I can't do it" becomes "I can't do it... yet."
Life on Mars by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .G39 L54 2017Lexile measure AD470L; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading K
A young astronaut is absolutely sure there is life to be found on Mars. He sets off on a solitary mission, determined to prove the naysayers wrong. But when he arrives, equipped with a package of cupcakes as a gift, he sees nothing but a nearly barren planet. Finally, he spies a single flower and packs it away to take back to Earth as proof that there is indeed life on Mars. But as he settles in for the journey home, he cracks open his cupcakes-only to discover that someone has eaten them all!
Some Bugs by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I87 S66 2014Lexile measure AD200L; Ages 4-8; Gr.PrK-K; Guided reading K
Get the buzz on bugs in this picture book from Angela DiTerlizzi! Grab your magnifying glass! Find your field guide! And come hop, hide, swim, and glide through this buggy backyard world! Featuring insects including butterflies and moths, crickets and cicadas, bumblebees and beetles, this zippy rhyming exploration of backyard-bug behavior is sure to have insect enthusiasts of all ages bugging out with excitement!
From Wax to Crayon by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS1268 .N45 2013Ages 5-9; K-Gr.2; Guided reading K
How does wax turn into a colorful crayon? Follow each step in the production cycle--from melting wax into a liquid to coloring a fun picture--in this fascinating book!
For You Are a Kenyan Child by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .U4673 F67 2006Lexile AD760L; Grades K-2; Guided reading level K
Imagine you live in a small Kenyan village, where the sun rises over tall trees filled with doves. You wake to the sound of a rooster's crow, instead of an alarm clock and the school bus. Your afternoon snack is a tasty bug plucked from the sky, instead of an apple. And rather than kicking a soccer ball across a field, you kick a homemade ball of rags down a dusty road.
The Hello, Goodbye Window by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .U8 H45 2005Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 760; Ages 4-6; Grade level 3.3
This is a love song devoted to that special relationship between grandparents and grandchild. The kitchen window at Nanna and Poppy's house is, for one little girl, a magic gateway. Everything important happens near it, through it, or beyond it. Told in her voice, her story is both a voyage of discovery and a celebration of the commonplace wonders that define childhood, expressed as a joyful fusion of text with evocative and exuberant illustrations.
Leaf Man by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .H55 L43 2005 FGuided Reading Level K; Lexile 310; Ages 3-9; Grade level 2.4
Fall has come, the wind is gusting, and Leaf Man is on the move. Is he drifting east, over the marsh and ducks and geese? Or is he heading west, above the orchards, prairie meadows, and spotted cows? No one's quite sure, but this much is certain: A Leaf Man's got to go where the wind blows.
Zen Shorts by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U849 Z45 2005Lexile measure 540; Ages 4-9; Grade level 2.4
Three children meet Stillwater, a giant panda who tells amazing tales about the importance of generosity, the boundaries of good and bad, and what it means to hold on to frustration.
My Light by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ810.3 .B36 2004Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 690; Ages 5-10; Grade level 2.7
Often taken for granted, the sun gives us more than its light. Here, acclaimed author and illustrator Molly Bang presents a celebration of the wonder and power of the sun and its radiance.
The Dot by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E8964 D68 2003Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 500; Ages 5-9; Grade level 2.1
With a simple, witty story and free-spirited illustrations, Peter H. Reynolds entices even the stubbornly uncreative among us to make a mark -- and follow where it takes us.
Diary of a Worm by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .R5414 D53 2003Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure: 360; Ages 4-6;Grade level equivalent 2.4
#1 New York Times Bestseller! This hilarious picture book from the bestselling, acclaimed author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Harry Bliss tells the adventures of a worm through his daily diary entries.
The Shape Game by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC978.5 .B768 B76 2003Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 570; Ages 4-8; Book level 2.8
Art makes a difference! The same family that had such an enlightening experience in Anthony Browne's Zoo is now going to an art museum, Mom's choice for her birthday treat. But wisecracking Dad and their two sons are skeptical about how much fun this trip will be, and they're not quite sure what to make of the art.
Willy the Champ by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W55 2002Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 240; Ages 8-10; Grade level 1.9
WILLY THE CHAMP finds the laid-back chimp enjoying music, reading, and walks in the park - but failing miserably at athletic chimplike endeavors. Then he manages to deck Buster the bully - by accident - and wins cheers from the big chimps who jeered at him.
One Leaf Rides the Wind by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A566 O54 2002Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measurement Nonprose; Ages 4-10; Grade level 2.5
A young girl makes her way slowly through a Japanese garden where she spots one leaf, two carved temple dogs, three miniature bonsai, and four startled birds. This counting book introduces the youngest readers to the beauty and hidden secrets of a Japanese garden. It also introduces haiku, with ten poems that are simple and straightforward.
If You Take a Mouse to School by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .U45 I39 2002Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 190; Ages 3-6; Grade level 2.3
If you take a mouse to school, he'll ask you for your lunch box. When you give him your lunch box, he'll want a sandwich to go in it. Then he'll need a notebook and some pencils. He'll probably want to share your backpack, too.
The Big Red Dog by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R45534 C55 2002Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 220; Ages 4-7; Grade level 1.9
"I'm Emily Elizabeth, and I have a dog. My dog is a big red dog." This is how it all began--in 1963, Norman Bridwell published his very first Clifford book, and kids have loved Clifford ever since. He's an adorable dog whose well-meaning bumblings have great kid-appeal.
Martin's Big Words by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 R36 2001Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 410; ages 3-9; book level 3.4
This picture book biography of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Brings his life and the profound nature of his message to young children through his own words. Martin Luther King, Jr. , Was one of the most influential and gifted speakers of all time.
The Relatives Came by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y55 R45 2001Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 940; Ages 4-7; Grade level 3.1
The relatives come to visit from Virginia and everyone has a wonderful time.
Click, Clack, Moo by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .R5414 C55 2000Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 160; Ages 4-8; Grade level 1.3
Farmer Brown has a problem. His cows like to type. All day long he hears Click, clack, MOO. Click, clack, MOO. Clickety, clack, MOO. But Farmer Brown's problems REALLY begin when his cows start leaving him notes....
If You Take a Mouse to the Movies by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .U45 I42 2000Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 240; Ages 3-7; Grade level 1.9
If you take a mouse to the movies, he'll ask you for some popcorn. If you give him the popcorn, he'll want to string it all together. Then he'll want to hang it on a Christmas tree.
When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .A47547 W48 1999Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile: Beginning Reading; Ages 3-7; Grade Level 1.4
Everybody gets angry sometimes. For children, anger can be very upsetting. In this Caldecott Honor book, kids will see what Sophie does when she gets angry. What do you do?
Many Nations by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E77.4 .B78 1997Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 580; ages 3-7; Grade level 2.1
Illustrations and brief text present aspects of the lives of the many varied native peoples across North America.
Owen by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E49586 O94 1993Guided Reading Level K; Lexile: 370; Ages 3-6; Grade level 2.5
Owen had a fuzzy yellow blanket. "Fuzzy goes where I go," said Owen. But Mrs. Tweezers disagreed. She thought Owen was too old for a blanket. Owen disagreed. But when school started, Owen's mother knew just what to do, and everyone -- Owen, Fuzzy, and even Mrs. Tweezers -- was happy.
Cactus Hotel by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK495 .C11 G85 1993It is another hot day in the desert. Birds and other animals scurry about looking for food. When they get tired they stop to rest at a giant cactus. It is their hotel in the desert! Many different animals live in the cactus hotel. It protects them; and they protect it, by eating the pests that could harm the cactus. Parents' Choice Award IRA-CBC Teachers' Choice An NSTA-CBC Outstanding Science Trade Book An NCTE Notable Trade Book in the Language Arts
Seven Blind Mice by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3575 .O783 S48 1992Lexile measure 350; Book level 1.9; Ages 4-8; Gr.Prk-3; Guided reading K
"It's a pillar," says one. "It's a fan," says another. One by one, the seven blind mice investigate the strange Something by the pond. And one by one, they come back with a different theory. It's only when the seventh mouse goes out-and explores the whole Something-that the mice see the whole truth.
The Frog Prince, Continued by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .C5748 F76 1991Lexile measure 600; Book level 3.2; Ages 5-10; Gr.3-5; Guided reading K
It seems that the Frog Prince doesn't think life is a bowl of duckweed--all the Princess does is nag, nag, nag. So it's off to the deep dark woods to look for a witch willing to help him out.
At the Crossroads by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3559 .S2 A8 1991Lexile measure 260; Ages 5-11; Gr.3-5; Guided reading K
South African children gather to welcome home their fathers who have been away for several months working in the mines.
Nine-In-One:Grr! Grr! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL795 .T5 B55 1989Lexile measure 470; Ages 3-9; PrK-Gr.6; Guided reading K
Nine-in-one, Grr Grr sings Tiger happily as she returns from the kingdom of the great god Shao. Shao has told her she will have nine baby tigers every year as long as she remembers his words: "Nine-in-one." Bird is worried about the prospect of a world full of tigers (tigers who would eat birds ) and sets out to trick Tiger into forgetting her all-important song.
The Wednesday Surprise by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U4735 W43 1989Guided Reading Level: K; Lexile measure 540; Book level 2.8
Anna and Grandma are planning a surprise for Dad's birthday. Dad thinks he has received all his presents, but Grandma stands up and gives him the best one of all: she reads aloud the stories that Anna has taught her.
A Pocket for Corduroy by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3511 .R428 P63 1978Guided Reading Level K; Lexile measure 540
A toy bear who wants a pocket for himself searches for one in a laundromat.
Africa Dream by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R39416 A65 1977Guided Reading Level K; book level 2.5
An African-American child dreams of long-ago Africa, where she sees animals, shops in a marketplace, reads strange words from an old book, and returns to the village where her long-ago granddaddy welcomes her.
The little red fort by Publication Date: 2018Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2.
Ruby's mind is always full of ideas. One day, she finds some old boards and decides to build something. She invites her brothers to help, but they just laugh and tell her she doesn't know how to build.
Creepy Pair of Underwear! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E965 C75 2017 FAges 4-8; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading L
From the celebrated team behind Creepy Carrots!, Aaron Reynolds and Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown, comes a hilarious (and just a little creepy) story of a brave rabbit and a very weird pair of underwear.
Beep! Beep! Go to Sleep! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A765 B44 2015Lexile measure AD320L; Ages 3-6; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading L
A playful robot bedtime story, illustrated by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco! Quiet at last. Not a peep. Three little robots are... BEEP! BEEP! When his three rambunctious robots give every possible excuse not to go to sleep, what's a little boy to do?
Mother Bruce by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I3667 M68 2015 FLexile measurement AD570L; Grades PreK-2; Guided reading L
Bruce the bear likes to keep to himself. That, and eat eggs. When his hard-boiled goose eggs turn out to be real, live goslings though, he starts to lose his appetite. Even worse, the goslings are convinced he's their mother.
Beyond the Pond by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .U3443 B49 2015Lexile measure AD660L; Ages 4-8; PrK-2; Guided reading L
Just behind an ordinary house filled with too little fun, Ernest D. decides that today will be the day he explores the depths of his pond. Beyond the pond, he discovers a not-so-ordinary world that will change him forever.
The Princess in Black and the perfect princess party by Publication Date: 2015Lexile measure 500; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3; Guided reading L.
Inconvenient monster alarms, a sparkly array of princess guests, and spot-on slapstick pacing make for a party readers will celebrate.Today is Princess Magnolia's birthday party, and she wants everything to be perfect. But just as her guests are arriving . . . Brring! Brring! The monster alarm!
Tea Party Rules by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .Y33 T43 2013Lexile measure AD210L; Ages 3-7; Prk-Gr.3; Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Book Award, 2014; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Illustrator,Honor 2014; Guided reading L
A girl and a bear cub have only one thing in common- they both want cookies! When Cub follows his nose through the woods,he discovers a backyard tea party . . . with cookies! He is just about to dig in when the hostess of the tea party shows up. And she has several strong opinions on how Tea Party must be played. Cub tries to follow her rules . . . but just how much can one bear take, even for cookies?
Bear Has a Story to Tell by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T4285 B43 2012Lexile measure AD540L; PrK-gr.1; Guided reading L
It was almost winter and Bear was getting sleepy. But first, Bear had a story to tell... Bear found his friend Mouse, but Mouse was busy gathering seeds and didn't have time to listen to a story. Then Bear saw his friend Duck, but Duck was getting ready to fly south....
Interrupting Chicken by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T4487 I58 2010Guided Reading Level: L; Awards: Caldecott Honor Book, 2011; Lexile measure 300; Book level 2.2; Ages 4-6
A favorite joke inspires this charming tale, in which a little chicken's habit of interrupting bedtime stories is gleefully turned on its head.
The Bremen-Town Musicians by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .L74 B74 2010Guided Reading Level: L; Awards: Caldecott Honor Book, 1981. Lexile 660; grade level 2.3; ages 4-7
A retelling of the Grimm Tale in which an old donkey, dog, cat, and rooster no longer wanted by their masters, set out for Bremen to become musicians.
Amanda Pig and the Really Hot Day by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3572 .A42257 A63 2005Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 290; Ages 4-8; Grade level 2.5
It is the hottest day of the summer, and Amanda has never been so hot in her life. Her knees, her nose, even her hair ribbons are hot and droopy. How can a little pig stay cool? It's not easy, but Amanda is determined to beat the heat. She tries everything.
On the Road by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .O364 O5 2005Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile Measure 380; ages 5-9; book level 2.8
Down Girl spends her days protecting her master, Rruff, from Here Kitty Kitty and the neighborhood squirrels. But when Rruff invites Down Girl on a road trip, Down Girl knows she's in for an even bigger adventure.
Papa, Do You Love Me? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O63 P37 2005Lexile measure 680; Book level 2.9; Ages 2-4; K-2; Guided reading L
This follow-up to the best-selling Mama, Do You Love Me? captures the universal love between a father and child. Set in Africa and featuring the Maasai culture, the beautiful watercolor illustrations, lyrical text, and enduring message are sure to make this another instant classic.
Actual Size by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL799 .J46 2004 FLexile measure IG1080L; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading L
How big is a crocodile? What about a tiger, or the world's largest spider? Can you imagine a tongue that is two feet long or an eye that's bigger than your head? Sometimes facts and figures don't tell the whole story. Sometimes you need to see things for yourself--at their actual size.
Don't Forget Winona by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E76927 D66 2004Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 550; Ages 6-8; Grade level 2.9
Winona waved her kerchief and called: "Good-bye, cat! Good-bye, swing! Don't forget me!" Like so many Americans in the late 1930s, Winona's family must flee the dust bowl and begin the long trip west to California in hopes of starting a better life.
The Hungry Coat by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E47 D46 2004Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 920; Book level 4.1; Ages 5-10
Once upon a time in Turkey there lived a funny, little wise man named Nasrettin Hoca. He wore a huge, white turban and a worn-out coat made of patches upon patches. Riding about on his little gray donkey, he liked to help whomever he could. A friend to all, Nasrettin is a popular figure. But when he is suddenly ignored at a friend's banquet, he realizes it is his patchwork coat that is turning people away from him.
Into the forest by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 I58 2004Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 430; ages 5-10; book level 2.4
One night a boy is woken by a terrible sound. A storm is breaking, lightning flashing across the sky. In the morning Dad is gone and Mum doesn't seem to know when he'll be back. The next day Mum asks her son to take a cake to his sick grandma. "Don't go into the forest, " she warns. "Go the long way round." But, for the first time, the boy chooses to take the path into the forest, where he meets a variety of fairy tale characters.
My name is Celia : the life of Celia Cruz = Me llamo Celia : la vida de Celia Cruz by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .C96 B76 2004Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 850; ages 8-12; book level 4.1
This bilingual book allows young readers to enter Celia Cruz's life as she becomes a well-known singer in her homeland of Cuba, then moves to New York City and Miami where she and others create a new type of music called salsa.
The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV551 .G47 2003Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 480; Ages 5-10; Grade level 2.5
In 1974, French aerialist Philippe Petit threw a tightrope between the two towers of the World Trade Center and spent an hour walking, dancing, and performing high-wire tricks a quarter mile in the sky.
The Firekeeper's Son by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A6739 F57 2004Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 490; Ages 5-10; Grade level 2.5
In Korea in the early 1800s, news from the countryside reached the king by means of signal fires. On one mountaintop after another, a fire was lit when all was well. If the king did not see a fire, that meant trouble, and he would send out his army. Linda Sue Park's first picture book for Clarion is about Sang-hee, son of the village firekeeper. When his father is unable to light the fire one night, young Sang-hee must take his place.
Dancing in the Wings by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L39218 D36 2003Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 540; Ages 5-8; Grade level 3.2; Library has 6 copies.
Sassy dances in the wings and waits for the right opportunity to make her debut. When the director of a dance festival comes to town, Sassy decides the time has come and makes her presence known
Chicks and Chickens by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SF487.5 .G53 2003Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 570; Ages 4-8; Grade level 2.8
Domestic chickens are an essential part of the agriculture and food production in America. Gibbons takes a look at how chicken eggs are developed for human consumption and at how fertilized eggs develop into embryos and finally into fuzzy little baby chicks.
Bruh Rabbit and the Tar Baby Girl by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A444 B68 2003Lexile measure 390; Book level 3.2; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading L
Master storyteller Virginia Hamilton retells this classic trickster tale in her own distinctive, playful vernacular.
I Love Saturdays y Domingos by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .D22 I2 2002Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 510; ages 4-8; book level 3.2
Saturdays and Sundays are very special days for the child in this story. On Saturdays, she visits Grandma and Grandpa, who come from a European-American background, and on Sundays -- los domingos -- she visits Abuelito y Abuelita, who are Mexican-American. While the two sets of grandparents are different in many ways, they also have a great deal in common -- in particular, their love for their granddaughter.
If the Shoe Fits by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .O72 I38 2002Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 730; Ages 4-8; Grade level 3.2
Rigo doesn't like being the youngest brother. He always has to wear his big brothers' hand-me-downs. Plus, his brothers-Hector, Manuel, and Carlos-always seem to lose buttons, rip holes, and wear the clothes out before they get to Rigo! But Rigo's luck changes on his birthday when his mom gives him a pair of shoes. He loves them for their shine and style, but most of all he loves them because they are brand-new.
Jethro Byrd, Fairy Child by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R1848 J48 2002 FGuided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 390; Ages 4-8; Grade level 2.9
Annabelle finds a family of fairies in the cement and weeds, and they sing and dance for her when she gives them tea.
Voices in the Park by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 V65 2001 FGuided Reading Level: L; ages 4-9; book level 2.8
Explore the concepts of perspective and point of view when two children and their respective guardians each describe their experience at the park where the children and their dogs interact.
Henry's First-Moon Birthday by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O55 H46 2001Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 520; Ages 4-8; Grade level 2.9
Jenny's baby brother Henry is having his one-month birthday -- his first-moon, as it's called in Chinese. And even though Jenny's sure he doesn't deserve it -- all Henry does is sleep, eat, and cry -- there's a big celebration planned for him. Together, Jenny and her grandma get everything ready, from dyeing eggs a lucky red to preparing pigs' feet and ginger soup.
And the Dish Ran Away with the Spoon by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T45156 A53 2001 FGuided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 200; Ages 5-8; Grade level 2.5
Every night the rhyme gets read. Every night Dish and Spoon run away. And every night they return--until tonight! Where can Dish and Spoon be? The rhyme can't go on without them, so Cat, Cow, and Dog set out to search for their missing friends.
Jabuti the Tortoise by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2519.1 .A6 M33 2001Lexile measure AD510L; Book level 3.8; Ages 4-8; gr.K-2; Guided reading L
Of all the animals in the rain forest, Jabutí was the favorite. His shell was smooth and shiny, and the songs he played on his flute were sweet. But his music was a reminder, too, of the mischievous pranks Jabutí sometimes played.
Ira Sleeps Over by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .A275 I72 2000Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile 310; Ages 4-8; Grade level 3.5
A little boy is excited at the prospect of spending the night at his friend's house but worries how he'll get along without his teddy bear.
The Tiny Seed by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC49 .C335 2001Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 400; Ages 3-7
Eric Carle's eloquent text and brilliant collages turn the simple life cycle of a plant into an exciting story, a nature lesson, and an inspiring message of the importance of perseverance.
The Yellow Star by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E3552 Y45 2000Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 550; Ages 8-12; Grade level 3.5
Retells the story of King Christian X and the Danish resistance to the Nazis during World War II.
Nana Upstairs and Nana Downstairs by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E11474 N36 1998Lexile measure 530; Book level 3.4; Ages 3-7; Guided reading L.
Four-year-old Tommy enjoys his relationship with both his grandmother and great-grandmother, but eventually learns to face their inevitable death.
Sitti's Secrets by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .Y44 S58 1997Ages 5-8; PrK-gr.2; Guided reading L
A beautiful picture book about family and love across distance. Mona's grandmother, her Sitti, lives in a small Palestinian village on the other side of the earth.
The green frogs : a Korean folktale by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR342 .H46 1996Lexile measure AD790; Ages 4-6; Gr.K-2; Guided reading L
Like most rebellious children, the green frogs in this Korean folktale love to disobey their mother. What-ever she asks them to do, they do the opposite . . . until their bad habit lands them in trouble.
Tops and Bottoms by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T45156 T67 1995Hare solves his family's problems by tricking rich and lazy Bear in this funny, energetic version of an old slave story.
China's bravest girl : the legend of Hua Mu Lan = Jin guo ying xiong Hua Mulan by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3553 .H4896 C48 1993Reading level 2.8; Ages 6-8; Gr.3-5; Guided reading L
A classic retelling of the Chinese maiden warrior legend. Bilingual in English and Chinese.
Amazing Grace by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .O346233 A63 1991Lexile measure 680; Reading level 4.1; Ages 4-8; PrK-K; Guided reading L
Grace loves stories, whether they're from books, movies, or the kind her grandmother tells. So when she gets a chance to play a part in Peter Pan, she knows exactly who she wants to be.
Chrysanthemum by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E49586 C49 1991Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile: 410; Ages 3-7; Grade level 1.0
Chrysanthemum is a funny and honest school story about teasing, self-esteem, and acceptance to share all year round.
Everett Anderson's Goodbye by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .L45 E854 1988Book level 2.5; Ages 3-7; Gr.k-2; Guided reading L.
Everett Anderson's Goodbye is a touching portrait of a little boy who is trying to come to grips with his father's death. We see him struggle through many stages, from denial and anger to depression and, finally, acceptance.
Heckedy Peg by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O5873 H54 1987Lexile measure 450; Book level 3.2; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-2; Guided reading L
A mother saves her seven children from Heckedy Peg, a witch who has changed them into different kinds of food.
Crow Boy by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3547 .A735 C76 1983Guided Reading Level: L; Lexile measure 690
Winner of a Caldecott Honor A shy Japanese boy having difficulty adjusting to school is misjudged by his classmates.
