Children's books by guided reading level: C-G
This is a guide to children's books held in Cubberley Library arranged by Guided Reading Level.
C-G
Big Bug by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O425 B54 2014Ages 3-7: PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading C
Size is relative, but everything is worth seeing in this concept book from the illustrator of And Tango Makes Three. Beginning with a beautiful close-up of a "big" ladybug, this book artfully depicts the concept of scale. The book zooms out from the bug, to a flower, to a cow, all the way to an expansive spread of sky. Then Henry Cole masterfully zooms back in from that sky, to a tree, to a house, to a window, all the way to the end where an adorable dog is taking a "little" nap. In this ideal introduction to the concept of scale, young readers will love the lush illustrations of the animals, objects, and scenery of a farm, and they'll delight in seeing how something "big" can suddenly seem "little" with the turn of a page!
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A723256 P36 2003Guided Reading Level: C; Non-prose; Ages 2-5; Grade level 1.8; Poetry & rhymes
Thirty-five years after their first groundbreaking collaboration, the creators of Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? reunite to address the important topic of animal conservation. A Bald Eagle soars, a Spider Monkey swings, a Macaroni Penguin struts, and a Red Wolf sneaks through Bill Martin Jr's rhythmic text and Eric Carle's vibrant images, and all are watched over by our best hope for the future-a dreaming child.
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A723256 B76 1996Guided Level C; Lexile: 440; Ages: 2-5; Grade level 1.4; Poetry & rhymes
A big happy frog, a plump purple cat, a handsome blue horse, and a soft yellow duck-- all parade across the pages of this delightful classic children's book,Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Hide! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .E5815 H53 2018Lexile measure 100; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading D
Two friends, Mike, an elephant, and Pat, a fish in a fishbowl, are in a rowboat. While Mike naps, Pat jumps into the ocean, where he meets other fish. When a shark appears, Pat and his new fish friends are in trouble...until two chubby gray legs appear near the surface. Mike lands on the shark and frightens the toothy fish away. Mike has a great time underwater until he realizes he is out of air. Now the fish help Mike.
Go, Otto, go! by Publication Date: 2016Lexile measure 80; Ages 3-5; PrK-K; Guided reading D.
Otto the robot builds a spaceship in this funny and poignant Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book.
I Love Animals by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C35843 I2 1996 FGuided Reading Level: D; Ages 1-3
"A charming picture book filled with a small child's joyous love for all the animals on her farm. Large, bold illustrations and a clear text fairly explode with exuberance."
Tomorrow's Alphabet by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PE1155 .S5 1996Guided Reading Level D: Ages 4-9
A is for seed, B is for eggs, C is for milk -- what's going on here? The seed is tomorrows Apple, the eggs are tomorrows Birds, the milk is tomorrow's Cheese! Explore a wonderful world of possibility with an imaginative alphabet puzzle that encouraged young readers to look beyond the obvious.
Min Makes a Machine by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A26834 M56 2018Lexile measure 250; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading E
Min wants to play, but Ann and Bess say it's too hot. Using a pipe, a tube, and some glue, Min makes an Archimedes screw, a device that draws water, to get water from a well into a swimming pool.
Dance, Dance, Dance! by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O4938 D36 2018Lexile measure 170; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading E
Introducing Horse and Buggy, the hilarious new characters from Theodor Seuss Geisel Medalist Ethan Long! Horse and Buggy are best friends, but they don't always see eye to eye. When Buggy sees Horse dancing, he asks, "What are you doing?" "I am dancing," Horse replies. "I am the best dancer. I have the best dances!" "You are not dancing. You are just moving around." Can Horse convince the reluctant Buggy to lighten up and join in?
Fox the Tiger by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A257 F69 2018Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1; Guided reading E
Winner of the 2019 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Fun-loving, mischievous Fox wishes he were a tiger. Tigers are big and fast and sneaky. So he decides to become one! Soon Turtle and Rabbit are joining in the fun.
I'll Wait, Mr. Panda / Yo Voy a Esperar, Sr. Panda by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6101 .N86 I45 2017Ages 3-6; PrK-K; Guided reading E
Mr. Panda shows that good things come to those who wait! This time, Mr. Panda's black-and-white animal friends are curious what he's making, but only one has the patience to stick around.
The Long Dog (Scholastic Reader, Level 1) by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .E583 L66 2015Lexile measure 20; Ages 4-6; K-Gr.1; Guided reading E
This level 1 reader uses funny dogs to introduce opposite words. There's a dirty dog and a clean dog, a mean dog and a nice dog, and many more! Plus, there's an extremely long dog who keeps popping into the story.
Revolution by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I543 R48 2014Lexile measure 840; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-9; Guided reading F; National Book Award, 2014
It's 1964, and Sunny's town is being invaded. Or at least that's what the adults of Greenwood, Mississippi, are saying. All Sunny knows is that people from up north are coming to help people register to vote. They're calling it Freedom Summer. Meanwhile, Sunny can't help but feel like her house is being invaded, too. She has a new stepmother, a new brother, and a new sister crowding her life, giving her little room to breathe. And things get even trickier when Sunny and her brother are caught sneaking into the local swimming pool--where they bump into a mystery boy whose life is going to become tangled up in theirs.
Threatened by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .C463 T47 2014Lexile measure 910; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading F
A gripping journey into the world of chimpanzees - and the life of an African boy whose fate becomes entwined with them - from National Book Award Finalist Eliot Schrefer.
Biscuit Takes a Walk by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A6835 B57 2009Ages 3-5; K-Gr.1; Guided reading F
For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure! Biscuit is walking to Grandpa's house, and he's having such a good time that he doesn't want the walk to end.
A Splendid Friend, Indeed by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .L639615 S65 2005Guided Reading Level: F; Lexile measure: BR 0; Ages 1-5; Grade level 1.5
Bear wants to read and write and think. Goose wants to talk and talk and talk. Can Bear and Goose be friends? Suzanne Bloom's picture book says volumes about friendship with a few select words and charming illustrations in this Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book .
Does a Kangaroo Have a Mother, Too? by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL763 .C37 2002 TGuided Reading Level: F; Lexile measure Beginning Reading; Ages 3-6; Grade level 1.5
From Eric Carle, the New York Times bestselling author of The Very Hungry Caterpillar and The Grouchy Ladybug, comes a reassuring tale of a mother's love for her child.
Ella Sarah Gets Dressed by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .H5824 E45 2003Guided Reading Level: F; Lexile measure 810; ages 5-9; book level 2.6
Ella Sarah may be little, but she has a BIG sense of style--and it isn't at all like that of her mother, father, and older sister. Yet they all want her to dress just like them! Ella Sarah will have none of it--and when her flamboyantly dressed friends arrive, it's clear that Ella Sarah's favorite outfit is just right for her.
Mama Zooms by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .O912 M36 1993Guided Reading Level: F; Lexile measure 750; Ages 2-6
Mama's "zooming machine" turns out to be her wheelchair.
The Little Bear Book by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 L579 1989 TGuided Reading Level: F; Lexile measure 280
As Bear walks in the forest, with pencil in hand, he meets several grumpy forest dwellers and knows just what to do for them.
Rosie's Walk by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .U827 R67 1968Guided Reading Level: F; Ages: 2-5; Grade level 1.5
Although unaware that a fox is after her as she takes a walk around the farmyard, Rosie the hen still manages to lead him into one accident after another.
Wishes by Publication Date: 2021Lexile measure AD180L; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr3.
Wishes tells the powerful, honest story about one Vietnamese family's search for a new home on the other side of the world, and the long-lasting and powerful impact that makes on one of the youngest members of the family.
Mittens by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .C3437 M58 2006Lexile measure 280; Age 3-5; PrK-K; Guided reading G
Mittens is a small kitten in a big, new house. Everything seems loud and unfamiliar and scary. The little kitten wants a special place all his own. Can a new friend help him find one?
If You Give a Pig a Party by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .U45 I38 2005Guided Reading Level: G; Lexile measure 430; Ages 3-7; Grade level 2.5
The little pig from If You Give a Pig a Pancake is back in this picture book in the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling If You Give... series! If you give a pig a party, she's going to ask for some balloons. When you give her the balloons, she'll want to decorate the house. When she's finished, she'll put on her favorite dress.
Kitten's First Full Moon by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E49586 K58 2004Guided Reading Level: G; Lexile measure 360; Ages 3-7; Grade 1.7
What a night! The moon is full. Kitten is hungry and inquisitive and brave and fast and persistent and unlucky . . . then lucky! What a night!
Just a minute : a trickster tale and counting book by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O68 J87 2003Guided Reading Level G; Lexile 540; grade level 2.4; gr. K-2
In this original trickster tale, Senor Calavera arrives unexpectedly at Grandma Beetle's door. He requests that she leave with him right away. "Just a minute," Grandma Beetle tells him. She still has one house to sweep, two pots of tea to boil, three pounds of corn to make into tortillas -- and that's just the start! Using both Spanish and English words to tally the party preparations, Grandma Beetle cleverly delays her trip and spends her birthday with a table full of grandchildren and her surprise guest.
Hondo and Fabian by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A26113 H66 2002Guided Reading Level: G; Lexile measure 180; ages 3-5; book level 1.2
Hondo the dog has a fun day at the beach while Fabian the cat stays home. " Wake up, Hondo. Time to go!" Hondo will have an adventure. Fabian will stay home. A dog named Hondo and his friend Fred are going to the beach for a day of excitement. Fabian the cat is left behind at home to play with the baby. Hondo and Fabian is a 2002 New York Times Book Review Best Illustrated Book of the Year and Notable Children's Book of the Year, and a 2003 Caldecott Honor Book.
Let's Paint a Rainbow by Call Number: Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A6889 L48 1998Guided reading level G; grade level 1.7; gr. K-2.
While introducing children to the concepts of colors and counting by twos, a vibrant rainbow gradually appears when children turn the pages of this book.
