Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Government Information: Databases
Guide covering the various aspects of government information at Stanford Library. it includes information for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), as well as state, local, and international government bodies.
Common databases for government information research
There are hundreds of government information databases. Check them out on the library's databases page:
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. More than 1,000,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications.
CQ Press Library includes the online version of the award-winning CQ Researcher, the choice of librarians and researchers for more than ninety years. It features US Political Stats - an interactive tool for data on US Politics. Also available are four subject-specific reference databases: Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Public Affairs Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection, each a destination of its own. With enhanced content and advanced search functionality, CQ Press Library offers online editions of four essential reference books: CQ Almanac, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America,and Supreme Court Yearbook. CQ Press Library also includes the foundational reference resource, CQ Press Encyclopedia of American Government; and an online version of CQ Magazine, offering complete coverage of Capitol Hill.
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Is is the official content management system of the US Government Publishing Office (GPO).
The National Archives Catalog is the online public portal to our records and information about our records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries
"ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The following document types may be included in a legislative history: bills, reports, documents, hearings CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections), Presidential Signing Statements, and Statutes." --