In Learning Together, Elham Kazemi, Jessica Calabrese, Teresa Lind, Becca Lewis, Alison Fox Resnick, and Lynsey K. Gibbons share findings from their decade of experience in nurturing collaborative learning cultures in elementary schools. The work offers guidance for intentionally and explicitly organizing educational institutions to prioritize and support teacher learning, which can, as the authors show, create flourishing learning systems for teachers and students alike.

Nurturing Math Curiosity With Learners in Grades K-2 offers educational tools and strategies teachers can use to integrate mathematical argumentation in early elementary classrooms, allowing space for students' natural wonder and curiosity to shine while, at the same time, providing opportunities for students to see mathematics content in a new light.

Distilling decades of research, this practical manual presents an innovative intervention for families of 6- to 10-year-olds (grades 1-5) with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Family-School Success (FSS) focuses on improving children's behavior and academic performance by strengthening parent-child, teacher-student, and family-school relationships.

Cultivating Diversity and Inclusion: Using Global and Multicultural Children's Literature in Grades K-5, Second Edition shows educators how to assist students in cultivating and appreciating diversity and inclusion in K-5 classrooms. This text offers new children's book titles from across the world in each chapter, advances to grades four and five, engages students with rich cultural language experiences, and provides ways to incorporate apps and social media activities in the classroom.

A Teacher's Guide to Math Workshop shares a step-by-step process for implementing a math workshop in any classroom and with any math curriculum. Grounded in research-based best practices in math education.

The purpose of Pedagogy of Humanization: Preparing Teachers for Culturally Sustaining Classrooms is to build a critical mass of educators who know how to employ the principles of critical pedagogy in elementary classrooms. This includes attention to the various knowledge, skills, and dispositions required of critical pedagogues in their curricula, instruction, assessment, classroom environment, and relationships. From Critical Race Theory (CRT) to restorative justice-oriented classroom management, the theoretical is made practical.

Discover new and exciting ways to teach STEM content through the arts in your early childhood program with this innovative and comprehensive guidebook. Chapters feature playful activities divided by age band that bridge early academic learning and social, emotional, physical, and mental development with active engagement in the arts.

The book provides teachers and principals an effective alternative to the antiquated "one-size-fits-all" approach that ignores both advanced and struggling pupils, leaving many school children without essential everyday skills. The promising option offers all youngsters-low achievers, high achievers, and those in between-the opportunity to advance through the curriculum as far and as fast as their acquired skills allow.

Sandy Atkins is a popular math consultant who works with schools across the country. Builds mathematical language and provides examples for developing conceptual depth of math key ideas. Emphasis on problem solving, attending to precision, and making and critiquing arguments that supports the Common Core State Standards Mathematical Practices New edition contains applications for digital instruction and new connections for English language learners (ELLs).

This practical resource guides students step-by-step through the writing of a personal narrative. Provides young writers with an opportunity to link their personal lives and school experiences via writing. Will transform a writing classroom into one of enthusiasm and engagement in which children find their own voice and style.

Eco-Mathematics Education strives to show how everyone can experience the embedded connection between mathematics and the natural world. The authors' sincere hope is that by doing so, we can radically change the way we come to understand mathematics, as well as humanity's place in the ecosystem. The book hopes to accomplish this by providing in-depth lesson plans and resources for educators and anyone interested in teaching and learning mathematics through an ecological aesthetic perspective.

This book is designed to meet the needs of future elementary teachers preparing to teach science using an assets-based approach to science teaching and tools for advocating for scientific teaching and learning with respect to the NGSS.

"Essentials of Elementary Social Studies provides comprehensive treatment of classroom planning, instruction, and strategies. This text enables and encourages teachers to effectively teach elementary social studies using creative and active learning strategies.

Students in grades 3-6 need to use increasingly sophisticated comprehension skills and strategies as they read and build knowledge across disciplinary content areas. Grounded in research, this book presents effective practices for integrating literacy instruction with literature, science, and social studies.

"This book broadly educates pre-service teachers and scholars about current research on computational thinking (CT). More specifically, attention is given to computational algorithmic thinking (CAT), particularly among underrepresented K-12 student groups in STEM education."

There has never been a more comprehensive resource available to teachers that does what the continuum does - provide specific behaviors and understandings that are required at each level for students to demonstrate thinking within, beyond, and about the text. These behaviors and understandings describe what students will be expected to do in order to effectively read and understand the text.

Contains easy-to-implement activities for fourth grade guided math groups.

Based on the bestselling Guided Math in Action, this practical book offers 16 lessons, taught in a round of 3-concrete, pictorial and abstract. The lessons are based on the priority standards and cover fluency, word problems, fractions and place value.

"The Hidden Academic Curriculum and Inequality in Early Education : How Class, Race, Teacher Interactions, and Friendship Influence Student Success explores key differences observed between the classroom interactions and academic behaviors of racially, socially, and ethnically diverse first grade students. Chapters offer in-depth analysis of the ways in which classed and racialized coaching by families, differentiated teacher-student interactions, and racially segregated friendships play out in the school environment, and ultimately influence a childs ability to decode the academic hidden curriculum.

Whether physical or virtual, commercial or home-made, manipulatives are a powerful learning tool to help students discover and represent mathematical concepts. Mastering Math Manipulatives includes everything you need to integrate math manipulatives--both concrete and virtual--into math learning.

Project-Based Learning in the Math Classroom (Grades 3-5) explains how to keep inquiry at the heart of mathematics teaching. This book: Outlines basic teaching strategies, such as questioning and exploration of concepts. Provides advanced strategies for teachers who are already implementing inquiry-based methods. Includes practical advice about strategies the authors have used in their own classrooms.

"This book uniquely combines data from a study focused on the use of dialogic instruction in an elementary classroom, with analysis of students retrospective beliefs about the classroom environment, interactions, and authority. Through this retrospective methodology, the text offers valuable insight into the long-term impacts of discursive practices on young learners attitudes to learning and their educational trajectories."

This new text lays out the rationale for teaching science as active inquiry and presents a "teaching for thinking" theoretical framework that is rooted in extensive field research and classroom practice. This introductory section is followed with information and guidelines for how teachers may organize their science programs with a focus on hands-on student involvement in active inquiry.

In Shake Up Shared Reading, veteran teacher Maria Walther offers teachers a simple but robust scaffolding for moving from teacher-led demonstration of read aloud to student-led discovery of literacy skills--across the bridge of shared reading.

Social-Emotional Learning Through STEAM Projects, Grades 4-5 helps educators target the development of social and emotional learning (SEL) competencies for high-ability learners through interdisciplinary, project-based inquiry. Aligned with STEAM content standards, each of the nine projects introduces students to a real-world problem through essential questions and the presentation of a primary source document.

Social-Emotional Learning Using Makerspaces and Passion Projects is chock-full of meaningful projects that educators can use to teach social-emotional skills in grades 3-6.

This book anchors the social studies as the central unifying force for young children. Teachers use the inquiry process to foster child development of social skills and citizenship ideals in their first classroom experiences. Curriculum is built starting with children's natural curiosity to foster literacy in all its form-speaking, listening, reading, writing. Along the way, young children acquire knowledge and academic skills in civics, economics, geography and history.

Comprehensive and evidence-based, Structured Literacy (SL) approaches place a high value on explicit, systematic, and sequential instruction. This book brings together leading experts on key components of literacy to help K-6 teachers design and target SL interventions for particular student profiles.

This text provides a comprehensive framework and practical strategies for infusing content-area instruction in math, social studies, and science into literacy instruction for grades K-6. Throughout ten clear thematic chapters, the authors introduce an innovative Content-Driven Integration (CDI) model and a roadmap to apply it in the classroom.

Reading instruction is too often grounded in a narrowly defined "science of reading" that focuses exclusively on cognitive skills and strategies. Yet cognition is just one aspect of reading development. This book guides K-8 educators to understand and address other scientifically supported factors that influence each student's literacy learning, including metacognition, motivation and engagement, social-emotional learning, self-efficacy, and more.

Training Teachers in Emotional Intelligence provides pre- and in-service teachers with foundational knowledge and skills regarding their own and their students' emotions. Teachers are increasingly charged with providing social-emotional learning, responding to emotional situations in the classroom, and managing their own stress, all of which have real consequences for their retention and student achievement.

In 5 Kinds of Nonfiction: Enriching Reading and Writing Instruction with Children's Books, Melissa Stewart and Dr. Marlene Correia present a new way to sort nonfiction into five major categories and show how doing so can help teachers and librarians build stronger readers and writers.

This book explores what it means to teach modeling. In part I, the authors discuss mathematical modeling broadly and allow you to explore the student practices and perspectives involved, how modeling can empower students, and classroom communities that support modeling. In part II, the authors launch you on your journey of becoming a teacher of modeling by illustrating features of modeling that are evident in the classrooms of teacher who engage their students in modeling and by sharing specific strategies for making modeling a part of your own classroom practices. In part III, the authors share wisdom from other teachers who have engaged in this journey and invite you to join in the modeling community.

Discover the language and learning possibilities of young children's active engagement with book experiences, in which they talk with one another as they make meaning from literature centered around their lives and interests. Drawing from their backgrounds as teachers and researchers, as well as their many experiences facilitating and observing read-alouds with diverse students, the authors provide a practical guide to conducting book discussions that promote deep engagement and the natural development of literacy skills (PreK-2).

Classroom Ready-Rich Math Tasks for Grades 2-3 details research- and standards-aligned, high-cognitive-demand tasks that will have your students doing deep-problem-based learning. These ready-to-implement, engaging tasks connect skills, concepts and practices, while encouraging students to reason, problem-solve, discuss, explore multiple solution pathways, connect multiple representations, and justify their thinking. They help students monitor their own thinking and connect the mathematics they know to new situations.

In Demystifying Discussion, veteran teacher Jennifer Orr gives elementary school teachers a primer on teaching students to engage in student-led academic conversation. The strategies, sample assessments, and example conversations in this book show you how to help young learners get better at sharing, exploring, and synthesizing their individual and collective thinking. You'll also learn how to manage different perspectives and disagreements among students.

This volume analyses the policymaking, expectations, implementation, progress, and outcomes of early language learning in various education policy contexts worldwide. The contributors to the volume are international researchers specialising in language policy and early language learning and their contributions aim to advance scholarship on early language learning policies and inform policymaking at the global level.

This practical guide shows teachers how to introduce academic language to young children, with an emphasis on appreciating and leveraging linguistic diversity. New educational standards are asking students to master content-area concepts and increasingly complex texts in earlier grades. This practitioner-friendly text provides instructional materials, sample dialogs, and assessment tools to facilitate academic language use in PreK-3 classrooms.

"Guided Math Lessons in First Grade provides detailed lessons to help you bring guided math groups to life. Based on the bestselling Guided Math in Action, this practical book offers 16 lessons, taught in a round of 3-concrete, pictorial and abstract. The lessons are based on the priority standards and cover fluency, word problems, operations and algebraic thinking, and place value."

"Guided Math Lessons in Second Grade provides detailed lessons to help you bring guided math groups to life. Based on the bestselling Guided Math in Action, this practical book offers 16 lessons, taught in a round of 3-concrete, pictorial and abstract. The lessons are based on the priority standards and cover fluency, word problems, operations and algebraic thinking, and place value."

This book, with nine carefully described model projects, gives detailed examples of how much math can be taught as part of engaging projects. Created with the elementary school grades in mind, these mathematics-focused units are classroom-tested and address the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics.

Kindergarten has changed. Many believe that it no longer reflects a nurturing environment but, instead, has become a race for children to learn skills so they are ready for the academic achievement tests that they will take continuously throughout their time in school. Resisting the Kinder-Race examines how the race came about, why it must change, and how all stakeholders in the early childhood and elementary school communities must take part in the reform process.

"Learn how to help K-8 students who struggle in math. Now in its second edition, this book provides a variety of clear, practical strategies that can be implemented right away to boost student achievement."

Tatum shows educators how to bring students' literacy development into greater focus by creating an early intellectual infrastructure of advanced literacy, knowledge, and personal development. He provides a strong conceptual frame, with associated instructional and curricular practices, designed to move Black boys from across the economic spectrum toward advanced literacy that aligns with the Black intellectual tradition.

In Why Play Works, expert educator and author Jill Vialet shares her insights from a career of promoting play. Designed to support schools, education professionals and parents in promoting play as an essential tool for increasing social connection amongst their students, you'll find out why playing is a behavior that's helped children learn to navigate the demands of social interaction for eons, and how we can keep it central to their school experience even as we return from the COVID-19 pandemic.

"This book contains a carefully selected and adapted set of lessons from NCTM's Navigations series, with a special emphasis on incorporating the Effective Mathematics Teaching Practices in NCTM's Principles to Actions. Teachers of 3-5 students can use these activities to engage their students in exploring, thinking, connecting, discussing, justifying, and advancing in their mathematical understanding and confidence."

"Now fifth-grade teachers have their own guide to making the instructional shift to argument-driven inquiry (ADI)! The newest volume in the NSTA series shows how to use this innovative approach to prompt your students to use argument to construct, support, and evaluate scientific claims. It's designed to help your fifth graders work the way scientists do while integrating literacy and math at the same time.

In this powerful manifesto, the bestselling author of Cultural Literacy addresses the failures of America's early education system and its impact on our current national malaise, advocating for a shared knowledge curriculum students everywhere can be taught--an educational foundation that can help improve and strengthen America's unity, identity, and democracy.

This book is designed to support K-5 classroom teachers as they integrate music throughout the elementary curriculum. It contains detailed, practical ideas and examples, including full lesson plans and over 100 teaching ideas and strategies for integrating music with visual art, language arts,social studies, science, and mathematics.

"Benefits of early learning in science and math include the following: (a) It leads to social-emotional development and fewer challenging behaviors; (b) it supports the development of a mind-set that includes curiosity, communication, persistence, and problem solving; (c) it contributes to gains in other subjects by supporting literacy and language development and better reading comprehension and writing skills; and (d) it includes subjects that can engage students from varying backgrounds, including English language learners."

Provides vivid examples of how elementary school teachers make NCTE's position statements on students' rights to read, write, and use their own languages come alive in their diverse classroom settings.

Engage students in mathematics using growth mindset techniques The most challenging parts of teaching mathematics are engaging students and helping them understand the connections between mathematics concepts. In this volume, you'll find a collection of low floor, high ceiling tasks that will help you do just that, by looking at the big ideas at the kindergarten-grade level through visualization, play, and investigation.

In Social Justice Talk, Chris Hass, along with his colleagues Nozsa Tinsley, and Tiffany Palmatier, detail how to facilitate rich discussions that disrupt the harmful social beliefs and practices we and our students are immersed in every day.

Teaching Writing is Lucy Calkins at her best-a distillation of the work that's placed Lucy and her colleagues at the forefront of the teaching of writing for over thirty years. This book promises to inspire teachers to teach with renewed passion and power and to invigorate the entire school day.

Transgender Students in Elementary School offers guidance to educators who want to provide a supportive school culture and climate for transgender and gender-expansive students. The book provides recommendations for creating learning environments that facilitate all students' sense of belonging and reduce the constraints inherent in binary gender norms.

"This book is the result of more than a decade of work with teachers through the Quality Elementary Science Teaching professional development program. We used two frameworks that come together in powerful ways to support student learning in science -- the 5E Learning Cycle and Universal Design for Learning."

This book provides classroom activities for elementary and middle school based on National Assessment of Educational Progress project items.

The twenty-nine cases, written by teachers describing real situations and actual student thinking in their classrooms, provide the basis of each session's investigation of specific mathematical concepts and teaching strategies. Reading and discussing the cases under the guidance of the facilitator actively engages seminar participants in their own learning enterprise.