Lexile measure AD730L; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2.
"When Miguel and his parents move from Puerto Rico to the U.S. mainland, Miguel misses their home, his grandparents, and his pet frog, Coquí, but he soon realizes that New York City has more in common with back home than he originally thought."

Lexile measure 1100; Ages 8-12: Gr.3-6.
The story of the 1931 Lemon Grove incident, in which Mexican families in southern California won the first school desegregation case in United States history. Told in Spanish and English.

Lexile measure AD530L; Ages 5-7; K-Gr.3.
Farmer Hector and his daughter Carla seek help from the monstrous chupacabra when their goats become giants and threaten the town.

Ages 9-12; Gr.2-5.
A reclamation of the Mexican serenata tradition: follow the story of a young boy who asks his father if there is a song for a boy who loves a boy.

Lexile measure 730; Ages 8-10; Gr.2-5.
Join a young boy and his father on a daring journey from Mexico to Texas to find a new life. They'll need all the resilience and courage they can muster to safely cross the border - la frontera - and to make a home for themselves in a new land.

Ages 4-8; Gr.3-4.
A bilingual collection of poetry by the late Francisco X. Alarcón, acclaimed Chicano poet celebrating the days of the week and everyday childhood experiences.

Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2.
Felicia always feels very small when she and her mom walk by the huge homes and beautiful gardens to the house where her mother works as a cleaning lady. "I need you to behave," her mother says, reminding her of all the things she should and shouldn't do.But Felicia gets bored, and in spite of her mother's warnings, begins to explore.

Lexile measure AD490L; Ages 5-8.
Classic favorites get a modern Latino twist. The itsy aranita, climbed up the water spout. Down came la lluvia, and washed la arana out.

Ages 5-8; Gr.K-2.
A bilingual tale about Little Lilly Lujan who loves her chanclas (flip-flops) going slippety-slappety and flippity-flop. In fact, Lilly refuses any footwear except her favorite pair of flip-flops.

Ages 4-9; Gr.1-3; Pura Belpre Illustrator honor, 2016.
"This charming little book will introduce young readers to safe and effective natural remedies from the native traditions of the American Southwest. A good way to learn about the healing power of plants."

Ages 4-6; Gr.K-2.
Young children will delight in reading this simple rhyming text with a recurring refrain that describes a loving home and neighborhood.

Text in English and Spanish, bound back to back and inverted.

Ages 5-9; Gr.k-3. Story told in a mixture of Spanish and English.
A smart, snappy, bilingual retelling of Little Red Riding Hood Winner of a Pura Belpre Honor for Illustration While Roja picks flowers on the way to her grandma's, a mean wolf sneaks away with her cape to surprise Abuelita.

Lexile measure 750; Ages 10-13; gr.5-8.
A bilingual collection of ten contemporary stories of mixed-up emotions, humorous mistakes, misguided actions, and unspeakable sorrows. Includes discussion questions and ideas for writing.

Ages 4-8; PrK-gr.2.
Here is a poetic ode to the beauty of the natural world as expressed by the movement and moods of water on Earth. With every evocative verse, we visit one of fourteen different water landscapes and cultural areas around the world...

Ages 3-6; prk-gr.2.
Everyone knows about Mary and her little lamb. But do you know Maria? With gorgeous, Peruvian-inspired illustrations and English and Spanish retellings, Angela Dominguez's Maria Had a Little Llama / María Tenía Una Llamita gives a fresh new twist to the classic rhyme.

Lexile Measure AD740L; Ages 4-8; Gr.k-3.
A vibrant bilingual picture-book biography that portrays the musical and cultural phenomenon of Tito Puente, Mambo King.

Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor, 2012.; Ages 5 to 10; Gr. PreK-3.
Marisol McDonald has flaming red hair and nut-brown skin. Polka dots and stripes are her favorite combination. She prefers peanut butter and jelly burritos in her lunch box. To Marisol, these seemingly mismatched things make perfect sense together. Other people wrinkle their nose in confusion at Marisol--can't she just choose one or the other?

ALA children's award; Pura Belpre Author Honor, 2012.; Lexile measure 820, gr. 2-5.
Margarito acts like any other eleven-year-old aficionado of lucha libre. He worships all the players. But in the summer just before sixth grade, he tumbles over the railing at a match in San Antonio and makes a connection to the world of Mexican wrestling that will ultimately connect him--maybe by blood!--to the greatest hero of all time: the Guardian Angel.

Ages 2-6, gr. PreK-2.
A collection of animal-themed nursery rhymes in Spanish, from Spain and Latin America, with English translations.

Lexile measure 640; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3.
Jose loves helping Mama in the garden outside their home in California. But when Mama is sent back to Mexico for not having citizenship papers, Jose and his Papa face an uncertain future.

Ages 3-6; Bedtime stories, PreK-2.
In a series of poetic sentences, a young boy (biracial Mexican/Caucasian) tells about some of the everyday things for which he is thankful. There are so many things to be thankful for. For one young boy, it's flying ladybugs, splashing ocean waves, a best friend, Dad's thick chocolate syrup, and much more.

Lexile measure AD580L; Reading level 2.3, Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2.
Whenever Maya visits the river, the river jumps up to greet her. It cools her when the summer sun is too hot and holds her up when she dives in. It keeps her company in the quiet of winter.

Ages 4-6; K-Gr.1.
A cradle for baby, a superhero's cape, a warm blanket on a cool night--there are so many things you can do with a rebozo. Through the eyes of a young girl, readers are introduced to the traditional shawl found in many Mexican and Mexican-American households.

Book level 4.9; Ages 7-12, gr. 3-6.
Presented in both English and Spanish, this lively poetry collection features the endangered flora and fauna of the Iguaz rain forest in Argentina, and addresses environmental issues in a fun, engaging way.

Book level 2.3; Ages 5-9; Gr.k-3.
As Señor Calavera prepares for Grandma Beetle's birthday, he finds an alphabetical assortment of unusual presents, but with the help of Zelmiro the Ghost, he finds the best gift of all.

Lexile measure 730; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4; Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor, 2009; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Honorable mention, 2009.
During the early days of the Great Depression, New York City's first Puerto Rican librarian, Pura Belpré, introduces the public library to immigrants living in El Barrio and hosts the neighborhood's first Three Kings' Day fiesta.

Lexile measure 650; Ages 5-7; Gr.K-2.
A vivid depiction of the early injustices encountered by a young Mexican-American girl in San Antonio in the 1920's, this book tells the true story of Emma Tenayuca.

Book level 3.2; Ages 5-9, gr. 1-5.
Bilingual English/Spanish. A tender story about a boy struggling to express his love for his mother and her partner in a nontraditional family.

Lexile measure 490; ages 5-8; PreK-Gr.2; Guided reading M
Quinito's family and friends all have important jobs in the neighborhood -- jobs that help make the community a happy place where people know each other and work together.

Ages 3-7; poetry and rhymes, PreK-Kindergarten,
Arrorró, mi niño - Hush-a-bye, my child It's time to go to bed, and what better way to lull your child to sleep than with a tender song or gentle game? In this beautiful collection of classic Latino lullabies and games, mothers and children happily embrace and treasure their traditions while sharing the universal joy of the special bond between parent and child.

Book level 2.4; Ages 6-8, gr. K-3.
A sparkling story of friendship and self-empowerment that features a little boy in a wheelchair who is given a special pet by his father. Full color.

Guided Reading Level R; Lexile measure 920; Ages 8-12; Grade level 3.
In his classic bilingual style, Joe tells the story of a haunted house in a poor little town in Arizona. Nobody will rent that house because they know a ghost lives there. So the landlord tries to rents it out for free. Still nobody will rent it. That is, until Elena's father rents it. He doesn't believe in ghosts. Lucky for Elena that her grandmother knows all about the ways of ghosts.

K-Gr.3.
Eight-year-old Esmeralda is transformed into a superhero and flies off to rescue her mother, who visited Mexico without her green-card and is not being permitted to return to the United States.

Lexile measure 720; Reading level 3.4; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6; Pura Belpre Award, 2004.
One night, young Amada overhears her parents whisper of moving from Mexico to the other side of the border--to Los Angeles, where greater opportunity awaits. As she and her family make their journey north, Amada records her fears, hopes, and dreams for their lives in the United States in her diary.

Ages 5-9; K-Gr.5.
This collection of poems invites young readers to celebrate winter at the seashore, in San Francisco and in the redwood forests of the Sierras.

Ages 8-12; Book level 4.5, gr. K-5.
Fourteen Latino poets pay tribute to their mothers and grandmothers in this touching volume. With verses written in English and generously peppered with Spanish words...

Lexile measure AD450L; Gr.2-5.
Juan Felipe Herrera's playful language and the colorful, magical art of Elizabeth Gomez capture the universal experience of entering a new school and feeling like a stranger in a world that seems upside down.
The Upside Down Boy/El nino de cabeza

Guided Reading Level P; Lexile measure 710; ages 9-12, book level 5
Through the magic windows of her cut-paper art, Carmen shows us her family, her life as an artist, and the legends of her Aztec past.

Gr.1-4.
In this whimsical and touching collection of 20 poems in English and Spanish, readers will find tomatoes that laugh, chiles that explode, and tortillas that applaud the sun.

Lexile measure 680; ages 5-10; book level 4.7, gr. 1-5.
In both English and Spanish, the author shares special moments and traditions from her childhood growing up in Kingsville, Texas, near the border of Mexico.

Lexile measure AD910L; Reading level 4.1; Gr.2-3
Poet Juan Felipe Herrera's bilingual memoir paints a vivid picture of his migrant farmworker childhood. His rich, evocative prose re-creates the joy of eating under the open sky, celebrating at a fiesta with other farm families, and listening to his mother singing Mexican songs and his father calling the doves.

Lexile measure AD520L; Reading level 4.5; Ages 7-12; Gr.3-6; Guided reading O
Ever since she can remember, Prietita has heard terrifying tales of la llorona -- the legendary ghost woman who steals children at night. Against a background of vibrant folk paintings, Gloria Anzaldua reinterprets, in a bilingual format, one of the most famous Mexican legends.

Lexile measure 670; Book level 3.4; Ages 4-7; Prk-K; Guided reading M
A bilingual retelling of the popular Cuban folktale about a bossy little rooster.

Lexile measure 550; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-6; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature, 1993, Winner Picture Book.
In Puerto Rico, Ramon is looking forward to being a masquerader in the carnival.