The Department of Special Collections holds a rich and growing collection of diverse materials that document and depict African American history and culture. This guide presents selected works, including collections of personal papers, photographs, manuscript drafts, rare books and many other materials that can be found in Special Collections. A selected list of electronic resources providing access to unique materials related to African American Studies is also included. With many thanks to Elizabeth Ryan, Library Conservator, for conceiving and building this guide, and to colleagues Felicia Smith, Rebecca Wingfield, Franz Kunst, Josh Schneider, Ann Myers, Mario Pamplona, and Ray Heigemeir for their input!

The Stanford Libraries have access to a wide range of historical newspaper sources.

For this class please see the ProQuest Historical Newspaper chart below.

In addition to the following list of sources, please read the Historical Newspapers blog post by Ben Stone, Curator of U.S. and British History, for his review of selected U.S. and U.K. historical newspaper databases.

This is a guide to the hard copy and online books affiliated with the book display in Green Library on anti-racism and protest movements.

For this class see the Politics and Economics link.

The University of Oklahoma Libraries' library guide includes a video on their homepage as well as a link for written media that includes books and peer-reviewed articles.

This guide includes books that can be requested using Stanford's Interlibrary Borrowing service. Titles include: "British capitalism and Caribbean slavery," and "Capitalism and Slavery."