The following databases cover various aspects of Chicana/o/x-Latino/a/x Studies life and culture. Content may be unique to some files, but they complement each other. Some references may appear in Articles + but can be explored individually for more robust results. Files from the same vendor can be searched together.  

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias 

*Latinx studies: the key concepts. Guide to the central concepts and issues that inform Latinx Studies globally. It summarizes, explains, contextualizes, and assesses key critical concepts, perspectives, developments, and debates. 

*Latinas in the United States: a historical encyclopedia. Records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States. 

*Latino literature: an encyclopedia for students. Offers a comprehensive overview of the most important authors, movements, genres, and historical turning points in Latino literature. 

*Latin music: musicians, genres, and themes. Two-volume encyclopedia of Latin music spans 5 centuries and 25 countries, showcasing various musicians and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes. 

*Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. The 4-volume set offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. 

 Databases 

*Chicano Database. Originally focused Mexican Americans, it has expanded coverage to include the Caribbean and Central American experience in the United States. 

*Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Links to many full-text articles when available. 

*Latino Studies (Oxford Bibliographies) 

*Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Part 1 and Part 2. Presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form dating back to colonial times. 

*Latino literature : poetry, drama, and fiction. Contains drama, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.  

*Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980. Offers the largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. 

*US Hispanic Newsstream provides full text from major Hispanic newspapers published in the United States to represent diverse regions of the country, including Spanish and English language publications. 

*Latinx thought and culture : the NPR archive, 1979-1990. Searchable database as digitized audio of National Public Radio programs:  Spanish-language weekly "Enfoque Nacional" and daily English-language "Latin File."

*Border and Migration Studies Online. Includes archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries.

Ebooks  

Can be searched for specific groups: Cuban Americans, Dominican Americans, Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, or the more recent  El Salvadoran and Guatemalan experience in the United States.