Skip to Main Content

Africa International Relations, Africa Foreign Affairs: Africa International Relations, Africa Foreign Affairs, J - Z

Africa's relations with China, Russia, USA, UK, France, Canada, Denmark, Japan, Israel, Norway. Role of activist NGOs, think tanks, peacekeeping, security and the military, conflict resolution, diplomatic studies and summits, migration, intergovernmental

Africa International Relations, Africa Foreign Affairs, J - Z

Jane's Defence (Coulsdon, Surrey, U.K.)
Subscription required for most content. Use their Search to locate articles.. Has Risk Pointers (country risk assessments), some free interviews, see articles listed in large type (such as interviews with African military / defence offiicals, former Deputy Commander U.N. Assistance Mission to Rwanda (Brigadier-General Henry Kwani Anyidoho of Ghana), Chairman of Armscor, the South African Defence Minister, the Chief of the South African Air Force, the Chief of the South African Army, etc.). From the Jane's Information Group. http://www.janes.com/ and https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9725954

Japan International Cooperation Agency, JICA
Japan's development cooperation organization. Based in Tokyo. https://www.jica.go.jp/english/index.html

[Japan]  Kyoto University. Center for African Area Studies
Some of their African Studies Monographs are online. Collaborates with JICA (Japan International Cooperation Agency), NGOs, private sectors, governments, and local governments in Africa. https://www.africa.kyoto-u.ac.jp/en/

Japan, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Country by country descriptions of Japan's relations with Africa. http://www.mofa.go.jp/region/africa/

[Japan] Tokyo International Conference on African Development, 8th, August 27-28, 2022, Tunis, Tunisia, TICAD
Triennial meeting of government Heads of State, business leaders, civil society. Organized with the United Nations, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the African Union Commission (AUC), and the World Bank. Morocco did not attend as a Polisario Front leader had been invited also. https://www.jica.go.jp/TICAD/en/index.html

Johnson (Lyndon B.) Library and Museum
Has full text oral history interviews in Adobe Acrobat .pdf format. Use the Acrobat Find (the binoculars) for keyword searches. Walt Rostow talks about a meeting with President Kennedy and President Keita of Mali reassuring Kennedy that Africa would not become communist. Has an interview with Dean Rusk on the US dropping paratroopers in Stanleyville, Congo and sending transport planes to show support for the Congo govt. against mercenaries, on U.S. policy in the Nigerian civil war. [KF] https://www.lbjlibrary.org/

Journal Mifon au Bénin (Centre Culturel Chinois au Benin)
In French and Chinese. Blog. "Mifon Journal vous donne les meilleures nouvelles de la culture et des arts et beaucoup plus pour en savoir plus sur le Bénin et la culture chinoise." https://nihao870530069.wordpress.com/

Lessons Learned from U.S. Humanitarian Interventions Abroad
Edited by Thomas S. Blanton (May 9, 2000) (National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 30 ). "report from inside the U.S. government on the successes and failures of the most recent U.S. humanitarian interventions abroad, including Kosovo, Sudan,..." On the site of the National Security Archive, George Washington University, Washington, D.C. http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB30/index.html

MetaLib GPO
Search the database for information on US international relations. For ex.

  • Seach for Hearings Ethiopia, then click on View retrieved   You get almost 15,000 results. Clicking on the titles from Gov Info or Library of Congress  brings you to the full reports. For titles in the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, copy the title and put it in the search box of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications web site to find the full report..
  • a search for Equatorial Guinea found a law suit against the Equatorial Guinea Govt. by a US law firm for non payment of services. Also retrieved (from the 151 Congressional Record) a report that Dan Burton (House of Representatives, Indiana) in 2005 lauded President Teodoro Obiang Nguem and the Govt. of Equatorial Guinea for being the first African country to donate  to the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami relief effort ($200,000). https://metalib.gpo.gov/

Migration Policy Institute - Migration Information Source
"...an independent, non-partisan, non-profit think-tank in Washington, D.C. dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide." On immigration, migration, refugee policy in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, United States. Immigration statistics. Data is from the U.S. Census Bureau and the Urban Institute. Statistics of foreign-born by state. For example California in 2000, 113,255 Califorians were born in Africa. 11,818 were from Ethiopia, 13,939 were from Nigeria. 14,359 were from South Africa. Profiles of selected countries (Botswana, Cape Verde, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, South Africa.) Find statistics, from 1980 to 2002, on numbers of asylum seekers from individual countries to countries of asylum. The Institute is based in Washington, D.C. http://www.migrationinformation.org

National Security Archive, (George Washington University)
Independent research institute and library in Washington, D.C. Collects and publishes declassified documents acquired  through the Freedom of Information Act, FOIA.  Includes Rwanda, Darfur, a Horn of Africa refugees (1979-1984) collection. Has a microfiche collection, South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989 (2,500 documents on 439 microfiche). The collection is held by at least 23 U.S. libraries and Oxford U.; check the OCLC World Catalog for a list of these. The site provides information on how to use the FOIA. http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/
Their Digital National Security Archives has full text documents, mainly one page each, in Adobe PDF format, on U.S. foreign relations. Includes memos, cables re Angola, military training by South Africa for the Contras, African reaction to the Cuban missile crisis, Zambia, Mozambique, etc. "The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., which provides .... public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)." http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/

National Summit on Africa (Africa Society)
Site has closed. The Internet Archive has archived the site. The Summit, held February 16 to 20, 2000, was a two-year initiative to improve public understanding about Africa and U.S.-Africa relations. It seeks to create "an expanded and broad-based constituency for Africa; enabling a diverse coalition of organizations and individuals to develop a shared Agenda for Action for U.S.relations with the countries of Africa". Has their newsletter, Palaver. http://www.africasummit.org/

  • The Internet Archive has archived the site Pacific West Coast Regional Summit on Africa. Had a 157 report of the California Delegation's Response to the National Draft Policy Plan of Action.. http://www.win-cawa.org/summit/

New Partnership for Africa's Development
In English and French.  "This initiative was endorsed by the OAU summit of Heads of State and Governments in Lusaka, Zambia on the 11 July 2001." http://www.nepad.org/

Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD)
In English and Norwegian. "a directorate under the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs." Describes Norway's development assistance to African countries (statistics, projects). Includes an annotated bibliography with Africa-related citations, "Corruption - A selected and annotated bibliography." http://www.norad.no/

Norwegian Council for Africa - Fellesrådet for Afrika
YouTube Channel. The Council was formerly the Norwegian Council for Southern Africa. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1f0yZlhwS2EkIOKQxImVpA/featured
https://afrika.no/en/fellesradet

[Obama] President Barack Obama - Ghana Trip, July 10-11, 2009
President Obama's speeches, videos, New York Times and BBC articles. Commentary from think tanks, African writers. https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/blog/2012/06/14/archives-president-obamas-trip-ghana

Open Democracy - Africa
The non-profit, Open Democracy Ltd, is funded by the Open Trust, a registered UK charity. Articles on how the U.K. government spent between £38,000 and £50,500 of taxpayers’ money on Facebook and Instagram ads to promote sending refugees to Rwanda, (June 10, 2022), Africa - U.S. relations, Liberia in transition (2007), the DR Congo’s political opportunity by Gérard Prunier (2007), Ghana: fifty years of independence, What future for Zimbabwe (2007) by Wilf Mbanga, Zimbabwe between past and future (2006), by Andrew Meldrum, Africa and democracy, etc. Based in London. https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/tagged/africa/

Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
Extensive information on Francophone Africa. Formerly Agence de cooperation Culturelle et Technique, ACCT, an inter-governmental organization for French-speaking countries created in Niamey in 1970 by Leopold S. Senghor, Habib Bourguiba, and Hamani Diori. Information on African members. https://www.francophonie.org/

Public Citizen
A nonprofit consumer advocacy organization that champions the public interest.  Has an article on why the Africa Growth and Opportunity Act should be opposed. Founded by Ralph Nader in 1971. https://www.citizen.org/

Russian Africa Summit and Economic Forum, 2023
At St. Petersburg. The second Russia-Africa summit is scheduled for mid-June 2023 in St. Petersburg, Russia. https://summitafrica.ru/en/

Russia Africa Summit 2023

Russia - Africa Summit, 2019 October 23-24, Sochi
First in the history of Russian-African relations to which the head of every African state and the leaders of major regional associations and organizations have been invited. Information on the economic exhibition exhibitors, panels, etc. Cultural events featured an exhibition on a little-known expedition to Ethiopia by Nikolay Gumilyov in 1913, also an exhibition of Russian researchers on the African continent – Yegor Kovalevsky, Lev Tsenkovsky, Nicholas Miklouho-Maclay, Wilhelm Junker, and Nikolay Vavilov.  [KF] https://summitafrica.ru/en/archive/2019/summit-outcomes/

SADC Southern African Development Community
In English, French, Portuguese. Members are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Has full text reports, including statistics, on these sectors: Culture, Information and Sport, Regional Drug Control Programme, Gender, Health, Human Resources, Development, Employment and Labour, Transport, Communications, Meteorology, Tourism. Also links to other SADC units/organizations, full text issues (in Adobe pdf) of its magazine, SADC Today. Based in Gaborone, Botswana. http://www.sadc.int

Saudi Arabia

Saudi - Africa Summit, 1st, Riyadh, November 10, 2023

  • Arab News
    Saudi-African Summit reflects Kingdom’s growing geopolitical role
    By Dr. Mohammed Al-Sulami is the founder and president of the International Institute for Iranian Studies (Rasanah). https://www.arabnews.com/node/2408191

Foreign Policy magazine (Washington D. C.)
Saudi Arabia Courts African Leaders  November 15, 2023, By Nosmot Gbadamosi,  https://foreignpolicy.com/2023/11/15/saudi-arabia-africa-mbs-debt-investment-development/

Institute for Security Studies, Pretoria, South Africa 
First Saudi-Africa summit: off to a rocky start?  https://issafrica.org/iss-today/first-saudi-africa-summit-off-to-a-rocky-start#:~:text=On%2010%20November%2C%20the%20maiden,bolster%20economic%20and%20diplomatic%20ties

Leaders Magazine (Riyadh, Saudia Arabia)
“Saudi Arabia Leads Historic Saudi-African Summit for Regional Cooperation”
By Ahmad El-Assasy. November 10, 2023. Official magazine of the Saudi Airlines. https://www.leaders-mena.com/saudi-arabia-leads-historic-saudi-african-summit-for-regional-cooperation

Saudi Press Agency
HRH the Crown Prince Inaugurates the Saudi-African Summit. Friday 26/04/1445.  https://www.spa.gov.sa/en/N1994898

Timbuktu Institute, African Center for Peace Studies (Dakar, Senegal)
Saudi Arabia-Africa Summit: Towards the revitalization of a South-South axis? November 15, 2023.  https://timbuktu-institute.org/index.php/toutes-l-actualites/item/773-saudi-arabia-africa-summit-towards-the-revitalization-of-a-south-south-axis
 

SBM Intelligence
Advises countries about risk management, strategic consulting, and in-depth investigation of sensitive political and social issues.  SBM Intelligence Head of Research is Ikemeset Effiong. Reports online. Based in Nigeria. https://www.sbmintel.com/

Includes
Map of foreign military presence in Africa
Nigeria's 2023 election
Chinese naval presence in the Gulf of Guinea
Military strength of ECOWAS countries

Sister Cities International
Find which African cities and U.S. cities have Sister City ties. Find the Sister Cities and by U.S. state (information from wikipedia). Find cities / local government bodies in Africa seeking Sister City ties. Toolkits, etc. Based in Washington, D.C. https://sistercities.org/ http://en.sistercity.info/countries/

South African Institute of International Affairs
A independent public policy think tank at the Univ. of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. Articles on Africa relations with China, Russia, etc. Publishes the South African Journal of International Affairs (Stanford catalog entry).  https://saiia.org.za/

Southern African Customs Union, SACU
"(SACU) consists of Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland. ... established in 1910, ..." Text of agreements, press releases, WTO | Trade policy review - Southern African Customs Union reports (1998, 2003), etc. Based in Windhoek, Namibia. http://www.sacu.int/

Stellenbosch University. Centre for Chinese Studies, CCS
Has online reports, articles.

African East-Asian Affairs. The China Monitor (Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Publication of the Centre for Chinese Studies, Stellenbosch University, South Africa. https://aeaa.journals.ac.za/pub/index

Training Diplomats of Postcolonial African States 1957–1997
"Many of the first generation of African diplomats were trained abroad, in Europe, North America, as well as in Africa. This project analyses the geopolitical dynamics of this diplomatic training through a focus on the spaces, networks, and power relations of learning to be a diplomat." Research project "by three geographers at UK universities King’s College London and Oxford, and funded by the Leverhulme Trust."  https://www.diplotraining.org/

Transafrica Forum
Site has closed. The Internet Archive has archived the site. An African-American foreign policy institution, "founded in 1981 to provide a forum for the collection, analysis and dissemination of information about Africa and the Caribbean and about the United States' policies affecting these regions."  Its President, Bill Fletcher, Jr., succeeded Randall Robinson. [KF] https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.transafricaforum.org

Transparency International
An NGO to "counter corruption in international business transactions and...at national levels." Has the Corruption Perceptions Index. "Transparency International is not saying in this index that one country is more corrupt than another. We are reporting how business people, political analysts, and the general public around the globe perceive levels of corruption in different countries. We must also bear in mind that many of these business people are a part of the problem." Has national chapters in Africa. Issues of its Newsletter (1995 +) have country updates. Based in Berlin, Germany. https://www.transparency.org/

Union Économique et Monétaire Ouest Africaine, UEMOA
In French. "a été créée par le Traité signé à Dakar le 10 janvier 1994 par les Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement des sept pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest ayant en commun l’usage d’une monnaie commune, le F CFA." Members are Bénin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinée Bissau, Mali, Niger, Sénégal, Togo. Press releases, official statements, documents such as "Indice Harmonisé des Prix à la Consommation du mois d'avril 2004 )" and "Communiqué final de la réunion des Ministres en charge de la Promotion de la Femme des États membres..." Based in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. [KF] http://www.uemoa.int/

United Kingdom. Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office
https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/foreign-commonwealth-development-office

United Nations
Enormous amounts of information:

  • UN Web Site Locator: the newest search tool for locating documents by subject and agency including FAO, ILO, IMF, Internatl Institute for Sustainable Development, UN Population Info. Network, UN Dept. of Humanitarian Affairs, UNDP, UN Environment Programme, UNESCO, UN Population Fund, UNICEF, World Bank and more. http://www.unsystem
  • United Nations Development Programme: includes Human Development Reports. http://www.undp.org/

United Nations African Institute for the Prevention of Crime and the Treatment of Offenders (UNAFRI)
Furthers the "incorporation, in national planning, of suitable policies and programmes for crime prevention and criminal justice." Has an online newsletter. Based in Uganda. http://www.unafri.or.ug/

United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda (October 1993 – March 1996)
"UNAMIR was established by Security Council resolution 872 (1993) of 5 October 1993 to help implement the Arusha Peace Agreement signed by the Rwandese parties on 4 August 1993." https://peacekeeping.un.org/sites/default/files/past/unamir.htm

United Nations. Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
http://www.uneca.org/

U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees and Refworld
Has brief information on refugees in 22 African countries (including North Africa), current news, press releases, and photos. Among selected documents from their database, Refworld, are speeches of the High Commissioner, extensive country information (from the U.N. Commission on Human Rights, the detailed Writenet reports, etc.) There are Tanzania case laws, a select bibliography on refugee women, and a section for teachers. http://www.unhcr.org/

United Nations. Permanent Forum on People of African Descent
"On 2 August 2021, the General Assembly adopted its resolution 75/314, in which it formally operationalized the Permanent Forum as "a consultative mechanism for people of African descent and other relevant stakeholders as a platform for improving the safety and quality of life and livelihoods of people of African descent, as well as an advisory body to the Human Rights Council, in line with the programme of activities for the implementation of the International Decade for People of African Descent and in close coordination with existing mechanisms". https://www.ohchr.org/en/permanent-forum-people-african-descent

United Nations Treaty Collection
Access is free to Permanent Missions to the United Nations, Federal Government Offices, NGOs, UN staff, UN Agencies, Individuals and Institutions within Developing Countries. Some universities subscribe. Find citations to treaties covering all countries. There are some full text treaties. For ex. one can find a "Basic Agreement concerning assistance by the United Nations Development Programme to the Government of Eritrea.Signed at Asmara on 11 June 1994." http://untreaty.un.org/ https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4300355

United States Africa Command, AFRICOM
Coordinates all U.S. military and security interests in Africa. Established October 2007. Became fully operational October 1, 2008. FAQ, news, press releases, activities. Based in Stuttgart, Germany. http://www.africom.mil/
See also BBC article Feb. 18, 2008 "US shifts on AFRICOM base plans"

U.S. - Africa Leaders Summit, 2022 December 13-15, 2022
Events during the Summit. https://www.state.gov/africasummit/
July 20, 2022. Statement by President Biden https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/speeches-remarks/2022/07/20/statement-by-president-biden-on-the-u-s-africa-leaders-summit/
US Senate. https://www.foreign.senate.gov/press/ranking/release/risch-bidens-scheduling-of-us-africa-leaders-summit-long-overdue
ABC news. https://abcnews.go.com/Politics/wireStory/biden-host-african-leaders-dec-summit-washington-87114380
The Hill. At the US-Africa Leaders Summit, launch ‘Process Africa’. August 15, 2022. https://thehill.com/opinion/international/3602211-at-the-us-africa-leaders-summit-launch-process-africa/
S.Res.538 - A resolution expressing support for a second United States-Africa Leaders Summit. https://www.congress.gov/bill/117th-congress/senate-resolution/538/text
Ambassador McCarthy Extends U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit Invite to President Weah. July 28, 2022.
African and Diaspora Young Leaders Forum, December 13, 2022

U.S. - Africa Leaders Summit 2014 August 4-6, Washington D.C.
Brookings - U.S. - Africa Leaders Summit Commentary on the 2014 Summit
The Africa Growth Initiative presents its latest blog series on the first-ever U.S.-African Heads of State Summit in Washington, D.C. from August 4-6, 2014. President Obama hosted over 50 African heads of state. https://www.brookings.edu/series/u-s-africa-leaders-summit/

United States, African Growth and Opportunity Act, Public Law 106-200
Law signed by Pres. Clinton May 18, 2000, is Public Law No: 106-200. Title: An act to authorize a new trade and investment policy for sub-Sahara Africa, expand trade benefits to the countries in the Caribbean Basin......." https://agoa.info/

United States, Agency for International Development
Section on Africa. http://www.usaid.gov/

U.S. Army War College
Has Fellows program for officers from Africa and elsewhere. https://www.armywarcollege.edu/

U.S. Committee for Refugees
Information on the refugee situation in each African country, a directory of refugee assistance organizations, press releases, photographs. One can order their publications online. The USCR was founded in 1958 at the request of Pres. Eisenhower to coordinate the United States' participation in the United Nations' International Refugee Year (1959). [KF] http://www.refugees.org/

United States, Congress, House, Foreign Affairs Committee. Subcommittee on Africa
https://foreignaffairs.house.gov/
Subcommittee on Africa, Global Health, and Global Human Rights.  Listen to Live Hearings on Zoom. Listen to past hearings on the web site. https://foreignaffairs.house.gov/africa-global-health-and-global-human-rights

United States, Congress. Senate, Committee on Foreign Relations
See the Subcommittee on African Affairs. Stanford alumnus Senator Cory Booker is on the Subcommittee. " The subcommittee has geographic responsibilities corresponding to those of the Bureau of African Affairs in the Department of State." http://foreign.senate.gov/

United States, Department of State, Bureau of African Affairs
"...advises the Secretary [of State] and guides the operation of the U.S. diplomatic establishment in the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa." Has a page for each country with fact sheets, travel advisories, press releases, etc.  [KF] http://www.state.gov/p/af/

United States Embassies
https://www.usembassy.gov/

[United States] Foreign Assistance.gov 
The U.S. government's main site for foreign asistance data. Includes assistance by country. Has datasets. https://www.foreignassistance.gov/

United States Institute of Peace
"independent nonpartisan national institution established and funded by Congress. Our mission is to help prevent, manage, and resolve international conflicts..." http://www.usip.org/

U.S. Office of the U.S. Trade Representative - Africa
https://ustr.gov/countries-regions/africa

United States Trade and Development Agency - Sub-Saharan Africa
Links U.S. businesses to export opportunities in Africa. Based in Arlington, Virginia. https://www.ustda.gov/regions/sub-saharan-africa/

Wilson Center. Africa Program
Non partisan think tank. "Chartered by Congress in 1968 as the official memorial to President Woodrow Wilson." Kazakhstan-Africa Relations, Ethiopia, South Sudan, etc. Stanford alumnus, Christopher Maloney is an expert at the Center. Based in Washington, D.C. https://www.wilsoncenter.org/region/africa

Wilson Center. Cold War International History Project (Washington, D.C.)
Established at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, supports the release of historical materials by governments, seeks to disseminate new perspectives on Cold War history.[KF] https://www.wilsoncenter.org/program/cold-war-international-history-project
Has full text Russian archival documents on Soviet policy toward Angola and Southern Africa in the 1970s and Russian and East German documents on the U.S.-Russian rivalry in the Horn of Africa. 

World Peace Foundation
Alex de Waal is the Executive Director Established 1910. Affiliated with the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University. Publications include The Prairie Fire that Burned Mogadishu by ALEX DEWAAL, 2018 and Digital feast and famine: Digital technologies and humanitarian law in food security, starvation and famine risk, 2022. Based in Somerville, Massachusetts. https://sites.tufts.edu/wpf/

  • Last Updated: May 5, 2024 1:24 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.stanford.edu/africa-international-relations
  • Print Page
Subjects: African studies