The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.

Japan Search is a national platform for aggregating metadata of digital resources of various fields and operated by the National Diet Library, Japan, in cooperation with a variety of organizations in Japan under policies established by the Working Group Steering Committee of the Digital Archives Japan Promotion Committee.

Discovery digital resources from all over the world. More than a million items are collected on this platform.

Produced by the National Institute for Japanese Literature, it claims to be the largest database of pre-modern Japanese works.

The ROIS-DS Center for Open Data in the Humanities (CODH) focuses on 'data-driven humanities' to analyze humanities resources, using state-of-the-art technology from computer science and statistics, and 'big data in the humanities' utilizing datasets created from humanities research in a trans-disciplinary context.

The crowd sourcing platform, Minna de Honkoku, allows users to support each other’s study of Japanese calligraphy (kuzushiji) in old texts and take advantage of AI-based kuzushiji recognition. Nearly 2000 transcribed documents are available on the platform.

CiNii covers the book and journal holdings of university libraries and other libraries in Japan with some available in full-text. In addition to retrieving citation information for academic journal articles from Japan, CiNii provides full-text access to over 6,800 journals.

KinoDen is the Japanese ebook platform provided by Kinokuniya. Contact Regan Murphy Kao, Japanese Studies Librarian, to add additional titles to our holdings.

Maruzen eBook Library is another ebook platform to which we have access. Please contact Regan Murphy Kao, Japanese Studies Librarian, to add additional titles to our collection.

HathiTrust is a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

JapanKnowledge includes full text for Bungei Kurabu 文芸倶楽部, Taiyo 太陽, Kokushi Taikei 国史大系, and Nihon koten bungaku zenshu 日本古典文学全集, Gunsho ruiju 群書類従 as well as numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias.

The Japanese magazine, Taiyō, was published from 1895 to 1928 and is especially known for its literary criticism, Japanese literature, and translations of Western authors.

Bungei kurabu was a leading literary magazine between 1895 and 1933. The issues published during the Meiji period are available through JapanKnowledge.

The general interest magazine, Bungei shunju, was launched by Kikuchi Kan in 1923. Years 1923-1950 are available and full-text searchable.

The long-established literature magazine which celebrated 100th anniversary in 2010. This magazine took important place in Japanese modern literature history. Major modern Japanese writers published in this magazine. It also had translations and introductions of European literature and streams of thought. It's possible to search by an article's name, a writer's name, the age and the genre. It's also possible to search for a sponsor by an advertising claim, the age and the business category about advertisement.

Rare collection of twenty-seven magazines related to gender, sexuality, modern history, modern literature published between 1950s-1970s available in full color. Database allows for cross search and downloading articles.

The Gunsho ruijū is a monumental collection of Japanese literary and historical texts. It is not just a multi-volume compendium of primary sources but a whole series of such compendia collated, edited, and published over more than a century and covering texts from the 9th to the 19th century.

Shintei zōho Kokushi taikei (新訂増補国史大系) published by Yoshikawa Kōbunkan (1998-2001) includes fundamental pre-modern works of Japanese history. The online edition provides a total of 66 volumes (60 volumes plus supplements) in PDF including Kojiki, Nihonshoki, Azuma Kagami, Tokugawa Jikki, Honchō Seiki, Nihon Kiryaku, Hyakuren Shō, Nihon Isshi, Zokushi Gushō, Ritsu, Ryō no gige, Ryō no shuge, Engishiki, Ruijū Sandaikaku.

The Yuho Collection Online provides valuable materials by the Government-General of Korea during the Japanese Colonial Era.

This database, Records of War Crime Tribunals: Mainly related to Tokyo Trials, includes historical materials related to the Tokyo tribunal and war crimes, created and collected by the Ministry of Justice Japan from the 1950’s to the 1970’s.

Tokyo Army Military Proceedings on February 26 Incident

The most exhaustive statistical resource on the history of Japan between Meiji and post-war Showa. With approximately 1,800,000 pages (900,000 images) and over 1,500,000 tables and figures, each assigned with a unique ID, Prefectural Statistics Online is one of the most exhaustive statistical resources on the history of Japan between Meiji and post-War Showa. consisting of 24 modules (divided into 4 periods and 6 regions). Price for all installments is 7,200,000jpy (they can also be purchased separately by location or time period).

Business Archive Online provides access to 215,000 records on more than 14,000 companies. Providing comprehensive coverage of the economic activities in modern Japan. Allows universal searches of 215,000 Financial Reports Part I & II and Prospectuses from over 14,000 companies. Restructuring and name changes of firms are noted in a section. Equipped with a unique dictionary function that allows batch retrieval of company information.

This database contains a diverse range of primary policy-related resources belonging to economist Hiromi Arisawa (1896 - 1988), who played a significant role in the formulation of postwar Japanese economic policy. Arisawa was involved in social policy continuously from the early postwar recovery years, right through the oil shocks of the 1970s, to after the end of the country’s era of high growth. He sat on numerous government panels, and served as chairman of several of these bodies, including panels on the national pension, employment, and the minimum wage, an unemployment insurance study group, and panel on small- and medium-sized business policy. He was also closely involved in the development of Japanese economic policy during the war, and in the postwar recovery period. Part 1 contains mainly material from social policy panels, allowing readers to track developments in labor policy and social security from the 1950s to 1980s and serving as an indispensable resource for any empirical study of postwar Japanese social policy. Part 2 contains resources on postwar energy policy, including material related to coal, oil policy, and Japan’s Atomic Energy Commission.

　

Snapshot of Japan, 2016-2018, is a web archive focused broadly on critical themes during the years 2016-2018.

Asahi shimbun digital provides the latest news released in the past 24 hours and full-page images of the past two weeks. It also enables users to search the full text articles, including clipped images from the past year, with a keyword and a publication date. The content is updated on a daily basis, and the database always includes the latest information. Asahi Shimbun Digital is provided on a separate platform with five concurrent users per institution.

Asahi News Database is one of the largest newspaper databases of Japan containing more than 13 million items. It includes articles and advertisements of the Asahi Shinbun newspaper since its first issue in 1879 (both the Tokyo and Osaka editions). Full-text search is available for all material after 1985. It also provides access to the weekly magazines, AERA and Shukan Asahi, and the Historical Photo Archive, which includes approximately 10-thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period. It includes a “Who’s Who” database and a contemporary word dictionary with over 8,000 of the latest terms. It has a robust historical keyword searching function, which will pull up relevant articles even if they do not include the specified keyword. The Image Database of Post WWII (1945-1989) contains 88,000 pages of the Asahi Shimbun and allows searching of advertisements.

Includes Yomiuri Shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people. It is possible to look up any word in an article simply by highlighting and selecting the dictionary button.

Nikkei Telecom 21 provides full text access to 日本経済新聞 (1876-1961, and 1981/10-present), 日経産業新聞 (1981/10-present), 日経流通新聞 (1985/10-present), 日経金融新聞 (1987/10-2008/1), Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles), and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles). It also offers English sources, such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly, and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers.

Maisaku provides full-text access to the Mainichi Shinbun (1872 (Meiji 5)- present), including the Tokyo and Osaka editions (1876-1942), which are in pdf format until 1988. After 1999, only html is available. Maisaku includes Mainichi Shinbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Newspaper findings on public opinions and political party approval ratings are also available at ヨミロンサーチ. As search terms are limited, browsing is recommended.

This database provides access to all articles published by the Okinawa Times, the leading regional newspaper for the Okinawa area. The newspaper provides a regional, Okinawa-centered view of Japanese history, society, politics and events as they happen, as well as coverage of people and events not included in national Japanese newspapers.

Ryukyu shinpo article database

The daily newspaper, Taiwan nichinichi shinpo, was published from 1898 to 1944 in Japanese along with Chinese text from 1905 to 1911. It is an official newspaper published by the Government-General of Taiwan, an important resource to know the condition of Taiwan for these years. The database provides both a Chinese and Japanese interface.

Asahi Shimbun's English-language newspaper.

English-language newspaper covering Japan-related news. Database of digitized issues of the Japan times, The Japan advertiser, The Japan times & mail, The Japan times and advertiser, Japan times & advertiser, Japan times advertiser, Nippon times. The Archive includes all but the most recent year.

Largest and longest circulating Japanese-language newspaper published in colonial Korea from 1907 to 1945. Image files, provided in PDF format, are not searchable but can be browsed by date.

Made available by Kobe University Library, the Newspaper Clippings Collection covers the period from the end of Meiji through 1969 and contains approximately 500,000 articles.

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started in the mid 1980s and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th to 21st century maps of North and South America, the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials.

Stanford University Libraries holds a large collection of Japanese military and imperial maps, referred to as gaihozu, or "maps of outer lands." These maps were produced starting in the early Meiji (1868-1912) era and the end of World War II by the Land Survey Department of the General Staff Headquarters, the former Japanese Army.

UBC Library's Rare Books and Special Collections holds one of the world's largest collections of maps and guidebooks of the Japanese Tokugawa period, ca. 1600-1868.

The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. The collection was acquired by the University of California from the Mitsui family in 1949, and is housed on the Berkeley campus in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library. Represented in this online collection are over 1,900 images of maps and books from this Collection.

The National Diet Library provides digital access to this reprint of the map of the entire coast of Japan created by Tadataka Ino in ten stages during the seventeen years from 1800 to 1816.