Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Language and education: Background information
This guide is for those interested in linguistics as applied to education, both research and practice. This includes multilingualism, use of native languages, and language policy. For those interested in second language learning such as ELL and EFL see
The Oxford Handbook of Language and Race positions issues of race as central to language-based scholarship. In twenty-one chapters divided into four sections--Foundations and Formations; Coloniality and Migration; Embodiment and Intersectionality; and Racism and Representations--authors at the forefront of this rapidly expanding field present state-of-the-art research and establish future directions of research.
This is the first international and interdisciplinary handbook to offer a comprehensive and an in-depth overview of findings from contemporary research, theory, and practice in early childhood language education in various parts of the world and with different populations. The contributions by leading scholars and practitioners are structured to give a survey of the topic, highlight its importance, and provide a critical stance. The book covers preschool ages, and looks at children belonging to diverse ethno-linguistic groups and experiencing different histories and pathways of their socio-linguistic and socio-cultural development and early education.
"The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Writing is the authoritative compendium of theoretical perspectives and empirical developments on how and why the processes involved in writing (planning, composing, reflecting, monitoring, retrieving knowledge, processing feedback) can promote language learning."
The Handbook of Research on Bilingual and Intercultural Education is an essential scholarly publication that provides comprehensive empirical research on bilingual and intercultural processes in an educational context. Featuring a range of topics such as education policy, language resources, and teacher education...
In this second, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education presents a comprehensive international reference work of the policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education.
The first edition of ELL (1993, Ron Asher, Editor) was hailed as "the field's standard reference work for a generation". Now the all-new second edition matches ELL's comprehensiveness and high quality, expanded for a new generation, while being the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics.
The Handbook of Research on Pedagogies and Cultural Considerations for Young English Language Learners presents research-based, theoretical frameworks and best practices for teaching young English language learners. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics and perspectives such as co-teaching, inclusion, and social awareness...
As globalization has increased awareness of the extent of language contact and linguistic diversity, questions concerning bilingualism and multilingualism have taken on an increasing importance from both practical and scholarly points of view. Written by leading experts and practitioners in the field, The Blackwell Guide to Research Methods in Bilingualism and Multilingualism: Highlights the interdisciplinary nature of research on bilingualism and multilingualism and offers a practical guide to the procedures and tools for collecting and analyzing data.
The Handbook of Research on Advancing Language Equity Practices With Immigrant Communities explores issues of linguistic and educational equity with immigrant communities around the globe in an effort to improve the teaching and learning of immigrant communities, featuring a wide range of topics such as higher education, instructional design, and language learning.
The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.
The Handbook of Educational Linguistics is a dynamic, scientifically grounded overview revealing the complexity of this growing field while remaining accessible for students, researchers, language educators, curriculum developers, and educational policy makers.
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.