The First Amendment protects your right to assemble and express your views through protest. However, police and other government officials are allowed to place certain narrow restrictions on the exercise of speech rights. Make sure you’re prepared by brushing up on your rights before heading out into the streets.

A variety of KYR Guides from the American Civil Liberties Union, covering police stops, LBGTQ right, student rights, voting rights, etc.

The American Civil Liberties Union of Northern California (ACLUNC) has written a number of rights guides, ranging from criminal justice, gender justice, educational equality, free speech, LGBTQ justice, etc.

A clear, concise and current guide that provides information from what to have when attending a protest, what not to have, how to interact with police, key resources and numbers for legal support.

NLG of San Francisco Bay Area provides legal support for demonstrations, education and training for engaging in demonstrations, and other legal support for activists, including a Demo Jail Hotline if you are arrested during a demonstration and Demo Public Hotline for those who have not been arrested but have need assistance for someone who has been. They have published a number of "Know your Rights Guides" in various languages and for various communities including Trans, Sex Worker, and Environmental Rights groups.

We Know Our Rights provides practical tools that are effective and legally sound and helps prepare vulnerable communities to fight back against intimidation by law enforcement. This video series is being released at an important political moment when our civil rights, particularly for immigrant communities.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) created this Surveillance Self Defense (SSD) Guide to provide practical tips on how to maintain your privacy and minimize your digital footprint when attending a protest.

Compiled in 2014, provides six general points to consider when engaging in a protest.

The Center for Constitutional Rights, founded in 1966, based in New York, is a progressive non-profit legal advocacy organization. CCR focuses on civil liberties and human rights litigation, and activism. This brief was written several years ago but provides a general framework and questions to consider when engaging in civil disobedience.

Includes graphics and videos on the right to assembly and why people protest.

Practical tools to help activists start groups and campaign for human rights.

The Oakland Public Library provides a list of guides and resources on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and immigration enforcement.

A variety of resources for activists, artists, students, etc. to help you
understand the First Amendment, learn about notable cases relating to activism and protest, and take action against censorship in your communities.

The Ruckus Society is a nonprofit organization that provides support and training for nonviolent direct action. They have the following five resources currently available: The Action Strategy Guide, Security Culture for Activists,
Know Your Role, Creative Direct Action Visuals, Balloon Banner Action Manual.

This is not a KYR guide per se; but a useful list of ten tips to consider when "taking to the streets" from the Seattle Weekly.

Stanford Law School students in the Immigrants’ Rights Clinic have drafted Know-Your-Rights materials, empowering unrepresented immigrants with knowledge and resources to advocate for themselves before ICE and immigration court.

Resources from the Stanford Center for Latin American Studies