The Oxford Encyclopedia of Global Perspectives on Teacher Education includes new articles on innovative, grounded, and theory-based workbeing done by established global scholars who are interrogating educational issues related to teacher education. A major aim of the project is to pave the way for scholars to learn from each other, recognizing not only similarities but also differences in perspectives, and in doing so, encourage those working in teacher education to create more sustainable, focused, and collaborative approaches to the merging of theory and practice.
This enlightening handbook offers current, international perspectives on the conditions in communities, contemporary practices in schooling, relevant research on teaching and learning, and implications for the future of education.
The International Handbook of Teacher Quality and Policy is a comprehensive resource that examines how teacher quality is conceptualized, negotiated, and contested, and teacher policies are developed and implemented by global, national, and local policy actors.
The Handbook of Instructional Communication offers a comprehensive collection of theory and research focusing on the role and effects of communication in instructional environments. Now in its Second Edition, the handbook covers an up-to-date array of topics that includes social identity, technology, and civility and dissent.
The International Handbooks of Teacher Education cover major issues in the field through chapters that offer detailed literature reviews designed to help readers to understand the history, issues and research developments across those topics most relevant to the field of teacher education from an international perspective.
The Handbook of Research on Critical Thinking and Teacher Education Pedagogy examines and explains how new strategies, methods, and techniques in critical thinking can be applied to classroom practice and professional development to improve teaching and learning in teacher education and make critical thinking a tangible objective in instruction.
The Handbook of Research on Educator Preparation and Professional Learning examines pedagogy for educator preparation and growth for classroom expertise. This book features a wide array of topics such as online environments, project-based learning, and urban education.
The Handbook of Research on Service-Learning Initiatives in Teacher Education Programs provides emerging research on the methods and techniques for educators to strengthen their knowledge regarding the intersection of service learning and field placements. While highlighting topics, such as cultural competency, teacher development, and multicultural education, this book explores the benefits, challenges, and opportunities for employing community service as the driving framework for field experiences.
With chapters written by leading researchers from around the world, this volume examines learning and instruction in a variety of learning environments including in classrooms and out of classrooms, and with a variety of learners including K-16 students and adult learners. Contributors to this volume demonstrate how and why educational practice should be guided by research evidence concerning what works in instruction.
The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive overview of the field; it contains alphabetically organized entries that address important concepts, ideas, terms, people, organizations, publications, and research studies specifically related to middle grades education.
The Handbook of Research on Pedagogical Models for Next-Generation Teaching and Learning examines the most effective and efficient techniques for implementing new educational strategies in a classroom setting, featuring pertinent topics including mixed reality simulations, interactive lectures, reflexive teaching models, and project-based learning.
The Handbook of Research on Promoting Cross-Cultural Competence and Social Justice in Teacher Education elucidates the benefits, challenges, and strategies necessary to prepare teachers to meet the needs of a diverse student body. Featuring the newest research and pedagogical tools written by diverse scholars in the field of teacher training...
The Handbook of Research on Teacher Education and Professional Development investigates current initiatives and approaches in educational programs. It focuses on research studies and theoretical concepts on innovative projects related to teacher education and professional development programs.
The Handbook of Research on Transforming Mathematics Teacher Education in the Digital Age features the latest research on the development of educators' knowledge for the integration of technologies to improve classroom instruction.
The Handbook of Research on Leadership Experience for Academic Direction (LEAD) Programs for Student Success explores the many facets of the teaching profession as they relate to working with at-risk youth and helping them reach their full potential.
The International Handbook of Progressive Education engages contemporary debates about the purpose of education, presenting diverse ideas developed within a broadly conceived progressive education movement. It calls for a more critical and dynamic conception of education goals as a necessary element of a healthy society. The scope is global, with contributing authors and examples from around the world.
The burgeoning multidisciplinary field of social and emotional learning (SEL) now has a comprehensive and definitive handbook covering all aspects of research, practice, and policy. The prominent editors and contributors describe state-of-the-art intervention and prevention programs designed to build students' skills for managing emotions, showing concern for others, making responsible decisions, and forming positive relationships.
Teacher beliefs play a fundamental role in the education landscape. Nevertheless, most educational researchers only allude to teacher beliefs as part of a study on other subjects. This book fills a necessary gap by identifying the importance of research on teacher beliefs and providing a comprehensive overview of the topic.