Photography research guide: Find images
Researchers will discover e-books, full-text articles, images and digital collections in the areas of photography and the history of photography.
Image resources
- ARTSTORNow part of JSTOR. Over 3 million high-quality images covering multiple disciplines. Rights have been cleared and images can be used in papers and presentations.
- Visual Resources Center's ImagebaseCollection of approximately 200,000 images which are used for research and teaching at Stanford. Download available.
- Magnum PhotosInternational photographic cooperative with many famous members.
- Camera WorkDigitized version of very important early journal edited by Alfred Stieglitz.
- Cantor CollectionsWorks from the permanent collection only. Some records include bibliography in addition to object information.
- Timelines of art from the Metropolitan Museum of ArtIncludes thematic essays on photography
- Google ImagesYou can limit your search on the Advanced Image Search page by size, color, filetypes, domains, and usage rights.
- Art+Design Tumblr site from Drexel UniversityExplore visual arts and design on this blog.
- EuropeanaEuropeana.eu is a digital library containing 4 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. Search by collections, filter by availability.
Digital collections of photographs from Special Collections
- Spotlight at StanfordNote the Carleton Watkins, Andy Warhol and Bob Fitch collections in particular.
Museums and collections
- Museum of Modern Art MoMASearch by photographer.
- Eastman HouseThe photography collection at the George Eastman Museum, among the oldest and best in the world, comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day.
