For detailed information on all upcoming Silicon Valley Archives events please refer to this comprehensive calendar.

The Silicon Genesis collection gathers together roughly 100 oral histories and interviews with the people who conceived, built and worked in the semiconductor industry centered in Silicon Valley since the 1950s. The project to produce these interviews began in 1995 and continues actively today. They are available in this exhibit as streaming video files. Note that lightly edited transcriptions of the audio from the interviews are added within a few months after the video recordings have been posted. These transcripts are available via the download icon for an interview below the video playback window.

This exhibit pulls together several collections of faculty papers, administrative records, publications, photographs, and audio and video recordings documenting the history of computer science at Stanford. More materials will be added as they are digitized and processed.

The Edward A. Feigenbaum Papers collection primarily concerns his work in artificial intelligence at Stanford University and includes administrative files, correspondence, project files, trip files, proposals, reports, reprints, Artificial Intelligence Lab memos, audio tapes, video tapes, and files on computer programs, including EPAM, DENDRAL, MOLGEN, MYCIN, and others.

The rich archival documentation available in the Stanford Libraries on the history of artificial intelligence includes important film, video and audio resources, as well as traditional print materials and even early computer files. These materials provide access to a variety of events and activities from Stanford, Silicon Valley, or the artificial intelligence community as a whole, including tours of labs and project, robots in action, and public lectures, to name only a few examples. These materials were captured in both non-digital formats, such as film, audio tape, and text, as well as digital files from the Stanford Artificial Intelligence Laboratory and Stanford University Medical Experimental Computer Resource (SUMEX) project.

This collection includes research outputs from Stanford-associated researchers on the wide variety of topics and fields under investigation at Stanford University, including statistics, engineering, biology, chemistry, social sciences, humanities, medicine, physics, geosciences, and the environment.