History of science and technology: Introduction to the History of Science and Technology Collections
A guide to collections in the Stanford Libraries, featuring the Silicon Valley Archives
History of Science and Technology at Stanford
The History of Science and Technology Collections in the Stanford Libraries support research and instruction in the history of science and technology and related fields. The goal of these collections is to identify, preserve, and make the documentary record of science and technology available to students, scholars, and the general public.
The resources presented in this guide, both physical and digital, are a small selection from those available in the Stanford Libraries. To look for resources not contained in this guide, begin with SearchWorks, the online catalog of the Stanford Libraries. If you have further questions, please reach out to us.
Henry Lowood is the Harold C. Hohbach Curator for History of Science & Technology Collections and Film & Media Collections in the Stanford University Libraries. You can find Dr. Lowood in the Humanities and Social Sciences Group in Green Library, the Department known for the Lane Reading Room and a wonderful group of colleagues.
Leslie Berlin is Project Historian for the Silicon Valley Archives at Stanford University. She has been a Fellow at the Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences and served on the advisory committee to the Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. Leslie has been a “Prototype” columnist for The New York Times and has commented on Silicon Valley for the Wall Street Journal, NPR, PBS, the BBC, The Atlantic and Wired, among other outlets.