Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesPWR 1EE: Prowling toward certainty: exploration as argument: Find background and reference sources
A guide for students in the PWR course on ambivalence taught by Erik Ellis
Where should you look?
In most STEM fields, and in most of the quantitative social sciences, the format of articles (or conference papers, especially in computer science) is the most important way to find scholarly information about a research topic. In the humanities and other social sciences, books, also called monographs) are usually more important.
I have highlighted a few books and article databases of possible interest below. There may be other places besides these that are better for you. If you need help, visit the "Getting reference assistance" tab to find support.
Selected article databases
- ScopusScopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- Web of science--all databasesWeb of Science All Databases (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- arXiv.orgE-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. ArXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.
Selected books from our collection
Coming Soon!
