Reference sources (otherwise known as reference resources, or background sources) are designed to help you find specific types of information quickly. 

Use reference sources to:

• get keywords and names for more effective advanced searching
• read a quick overview of a new subject
• find key facts and background information that will help you assess other resources
• learn definitions of important words or concepts
• see suggestions for more sources about your topic (including the best-known sources).

Use reference sources before launching into more detailed sources like journal articles and books -- and check back as you dig more deeply into your topic.

Types of reference 

• Multipurpose reference sources (a starting point for your research)

  • Reference Universe: Find Reference Books in OUR LIBRARY that have articles or index entries on your topic, with links to fulltext when available.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • Oxford Reference

• Dictionaries

  • Oxford English Dictionary

  • Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary

• Subject Specific Dictionaries/Encyclopedias: This is a small sample of the hundreds of print and online dictionaries and encyclopedias available at Stanford. To find more, try a keyword search in the Searchworks catalog for Dictionary (or Encyclopedia) + your topic.

  • Oxford Dictionary of Psychology

  • Psychology Basics

  • Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice

  • Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology

• Statistics: Use statistics, almanacs and yearbooks when you want to find numbers or facts on a topic. Almanacs contain facts and statistics, focusing on a particular country or subject area. Yearbooks contain facts and statistics from a particular year. Here are some recommended sources. To find more, type your topic in the Searchworks catalog search box and add "almanac" or "yearbook" to your search.

  • United Nations Statistical Yearbook                   • Statistical Abstracts of the World

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States             • International Historical Statistics

  • The World Almanac and Book of Facts              • Statista

  • Proquest Statistical Insight