The exhibit was inspired by Astrid Usong and created by several library staff in response to the anti-Asian hate crimes in Atlanta, Georgia, throughout the United States, and the rise in elder abuse right in our own Bay Area neighborhoods. The online exhibit includes stories of victims whose lives were taken due to recent anti-AAPI hate crimes and of AAPI activists; a timeline, documenting instances of systemic racism against AAPI in the Unites States; points of unity and discord within the Asian American and African American groups; as well as a list of resources to gather more information around these topics.
There is a link to an extensive "Timeline of Systemic Racism Against AAPI" that was complied in consultation with Subject Specialists at Stanford's Libraries.
Anti-Chinese riots article by Geo. Kinnear. The Seattle riot of 1886 occurred in February 1886, in Seattle, Washington, amidst rising anti-Chinese sentiment caused by intense labor competition and in the context of an ongoing struggle between labor and capital in the Western United States.
The Chinese massacre in 1885, was one of the most significant acts of violence against Chinese Americans. It occurred in the mining town of Rock Springs, Wyoming on September 2 and 3, 1885, in which white miners attacked Chinese miners, set fire to their homes, and killed approximately 28 people. The next day, all 500 Chinese miners were driven out of the town. Many perpetrators were arrested but released and no one was ever convicted of the violence at Rock Springs. This item is available from the Widener Library, Harvard University
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 530,000 primary source materials drawn from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. The materials in the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive are pulled from our voluminous holdings and reveal the multifaceted experience from this complex time in US history. Users can explore these personal materials about the daily lives of Japanese Americans while in the confinement sites during World War II.
Over 2,200 Korean-owned businesses were looted, completely destroyed, or damaged, during the LA riots, causing an estimated $400 million in damages. Riots broke out across Los Angeles after the acquittal of four LAPD officers who were videotaped beating Black motorist Rodney King after a car chase.
Gidra chronicled the dramatic changes in the Asian American community, and was itself a catalyst for many of these changes. For many people, this monthly newsletter was the voice of the Asian American Movement. The roots of Gidra stem from a group of students at UCLA who approached the administration about starting an Asian American community newspaper in 1969. Gidra is now available in the Densho Digital Repository.
The Densho Archives contain primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration. The archives are growing as Densho continues to record life histories and collect images and records. We provide these resources to students, teachers, researchers, and the general public for educational purposes
The Readex database, America's Historical Newspapers is a great resource for Anti-Asian Violence. There are also the PQ Papers (including San Francisco Chronicle, but this only goes up to 1925). There are other papers that offer a perspective from the Asian American movement of the 1960s and 1970s; one really important one is Gidra that was produced in LA. See also LA Times, as well as the new databases Newspapers.com and Newspaperarchive.com
When searching it is important to try to use search terms that 19th century and early 20th century writers may have used--such as, "Asiatic" or "Chinamen," even though previous terminology is recognized as offensive today, when searching historical resources these may retrieve more results as part of the strategy.
On April 29, 1992, chaos erupted on the streets of Los Angeles after a mostly white jury acquitted four Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) officers in the beating of a Black motorist, Rodney King. The uprising came also in response to the murder of Latasha Harlins, a Black teen, by a Korean immigrant and shop owner, Soon Ja Du. This collection contains the records of two independent commissions that investigated the LAPD in the wake of the King beating and the 1992 riots. The collections comprise some 90 boxes of audio and video recordings of interviews, court transcripts, internal LAPD documents, and other materials that are accessible through the USC Digital Library.
As a consequence of the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the United States’ subsequent declaration of war against Japan, President Franklin D. Roosevelt issued Executive Order 9066 on February 19, 1942. This order authorized the US military to incarcerate Japanese Americans and those of Japanese descent living in the West. The Federal Government assembled over 120,000 people hailing from as far south as Arizona to the furthest reaches of the northwest into ten internment camps. The largest and most historically significant of these camps was the Tule Lake Segregation Center.
An essential collection of the core primary texts of the Asian American experience including critical sources that shed new insight into the lives of diverse Asian Americans, past and present. These core primary texts draw from a wide range of fields, from law to visual culture to politics, covering key historical and cultural developments that enable students to engage directly with the Asian American experience over the past century. The primary sources, organized around keywords, often concern multiple hemispheres and movements, making this compendium valuable for a number of historical, ethnic, and cultural study undergraduate programs.
Anti-Asian Violence in North America by Patricia Wong Hall (Editor); Victor M. Hwang (Editor); Ritz Chow (Contribution by); Misa Kawai Joo (Contribution by); Mavis K. Lee (Contribution by); Eric Mar (Contribution by)
Discusses the impacts of racial crime, exploring the relationship between the physical or verbal acts to issues of ethnic identity, civil rights of immigrants, Internet racism, sexual violence, language and violence, economic scapegoating, and police brutality. This work offers suggestions for combating hate crime.
Yellow Peril! by John Kuo Wei Tchen; Dylan Yeats
From invading hordes to enemy agents, a great fear haunts the West! The "yellow peril" is one of the oldest and most pervasive racist ideas in Western culture--dating back to the birth of European colonialism during the Enlightenment. Yet that prejudices still persists in modern culture. Yellow Peril! is the first comprehensive repository of anti-Asian images and writing, and it surveys the extent of this iniquitous form of paranoia. Replete with paintings, photographs, and images drawn from pulp novels, posters, comics, theatrical productions, movies, propagandistic and pseudo-scholarly literature, and a varied world of pop culture ephemera, this is both a unique and fascinating archive and a modern analysis of this crucial historical formation.