This book's unique and compelling framework empowers you to practice self-care through thoughts and actions that are within your control, enhancing your well-being without taking on extraneous responsibilities.
Designed for everyone involved in the educational system--including district administrators, teachers, students, parents, and the business community--this book provides a practical plan with steps to harmonize whole-school health, including sustainable growth in student character development, improvement of organizational health, and reduction of violence and other threats to education.
Establish a compassionate cultural foundation for strong relationships and holistic skills to weather stress, trauma, and promote well-being for your entire school population by leaning into this approach to leadership and social emotional learning.
In her new book, Lesley Koplow explores the Emotionally Responsive Practice (ERP) approach designed to support children and teachers' emotional well-being in the public-school setting. ERP encourages school staff to look at children through the lens of child development, as well as through the lens of their life experiences, in order to help them resolve foundational social and emotional milestones. Unlike many SEL programs, ERP asks adults to consider the ways that educational philosophy and school climate impact emotional, social, and cognitive outcomes for young children.
Today's teachers face a daunting challenge: how to ensure a positive school experience for their students, many of whom carry the burden of adverse childhood experiences, such as abuse, poverty, divorce, abandonment, and numerous other serious social issues. Spurred by her personal experience and extensive exploration of brain-based learning, author Marilee Sprenger explains how brain science--what we know about how the brain works--can be applied to social-emotional learning.
Student learning communities (SLCs) are more than just a different way of doing group work. Like the professional learning communities they resemble, SLCs provide students with a structured way to solve problems, share insight, and help one another continually develop new skills and expertise.With the right planning and support, dynamic collaborative learning can thrive everywhere.
Owning Up provides the tools to own up and take responsibility for unethical behavior and to treat yourself and others with dignity. This bigger, comprehensive edition features: three flexible, dynamic curricula separated by grade; a new chapter on successfully implementing a social and emotional learning program in every school; more games, role-playing activities, and provocative discussion questions to use in co-ed or single-sex groups; even more lessons and resources, updated to address social media, bystanding, and how young people can develop strong, healthy relationships with adults.
This call to action for educators examines how childhood trauma impacts cognitive, emotional and social development, and offers perspectives and strategies for fostering trauma-sensitive school cultures. Strong evidence indicates the central problems that underlie many behavioral and emotional obstacles to learning are rarely identified by educators. When these issues are properly understood and addressed, teachers, administrators and parents can more effectively serve students' emotional and social needs, resulting in dramatic improvement in academic outcomes, attendance, teacher retention and parental involvement.
Designed for both explicit instruction and "learning by doing," this practical guide provides hands-on activities that are easily adapted into any curriculum and can be used in general education, special education, after-school settings, and in the home. The design of each game keeps kids engaged and motivated, while educators benefit from clear, thorough explanations that unpack the complexities of social learning.
Cases on Emotionally Responsive Teaching and Mentoring provides a collection of case studies from former classroom teachers who now work with pre-service teachers to provide an understanding of the expectations and outcomes of teaching through actual K-12 teaching experiences, featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as cultural identity, teacher development, and learner diversity.
In this highly practical and eminently readable book, Thomas R. Hoerr shows teachers, administrators, and other school staff how to integrate the Formative Five success skills--empathy, integrity, self-control, embracing diversity, and grit--with school culture essentials...
While social and emotional learning (SEL) is most familiar as compartmentalized programs separate from academics, the truth is, all learning is social and emotional. What teachers say, the values we express, the materials and activities we choose, and the skills we prioritize all influence how students think, see themselves, and interact with content and with others.
Research on the brain has shown that emotion plays a key role in learning, but how can educators apply that research in their day-to-day interactions with students? What are some teaching strategies that take advantage of what we know about the brain? Engage the Brain answers these questions with easy-to-understand explanations of the brain's emotion networks and how they affect learning, paired with specific suggestions for classroom strategies that can make a real difference in how and what students learn.
Open and Social Learning in Impact Communities and Smart Territories discusses the learning processes in impact communities and in smart territories through case studies and other research methods, featuring research on topics such as learning processes, smart communities, and social entrepreneurship.
"This volume focuses on social and emotional learning (SEL) from a variety of perspectives. The goal of the volume is to offer a clear framing of SEL in relation to other related OST concepts and initiatives. SEL has gained popularity as a concept in recent years and there remains confusion as well as great interest in the meaning and implementation of SEL in out-of-school-time (OST).
In the companion volume to Brave Parenting, Krissy Pozatek, author of The Parallel Process, employs the skills she learned in wilderness therapy to show how teachers can build emotional resilience and regulation and mindfulness in their students, as well as nurture their ability to problem-solve and develop life-skills.
The Be the Jellyfish programme is designed to support schools in nurturing the social and emotional wellbeing of children in their care. The lessons are structured around sensory relaxation and include relaxing exercises in breathing, visualisation, and massage.
This volume presents different conceptual and theoretical frameworks as well as research methods that have helped educational researchers to study emotions. It includes innovative approaches that push the methodological boundaries that have served educational researchers until now and proposes new ways of researching emotions in educational contexts.
This book attempts to define non-cognitive traits, ways to measure them, impact of non-cognitive factors and how they can affect the positive outcomes in academic achievement, influence in employability, and success in social life. The information contained in this book provides knowledge growth and current thinking about non-cognitive factors and educational strategies that can be effectively used to nurture the well-being of individuals.
Social Stories(tm) are acknowledged as a very successful way of teaching concepts and social understanding to children with autism spectrum disorders, but considerable skill is needed to write the most effective story.
Emotion and Traumatic Conflict takes us through an ethnographic journey into a specific site of conflict to show how emotions are entangled with educational efforts towards peacebuilding, healing, and reconciliation. While sociologists, anthropologists, historians, and political scientists have long analyzed the emotional dynamics of conflict and peace, rarely have educators looked into the emotional complexities of traumatic conflict, the impact of emotion in everyday school interactions and pedagogical practices, and the consequences of the role of emotion in what has become known as "critical peace education."
Research suggests two important roles of emotion related to learning and technology. First, emotion can be the key factor that is being learned or taught through technological means. Second, emotional responses with and through technology can alter what is being learned or how the content is learned. The goal of this volume is to compile and synthesize research that addresses these two perspectives by focusing on the relationship between emotion and learning as facilitated by technology.
Social and emotional learning is at the heart of good teaching, but as standards and testing requirements consume classroom time and divert teachers' focus, these critical skills often get sidelined. In Sharing the Blue Crayon, Mary Anne Buckley shows teachers how to incorporate social and emotional learning into a busy day and then extend these skills to literacy lessons for young children.