"Just inside the school doors from the back parking lot, in the farthest reaches from the school entrance, there is a short corridor that leads to the hallway that houses Washington River High School’s two English Learning classrooms. These classrooms offer both safe sanctuary for the school’s growing population of Latinx students and a troublingly hidden space that allows most of the school and community to maintain the pretense of the generally prosperous, White, neighbor-helping-neighbor place of their myopic nostalgia."

Improving Literacy Through Home, School, and Community Partnerships is a groundbreaking book that unravels the complexities of this challenge and illuminates the transformative potential within collaborative efforts. By delving into the dynamic interplay between home, school, and community, the book offers a roadmap to bridge existing gaps and forge a path toward a more literate society.

Drawing on spiritual principles and Dr. Irvin Scott's experience as a classroom, school, district, and non-profit leader, this book will reinvigorate you and your team as you try to answer your most pressing questions about the future of education, including: How do we empower innovative, servant-hearted educational leaders to meet the needs of students?

From communities of practice to professional learning communities to Networked Improvement Communities (NICs) much has been made in the scholarly and consultancy literature about collaborative approaches to improvement.

The Green Book: For Black Folks in Education is a nonfiction book written for parents and educators to examine best practices for supporting Black children in schools. Dr. Brown addresses topics such as parenting, high expectations, unconscious bias, community, culture, and navigating the traditional American educational system. This book provides a professional and personal lens to view the experiences of Black children in schools.

Partnering with Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Families in Special Education is a collaborative work with families that includes the author's personal reflection at the end of each narrative, as well as guiding questions to continue the conversation, either as a sole reader or with a cohort.

Situated at the intersection of race and civics, this volume discusses how communities of color interpret and enact civics both within and beyond the classroom. Chapters focus on historical and contemporary topics ranging from issues facing Asian immigrant communities to the Black Lives Matter at School curriculum.

Using research from a newcomer school located in New York City, the author explores the everyday lives of nine immigrant students outside of school, showing that youth are not simply waiting for school reforms. Their educational lives are not bound to institutional spaces or the logics of schooling. Instead, youth routinely take up educational practices that are intellectually rigorous, joyous, resilient, and fulfilling.

"This book foregrounds the voices of women in educational leadership to draw on the power of diverse perspectives and to create an environment that better embraces a broad range of leadership styles. Chapters explore formal and informal female educational leadership practices, and examine the methods and approaches used by successful female leaders across West Africa, the Middle East, Europe, and Australia."

This comprehensive book provides a theoretical understanding of how imagination contributes to effective leadership, as well as practical tools all educational leaders can employ to cultivate their imaginations and the imaginations of others in their communities.

Helping Teen Moms Graduate offers practical strategies families, schools, and community organizations can employ to support pregnant and parenting students as they strive to complete their education and reduce the 50% dropout rate.

Meaningful and Active Engagement of Families of Students With Disabilities provides the knowledge, skills, and dispositions for effective engagements of all families with children in special education. With recent changes in student population diversity among those enrolling in special education, the diversity of family compositions in the school system is also evolving. Covering topics such as laws and legal infrastructure, special education, and family engagement, this book is ideal for classroom teachers, administrators, researchers, and students in education programs.

In the realm of education, the vital link between families and professionals has often been hindered by barriers, leaving a gap that undermines student success. Presenting a breakthrough solution, Millicent Musyoka's research book, Meaningful and Active Family Engagement: IEP, Transition and Technology Integration in Special Education , upends the status quo and redefines family engagement. Through this pioneering work, scholars and educators gain a comprehensive guide to navigating the complexities of inclusive education. Musyoka's expertise, spanning multilingualism, multicultural education, and special education, equips readers with strategies to bridge the gap between professionals and families. By spotlighting legislative foundations and proven theories, the book provides a roadmap to turn engagement into meaningful collaboration.

"This timely book advances a new vision for educational justice centered on the leadership activities, organizing efforts, and counternarratives of youth, parents, families, and communities of color and other groups who are seeking to transform local schools and communities across the United States."

"In this book, internationally migrant families invite us to listen to the storylines of their mostly muted voices as they navigate the local schools in their new cultural context. They call us to hear them as they grapple with issues they encounter. They implore us to feel like an outsider and see the school as a foreign culture with language and communication barriers."

Diverse Students, Diverse Outcomes: Portal Schools for Access to Diverse Teaching and Learning proposes ways to preserve our enormous staff and facility investments in order to provide schooling that will help different students learn in different ways and in the process make education much more attractive and engaging for all concerned--and thereby more economical.

The Handbook of Research on Family Literacy Practices and Home-School Connections seeks to understand the connections made and new information learned during the COVID-19 pandemic surrounding family literacy and shares updated practices and new perspectives on what it means to partner with families and embrace diverse family literacies in this new world. The book also provides teachers' perspectives on how future relationships between the school and home can be shaped through both narrative and research-based chapters.

Two months after Hurricane Katrina, Louisiana took control of nearly all the public schools in New Orleans. Today, all of the city's public schools are charter schools. Although many analyses mark the beginning of education reform in New Orleans with Katrina, in Public Schools, Private Governance, J. Celeste Lay argues that the storm merely accelerated the timeline for reforms that had inched along incrementally over the previous decade.

Drawing from the lived experiences of Black parents as they engaged with their children's K-12 schools, this book brings a critical race theory (CRT) analysis to family-school partnerships. The author examines persistent racism and white supremacy at school, Black parents' resistance, and ways school communities can engage in more authentic partnerships with Black and Brown families.

In this eighth volume in the Current Perspectives on School/University/Community Research series, we feature the work of brave educators who are engaged in school-university-community collaborative educational endeavors. Authors focus on a wide range of projects oriented to civic education writ large-some that have been completed and some that are still in progress-but all authors evince the passion for civic education that underpins engagement in the democratic project.

Unfinished Learning follows families as they navigate the challenges of virtual learning, from figuring out how to log on to a sometimes unstable school platform to ensuring that their child's special education needs were addressed. It looks at what data is now showing about which students are (and which students are not) recovering from learning lost during the pandemic. The book also traces the parent activism that arose as a result of school closures.

This practical book provides teachers, teacher educators, and school leaders with concrete strategies for doing community-based work. By reframing the act of teaching to include working for social change, the author pushes readers to see school and community revitalization as reciprocal, not separate, projects.

Making Schools and Families Successful introduces to schools a process that reaches the deeper motivation of students that unifies students and teachers. This process is centered on unique potential and character. Since in character development parents are the primary teachers and the home the primary classroom, the school eventually seeks its natural bond with the family. This School-Family partnership establishes the natural foundation for scholarship.

"At the end of 2019, almost 80 million people had been forced to leave the place they called home "as a result of persecution, conflict, violence, human rights violations or events seriously disturbing public order," according to the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (https://www.unhcr.org/globaltrends2019/). This volume presents the concerted efforts of chapter contributors to alleviate the alienation of those who have been displaced and help them to feel at home in the country in which they have sought refuge."

The Research Anthology on Service Learning and Community Engagement Teaching Practices provides a thorough investigation of the current trends, best practices, and challenges of teaching practices for service learning and community engagement. Using innovative research, it outlines the struggles, frameworks, and recommendations necessary for educators to engage students and provide them with a comprehensive education in service learning.

Through eight compelling stories of restorative literacies, Wolter explores the complex relationships among cognition, metacognition, identity, behavior in schools, and literacies. Based on the principles of restorative justice, restorative literacies are designed to help educators repair harm, restore relationships, and expand the concept of literacy for some of our most disenfranchised and disengaged students.

Cases on Strategic Partnerships for Resilient Communities and Schools is uncovers the problems and pitfalls of creating strategic partnerships between schools and other members of the community in which the schools are situated that include for-profit businesses, not-for-profit entities, and private organizations. The book reveals that schools that are thriving effectively do not do so in isolation but as vibrant members and centers of the communities in which they serve students and families.

Starting from the premise that children learn better when their learning community respects their families and cultures, this thought-provoking resource shows what it means--and what it takes--to include today's diverse parents in their children's learning.

For nearly four decades, Russ Quaglia has been laying the groundwork to inform, reform, and transform schools through student voice. That deep commitment is reflected in this inspirational book.