Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Linguistics: Books and databases
A starting point, to help you find online resources on language acquisition, computational linguistics, historical linguistics, morphology, phonetics, phonology, pragmatics, psycholinguistics, semantics, sociolinguistics, syntax, typology and variation.
Books, journals, databases and other media
Recently published literature
A sampling of recent literature in the field. To limit results to e-resources, select Online under the Access tab to the left of the catalog records.
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Corpora at this site were created by Mark Davies, Professor of Linguistics at Brigham Young University. The corpora have many different uses, including: finding out how native speakers actually speak and write; finding the frequency of words, phrases, and collocates; looking at language variation and change, e.g. historical, dialects, and genres; gaining insight into culture, e.g what is said about different concepts over time and in different countries; designing authentic language teaching materials and resources.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on linguistics. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
"This Hansard corpus (or collection of texts) contains nearly every speech given in the British Parliament from 1803-2005, and it allows you to search these speeches (including semantically-based searches) in ways that are not possible with any other resource"
A database and resource for the paleographic examination of old Russian manuscripts on birch bark dating from the 11th to 15th century discovered at archaeological sites in north west Russia. The site contains texts that requires special fonts (links provided on the site).