Covering an impressive range of local, national and educational contexts, this Research Handbook explores diverse case studies, educational initiatives, approaches and policies that have been developed to support migrant and mobile students, educational professionals and schools. Chapters offer a broad understanding of the multifaceted nature of global migration today, exploring varied theoretical and methodological perspectives, and examining the educational challenges and opportunities presented by migration.

Since its first edition, this handbook has evaluated the methodologies and suggested the best practice to develop effective programs aimed at facilitating cross-cultural dialogue and boosting the economic developments of the countries mostly affected by migration. This handbook builds and expands on the previous editions by presenting the rational and scientific foundations of intercultural training and focuses on unique approaches, theories, and areas of the world. In doing so, it gives students, managers, and other professionals undertaking international assignments a theoretical foundation and practical suggestions for improving intercultural training programs.

The Handbook of Research on Advancing Language Equity Practices With Immigrant Communities explores issues of linguistic and educational equity with immigrant communities around the globe in an effort to improve the teaching and learning of immigrant communities, featuring a wide range of topics such as higher education, instructional design, and language learning.

The Handbook of Research on Assessment Practices and Pedagogical Models for Immigrant Students focuses on research-based pedagogical practices for teaching immigrant students.

The Handbook of Research on Pedagogies and Cultural Considerations for Young English Language Learners presents research-based, theoretical frameworks and best practices for teaching young English language learners. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics and perspectives such as co-teaching, inclusion, and social awareness...

The Handbook of Research on Bilingual and Intercultural Education is an essential scholarly publication that provides comprehensive empirical research on bilingual and intercultural processes in an educational context. Featuring a range of topics such as education policy, language resources, and teacher education...

The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.

The Handbook of Research on Engaging Immigrant Families and Promoting Academic Success for English Language Learners is a collection of innovative research that utilizes teacher professional development models, assessment practices, teaching strategies, and parental involvement strategies to develop ways for communities and educators to create social and academic conditions that promote the academic success of immigrant and English language learners.

The Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected.

This volume is the first authoritative reference work to provide a truly comprehensive international description and analysis of multicultural education around the world. It is organized around key concepts and uses case studies from various nations in different parts of the world to exemplify and illustrate the concepts. Case studies are from many nations, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Spain, Norway, Bulgaria, Russia, South Africa, Japan, China, India, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brazil, and Mexico.