Stanford Libraries' Slavic, East Central and Southeast Europe, and Eurasia Studies collections contain over a million volumes on Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia and the former Soviet Union, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. Because the collections were established in the 20th century, during the Soviet era, they encompass former USSR republics and Eastern Bloc countries within the Soviet sphere of influence. Thus, their historic scope extends beyond the boundaries of Slavic languages and cultures and of Eastern Europe. The collections include material from all disciplines of the humanities and social sciences, in Western languages and in the many vernacular languages of these geographic areas. Our collections are especially strong in Russian literature; Russian, Soviet and Eastern European history (particularly of the 19th-21st centuries); Russian and Polish arts and cultures; education, economics, and political science. The Curator for Slavic, East Central and Southeast Europe, and Eurasia Studies collections provides consultations and instructional sessions for students, faculty, and researchers to help them discover and access resources for their research and teaching.
Stanford Libraries provide access to more than 60 databases and digital archives of sources especially relevant to research on the former Soviet Union and East Central Europe and Eurasia. This is in addition to many interdisciplinary databases that can also provide excellent starting points for research.
Contains more than 50,000 bibliographic citations to scholarly articles, books, etc, relating to Eastern Europe. The cited materials were published in the following West European countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. There are two databases: the first covers materials published 1991-2000; the second covers works published 2001 to present.
Provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries.
An internet library of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe. Search articles, books, publishers, periodicals, and authors.
This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.
The Slavic, East Central European and Eurasian collections at Stanford include a rich variety of special, unique, and rare materials. They include authors' personal archives; limited edition, handmade artists' books; photographs and albums; post-Soviet ephemeral publications; centuries old incunabula and printed books; music; fine art books; children's books; and more.
To explore the collections' more unusual holdings, use SearchWorks' Advanced Search function to select for a range of publication years, specific languages, and specialized libraries (for example, Special Collections, or the Archive or Recorded Sound). To find archival materials at Stanford, start with the Online Archive of California and browse by institution.
Because Slavic, East Central European and Eurasian holdings have long outgrown what can be stored on site in Green Library, a significant portion of the collections is stored offsite (catalog records for materials stored offsite include a link for requesting delivery to campus). To survey a whole range of a collection, select a title, go to its catalog record, and scroll down to the very bottom of the page, where you can "browse" a virtual shelf of books in call-number order, regardless of whether they are on campus or in remote storage.
Keep in mind that the catalog does not represent all of the material available to researchers at Stanford. Books and other materials can be requested from libraries all over the world through Interlibrary Loan Services.
DK1 - DK949.5: History of Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics
DK33 - DK 35.5 Ethnography
DK36 - DK293 History
DK70 - DK112.42 History: Earliest to 1613
DK70 - DK99.7 Rus'
DK99.8 - DK112.42 Muscovy
DK112.8 - DK264.8 House of Romanov, 1613-1917
DK265 - DK265.95 Revolution, 1917-1921
DK266 - DK292 Soviet Regime, 1918-1991
DK500 Regions Not Limited to One Republic, A-Z
DK501 - DK949.5 Local History and Description
DK503 - DK503.95 Estonia
DK504 - DK504.95 Latvia
DK505 - DK505.95 Lithuania
DK507 - DK507.95 Belarus. Byelorussian S.S.R. White Russia
DK508 - DK508.95 Ukraine
DK509 Southern Soviet Union
DK509.1 - DK509.95 Moldova. Moldovan S.S.R. Bessarabia-
DK510 - DK651 Russia (Federation). Russian S.F.S.R.
DK541 - DK579 Saint Petersburg. Leningrad. Petrograd.
DK588 - DK609 Moscow
DK670 - DK679.5 Georgia (Republic)
DK680 - DK689.5 Armenia (Republic)
DK690 - DK699.5 Azerbaijan. Azerbaijan S.S.R.
DK751 - DK781 Siberia
DK845 - DK860 Soviet Central Asia. West Turkestan
DK901 - DK909.5 Kyrgyzstan. Kirghiz S.S.R. Kirghizia
DK921 - DK929.5 Tajikistan. Tajik S.S.R. Tadzhikistan
DK931 - DK939.5 Turkmenistan
DK941 - DK949.5 Uzbekistan
P1 - P1091 for Philology and Linguistics
PN1-PN6970 for Literary History and Literary Theory
PG1 - PG585 for General Slavic Philology
General Russian Literature History and Criticism:
PG2900 - PG3026 for General Russian Literature History and Criticism
PG3041 - PG3065 for Russian Poetry History and Criticism
PG3071 - PG3089 for Russian Drama History and Criticism
PG3091 - PG3099 for Russian Prose History and Criticism
PG3100 - PG3155 for Folk Literature
PG3199 - PG3205 for General Collections
PG3211 - PG3219 for Collections of Translations
PG3230 - PG3238 for Poetry Collections
PG3240 - PG3255 for Collections of Dramatic Works
PG3260 - PG3299 for Collections of Prose Works
Works by and about Individual Authors
PG3300 - PG3308 for Works by and about Individual Authors up to 1700
PG3220 - PG3447 for Works by and about Individual Authors 1800-1970
PG3450 - PG3470 for Works by and about Individual Authors 1870-1917
PG3475 - PG3476 for Works by and about Individual Authors 1917-1960
PG3477 - PG3490 for Works by and about Individual Authors 1961-2000
PG3491 - PG3493 for Works by and about Individual Authors 2001-