Research shows that teaching sign language to all young children has a wide range of benefits, from enhancing social-emotional and preliteracy skills to supporting positive parent-child relationships. With Sing & Sign for Young Children, early childhood professionals will have a fun, easy, and highly effective way to teach and practice key ASL sign vocabulary through music and play during everyday classroom routines.
Learn how to navigate the challenging terrain of connecting with a child who is deeply afraid, angry, and/or sad. Framing this work as emotionally responsive teaching (ERT), this book expands current conceptualizations of trauma-informed practice to encompass more broadly the relational demands of supporting young children with challenging life circumstances.
"Theories of Early Childhood Education continues to provide a comprehensive overview of the various theoretical perspectives in early childhood education from developmental psychology to critical studies, Piaget to Freire."
This book offers a counternarrative to neoliberal standardized preservice teacher development and assessment processes. The author examines how a cohort of teacher educators worked alongside their preservice teachers--both groups predominately White and female--to redesign their teacher education program.
This timely collection provides an accessible discussion and analysis of some of the most urgent policy issues facing early childhood care and education in the United States: fragmented policy systems; broad disregard for early years professionals exemplified by low pay; standards that fail to increase equity; and overlooking the role community contexts plays in producing or ameliorating social inequalities among children.
This book illuminates the complexities of social and emotional learning (SEL) during early childhood and provides readers with supportive tools to enhance and advance social and emotional skills among young children within their homes and classrooms.
Based on Virginia Axline and Garry Landreth's play therapy, this book is an operational and practical guide on using play therapy to strengthen your holistic learning development and relationships with students. Chapters offer practical responsive interventions for children with behavioral and academic challenges and preventative practices.
The New Leader's Guide to Early Childhood Settings explores how to empower educators and caregivers, advocate for early intervention, promote culturally responsive teaching, and confront common fears and hurdles. Packed with helpful resources and strategies, chapters feature key tips about effective communication, leveraging technology, and questions for reflection.
This volume in the STEM for Our Youngest Learners Series uses Ramps and Pathways as a context to provide children ages 3-8 with opportunities to engage in STEM every day. Ramps and Pathways is a meaningful and fun way for children to develop engineering habits of mind as they explore concepts in force and motion, properties of objects, and how an object's properties affect its movement.
This volume disrupts mental models regarding where the work of early care and education began--with enslaved African women--and how the stigma of that beginning relegates present-day child care workers to a low-status, low-wage field of practice. Expert authors contribute their wisdom, experience, research, and practical knowledge on issues related to equity and social justice.
Providing readers with a robust, practical understanding of how young children build knowledge, this book offers a critical examination of the ways traditional homework fails young children, and how alternatives can better build collaborative engagement with families while supporting learning across all content areas.
Literacy educators are often unequipped to help young children contend with the world we inhabit, where linguistic, literate, and cultural pluralism are not always valued or sustained. In fact, educators are routinely bombarded by programs that position literacy as a simple, one-size-fits-all practice. This resource will help pre-K-3 teachers create and interpret literacy teaching processes, practices, and spaces that honor and extend children's fullness.
This book analyses and synthesises past and current approaches to STEM Education in the Early Years, particularly the role of digital technologies and play based pedagogies, and provides a look forward to a new way of conceiving STEM Education.
Now in its second edition, this popular text explores classrooms where technology and critical literacies are woven into childhood curricula and teaching. Using real-world stories, it addresses what ICTs afford critical literacy with young children, and how new technologies can be positioned to engage in meaningful and authentic learning.
Designed to assist educators of young children in building awareness of their roles as members of a global community in an increasingly divided world, this essential guide is an illuminating resource which answers the question: Is it possible to teach global citizenship in the first five years of life? Global Citizenship Education for Young Children takes a close look at the practice of two preschools with vastly different histories, curricula and demographics and introduces readers to the range of possibilities that exist within early childhood global citizenship education.
This collection brings together a diverse group of scholars from throughout the world who have grappled with and investigated the impact of the COVID-19 crisis on the lives of young children. Profound changes have occurred in all facets of early childhood education and care (ECEC). Young children and their families, college students enrolled in teacher preparation programs, inservice teachers/caregivers, and postsecondary faculty have endured prolonged periods of quarantine, disruption, stress, and grief precipitated by the pandemic.
This edited book provides an overview of unstructured and structured play scenarios crucial to developing young children's awareness, interest, and ability to learn Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) in informal and formal education environments. The key elements for developing future STEM capital, enabling children to use their intuitive critical thinking and problem-solving abilities, and promoting active citizenship and a scientifically literate workforce, begins in the early years as children learn through play, employing trial and error, and often investigating on their own.
Put math manipulatives to work in your classroom and make teaching and learning math both meaningful and productive. Whether physical or virtual, commercial or home-made, manipulatives are a powerful learning tool to help students discover and represent mathematical concepts.
Children are growing up with technologies as part of their daily lives at home and in school. For educators, it is important to understand how to use technologies to promote learning in developmentally appropriate ways. This book helps you make thoughtful, informed decisions that will enhance what you are already doing to support children's learning.
This book highlights contemporary questions around Early Childhood Education in Finland. It explores a range of issues relating to policies and practices in Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC). The book features many aspects of the so-called Nordic model that is evident in different practices and policies of the Finnish ECEC system. Among others topics, it discusses playful learning, storycrafting, scientific literacy, pedagogical leadership, family-related variables, and Sami language learning.
The Handbook of Research on Adapting Remote Learning Practices for Early Childhood and Elementary School Classrooms is a critical resource to assist teachers as they develop online teaching practices and work to cater to young students so that they can receive the strongest benefits from their education. Through coverage of topics such as hybrid learning and parental involvement, paired with sample lesson plans, course formats, concepts, ideas, and additional components to further the body of research pertaining to remote learning, this book is tremendously beneficial to administrators, researchers, academicians, practitioners, instructors, and students.
The premiere book in the STEM for Our Youngest Learners Series introduces the Infant Toddler Inquiry Learning Model, a new way to think about how young children (birth-age 3) explore, think, and learn STEM concepts. The book also demonstrates how the Inquiry Teaching Model can guide teachers in implementing STEM experiences for this age group.
The book provides a comprehensive analyses of Vygotsky's and Piaget's theories implementation in modern preschool education. It analyzes the problem of the relationship between the natural and the cultural in the context of Vygotsky and Jean Piaget theories.
This book approaches STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Mathematics) in early childhood education from multiple angles. It focuses on the teaching and learning of children from two years of age to the early years of school. Proponents of STEAM describe how it can create opportunities for children to learn creatively, and various chapter authors make strong connections between discipline areas within the context of an informal curriculum.
In her new book, Lesley Koplow explores the Emotionally Responsive Practice (ERP) approach designed to support children and teachers' emotional well-being in the public-school setting. ERP encourages school staff to look at children through the lens of child development, as well as through the lens of their life experiences, in order to help them resolve foundational social and emotional milestones. Unlike many SEL programs, ERP asks adults to consider the ways that educational philosophy and school climate impact emotional, social, and cognitive outcomes for young children.
Engage students in mathematics using growth mindset techniques The most challenging parts of teaching mathematics are engaging students and helping them understand the connections between mathematics concepts. In this volume, you'll find a collection of low floor, high ceiling tasks that will help you do just that, by looking at the big ideas at the first-grade level through visualization, play, and investigation.
Physical Education Initiatives for Early Childhood Learners offers globalized educational practices, didactic approaches, and proposals for intervention around motor development in the children ages 0-6 years. The book specifically explores laterality, coordination, relaxation, rhythm, etc. and how these are achieved through games, music, and motor stories.
"Anxiety is the biggest mental health problem in children, and research tells us it's on the rise. Modern life creates many challenges and pressures for them and the Covid-19 pandemic has only added to this growing problem. Tackling Anxiety in Schools supports all children to get into good habits of recognising their feelings of anxiety, and equips them with a repertoire of coping strategies they can use in their day to day lives."
This book follows four emergent bilingual students in an English-medium pre-kindergarten in the US as they navigate the social and linguistic demands of school. It illustrates how students' differing classroom social positions shaped their participation in interaction and, in turn, their English language learning across a school year. With a unique focus on both processes and outcomes, the book highlights language strategies that are overlooked if the focus is solely on one language or on group participation, and it emphasizes the importance of assessment choice in shaping which learners appear to be successful.
At a time of growing evidence of racism across many countries and cultures, Creating an Anti-Racist Culture in the Early Years will help those working with young children recognise racism, name it for what it is and help their young pupils understand that difference is nothing to be feared.
This book spotlights The Student Empowerment Program(c) and is the foundation for a positive climate and culture in the early childhood classroom. The program is detailed chapter by chapter and addresses the nature of the learner from play and exploration to technology, to rubrics and assessments.
Discover what math teaching and learning looks like in the playful, emergent environment of the early childhood classroom. Every day, children explore math concepts in their conversations and interactions. You can build on that natural curiosity by engaging children in meaningful, complex math learning opportunities that are grounded in their observations and questions.
International Perspectives on Modern Developments in Early Childhood Education identifies ways of intertwining key areas of early childhood education, including international approaches, intercultural education, bilingual/plurilingual education, and the role of play and toys as means for meaningful intercultural and multilingual learning.
Professional and Ethical Consideration for Early Childhood Leaders crafts an overall understanding of the importance of early childhood leadership in today's schools. The book employs strategies to improve support for children in early childhood years, examines the different roles of early childhood leadership, analyzes best practices for implementation in early childhood contexts, and explores improvements for leadership preparation for schools with pre-k through third-grade children.
To help students experience joy and discovery, while also preparing them for future schooling, we need to understand the connection between how they develop and how they learn. Pica brings decades of experience in education to advocate for this change.
Cultivating a Culture of Nonviolence in Early Childhood Development Centers and Schools aims to expand and deepen multicultural nonviolent teaching techniques and concepts to achieve desired outcomes for early childhood development centers, schools, institutions of higher learning, and centers of teacher development and training.
Early Childhood Development: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications is a reference source for the latest research on the cognitive, socio-emotional, physical, and linguistic development of children in settings such as homes, community-based centers, health facilities, and school.
This report discusses policies and practices that shape quality and equity in early childhood education and care. It examines how the work environment, including the educational background of staff, and the policies that shape teaching approaches affect the quality of the education provided to our youngest learners.
Mobile Learning Applications in Early Childhood Education is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of mobile learning techniques and strategies within diversified teaching settings.
In the first years of life, as children observe, imitate, and interact with people and their environment, the brain is structuring a foundation for vocabulary, values, cognitive processes, and social skills. Educators, you can help influence that development by teaching the skills and dispositions of intelligent, creative, effective decision makers and problem solvers.
With contributions from leading researchers across many disciplines, this book emphasizes key interventions and practices over the first decade of life and the elements and strategies through which gains can be enhanced by schools, families, communities, and public institutions.
All children are born with emotional talent. But if left untended, those talents can wane during the first five years of life. Children are sensitive and social beings from birth, exhibiting an innate enthusiasm for communication that must be satisfied for healthy development. If theirfeelings, agency, and motivations are met with affection, if they are respected and nurtured, then children will respond creatively and that inherent desire for companionship will flourish.
This pithy and practical guide provides early years professionals with the tools to make empathy the foundation for their work. It reveals where the roots of empathy lie, how to prioritise it in practice, and how it manifests itself in young developing brains.
Early Childhood educational research is a constantly evolving field. This book brings together Cathy Nutbrown's considerable knowledge and expertise in the field, to deliver a comprehensive and critical overview of national and international research.
Early Childhood Education From an Intercultural and Bilingual Perspective provides emerging research on the use of play, toys, and games as tools for meaningful multicultural and bilingual education. By highlighting topics such as cross-cultural psychology, classroom management, and second language acquisition, this publication explores the importance of culture in games and play.
"The first years of life lay the foundations for a child’s future development and learning. Many countries have increased their financial support for provision of early childhood education and care (ECEC) over the past years. More recently, the focus of debate has been shifting from expanding access to affordable ECEC to enhancing its quality."
Graceful Leadership in Early Childhood Education is a book to turn to when there is a challenge that needs tackling, when you need a boost of inspiration, or when you just want to reflect on your own journey. Ann shares a graceful approach to being a more capable and effective leader in the field of early childhood.
The focus of this book is on different aspects of leadership and governess for learning in the early childhood education and care (ECEC) sector, which serves children aged 1-5 years. Internationally, the discourse on the ECEC sector is interwoven with the discourse on early intervention, where ECEC is viewed as laying the foundation for lifelong learning, eliminating child poverty, and fostering social inclusion within an increasingly diverse population.
This book demystifies the story retelling experience for teachers of young children by identifying effective, intentional teaching and learning practices and providing a variety of examples for integrating story retelling activities across the curriculum for building skills in social-emotional development, numbers, STEM, and more.
Updated information and unbiased, developmentally appropriate strategies and activities to celebrate, rather than exclude, diversity, traditions, and holidays. Many programs are establishing a "no holiday" policy, but this book shows you how to celebrate and adhere to school policy.
"The chapters in this volume represent a number of different methods of engaging families in early childhood education. This includes ideas for curriculum, environment, professional education, and method of interac- tion. A major evolution in the work of these family educators is in the recognition that relationships are extremely important to making family involvement work."
Chinese academic traditions take zuo ren--self-fulfillment in terms of moral cultivation--as the ultimate goal of education. To many in contemporary China, however, the nation seems gripped by moral decay, the result of rapid and profound social change over the course of the twentieth century. Placing Chinese children, alternately seen as China's greatest hope and derided as self-centered "little emperors," at the center of her analysis, Jing Xu investigates the effects of these transformations on the moral development of the nation's youngest generation.
Drawing on her extensive practical experience, Liz Williams provides a highly accessible and much-needed guide to promoting positive behaviour in early years settings. In this book, she explains why children may act in the way that they do and how behaviour should be understood differently in children of different ages.
This book is full of research and resources that link academic learning and play experiences. Engage in provocative questions for teachers and administrators to help you effectively share the importance of play in early learning with others, and help restore play to its proper role as both fun and educational.
Discover how to support high-functioning and collaborative teacher teams in early childhood programs by developing healthy and confident team leaders. This manual covers topics of dynamic team teaching including: how to create unified teams, how to become teacher leaders, how to give and receive feedback, and how to build and assess differentiated curriculum.