Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesGeneral Library Guide for PWR1 Coursework: Find background and reference sources
Where should you look?
In most STEM fields, and in most of the quantitative social sciences, the format of articles (or conference papers, especially in computer science) is the most important way to find scholarly information about a research topic. In the humanities and other social sciences, books (also called monographs) are usually more important.
Gathering information and evidence from a variety of primary and secondary sources provides more thorough research.
Primary sources report raw information and provide first-hand evidence of a topic under investigation. Examples include interview transcripts, statistical data, scientific reports, and works of art. Primary research analyzes data that is collected in a process; in other words, the author(s) are reporting on something they themselves have done.
Secondary sources provide second-hand information and commentary from other researchers. Examples include review articles and academic books. Thus, secondary research describes, interprets, or synthesizes information and data collected from primary sources.
| Type | Definition | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Primary | First-hand evidence or investigation of a research topic |
|
| Secondary | Second-hand information that analyzes, describes, or evaluates the information of primary sources. |
|
| Tertiary | Sources that identify, index, or consolidate primary and secondary sources. |
|
Where to find credible sources
A credible source is backed up with evidence and without bias. It is written by a trusted authority on the subject matter and the claims should be refenced with citations that are easy to find, clear, and unbiased. Looking into the trustworthiness of author's citations can help you to find new sources for your own bibliography. Evaluating source credibility enables you to collect accurate information to support your arguments and conclusions.
The sources you use will largely depend on the kind of research you are doing. For preliminary research to get familiar with a new topic, use a combination of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. Some credible starting points are encyclopedias, textbooks, websites with .edu or .gov domains, news sources with first-hand reporting, and research-oriented magazines like ScienceMag or Nature Weekly. As you progress deeper into a topic, move towards scholarly work- that is, peer-reviewed journal articles and manuscripts. Academic journals are considered one of the most reliable sources of information for academic writing.
I have highlighted a few books and article databases of possible interest below.
There may be other places besides these that are better for you and your topic.
If you need help, visit the "Getting reference assistance" tab to find support.
Select Databases
- Access world news the ultimate news archiveAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs
- DimensionsDimensions is a large citation and abstract database that covers all subject areas and provides free access to more than 1.2 billion citations from research publications. Dimensions Plus, a fee-based service, brings together publications, datasets, grants, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
- ERIC the educational resources information center"The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system designed to provide users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature. ERIC, established in 1966, is supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, and the National Library of Education" -- FAQ page.
- Gale Artemis : primary sourcesProvides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and to discover and analyze content in new ways.
- Gale Virtual reference library"Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of eBook reference content in a database format, allowing libraries to choose exactly which titles to make available to their patrons. The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science."--Product overview page.
- KanopyKanopy is a leading distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs) within Australia and this database is a portal to videos which they make available for individual purchase. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Includes also some feature films, including the Criterion collection.
- ScopusScopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- PubMedPubMed is an index to over 5,000 journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) provide a powerful tool for searching topics. Updated daily, covers 1946--present, with some older material.
- Web of science--all databasesWeb of Science All Databases (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Selected books from our collection
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2019ISBN: 9780226494562Publication Date: 2019Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
The Academic Writer's Toolkit by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781598747638Publication Date: 2010-03-25BergerOCOs slim, user-friendly volume on academic writing is a gift to linguistically-stressed academics. Author of 60 published books, the author speaks to junior scholars and graduate students about the process and products of academic writing. He differentiates between business writing skills for memos, proposals, and reports, and the scholarly writing that occurs in journals and books. He has suggestions for getting the OC turgidOCO out of turgid academic prose and offers suggestions on how to best structure various forms of documents for effective communication. Written in BergerOCOs friendly, personal style, he shows by example that academics can write good, readable prose in a variety of genres.
How to use storytelling in your academic writing : techniques for engaging readers and successfully navigating the writing and publishing processes by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781839102820Publication Date: 2021"Good writing skills and habits are critical for scholarly success. Every article is a story, and employing the techniques of effective storytelling enhances scholars' abilities to share their insights and ideas, increasing the impact of their research. This book draws on the tools and techniques of storytelling employed in fiction and non-fiction writing to help academic writers enhance the clarity, presentation, and flow of their scholarly work. Tim Pollock describes the structure, techniques and tools of storytelling, and shows the reader how to apply them in writing the Introduction, Theory and Hypotheses, Methods and Results, and Discussion sections of an article. He also describes how these sections differ for qualitative and theory papers, and addresses how to manage the writing, coauthoring and review processes. In addition, he explains how to use storytelling when writing grant proposals, research statements and cover letters. This book is an invaluable tool for academics at all levels across the business and social science disciplines"-- Provided by publisher
Becoming the Writer You Already Are by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: LB2369 .B69 2023ISBN: 1483374149Publication Date: 2022-11-09Becoming the Writer You Already Are helps scholars uncover their unique writing process and design a writing practice that fits how they work. Author Michelle R. Boyd introduces the Writing Metaphor as a reflective tool that can help you understand and overcome your writing fears: going from "stuck" to "unstuck" by drawing on skills you already have at your fingertips. She also offers an experimental approach to trying out any new writing strategy, so you can easily fill out the parts of your writing process that need developing. The book includes a number of helpful features: Real Scholars' Stories provide insights into overcoming writing barriers; Wise Words from other scholars capture the trials of writing as well as avenues through those trials; and finally Focus Points highlight important ideas, questions, or techniques to consider. The book is ideal for dissertation writing seminars, graduate students struggling with the transition from coursework to dissertation work, scholars who are supporting or participating in writing groups, and marginalized scholars whose write struggles have prompted them to internalize the bias that others have about their ability to do exemplary research.
Write no matter what : advice for academics by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780226461847Publication Date: 2017With growing academic responsibilities, family commitments, and inboxes, scholars are struggling to fulfill their writing goals. A finished book or even steady journal articles may seem like an impossible dream. But, as Joli Jensen proves, it really is possible to write happily and productively in academe. Jensen begins by busting the myth that universities are supportive writing environments. She points out that academia, an arena dedicated to scholarship, offers pressures that actually prevent scholarly writing. She shows how to acknowledge these less-than-ideal conditions, and how to keep these circumstances from draining writing time and energy. Jensen introduces tools and techniques that encourage frequent, low-stress writing. She points out common ways writers stall and offers workarounds that maintain productivity. Her focus is not on content, but on how to overcome whatever stands in the way of academic writing.Write No Matter What draws on popular and scholarly insights into the writing process and stems from Jensen's experience designing and directing a faculty writing program. With more than three decades as an academic writer, Jensen knows what really helps and hinders the scholarly writing process for scholars in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cut down the academic sword of Damocles, Jensen advises. Learn how to write often and effectively, without pressure or shame. With her encouragement, writers of all levels will find ways to create the writing support they need and deserve.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)
Stylish Academic Writing by ISBN: 0674065093Publication Date: 2011-01-01Elegant ideas deserve elegant expression. Sword dispels the myth that you can't get published without writing wordy, impersonal prose. For scholars frustrated with disciplinary conventions or eager to write for a larger audience, here are imaginative, practical, witty pointers that show how to make articles and books enjoyable to read--and to write.
Revise : the scholar-writer's essential guide to tweaking, editing, and perfecting your manuscript by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780300258462Publication Date: 2021A helpful, engaging guide to the revision of scholarly writing by an editor and award-winning author "Pamela Haag has been called 'the tenure whisperer' for good reason. Any scholar who hopes to attract a wider audience of readers will benefit from the brilliant, step-by-step guidance shared here. It's pure gold for all aspiring nonfiction writers."-Nancy MacLean, author of Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America Writing and revision are two different skills. Many scholar-writers have learned something about how to write, but fewer know how to read and revise their own writing, spot editorial issues, and transform a draft from passable to great. Drawing on before and after examples from more than a decade as a developmental editor of scholarly works, Pamela Haag tackles the most common challenges of scholarly writing. This book is packed with practical, user-friendly advice and is written with warmth, humor, sympathy, and flair. With an inspiring passion for natural language, Haag demonstrates how to reconcile clarity with intellectual complexity. Designed to be an in-the-trenches desktop reference, this indispensable resource can help scholars develop a productive self-editing habit, advise their graduate and other students on style, and, ultimately, get their work published and praised.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)
