Palgrave Handbook of African Oral Traditions and Folklore [Stanford users only]
Akintunde Akinyemi, Toyin Falola, editors
Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, [2021]
1 online resource (xlix, 1041 pages) : maps (some color)
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/13866982

Pan-African Writers Association
Has a Newsletter (in English, French, Arabic), workshops, book club, news of literary events. Founded November 1989. Comprises 52 national writers associations on the African continent. Based in Accra, Ghana. https://panafricanwritersassociation.com/

Peace Corps Writers, Bibliography of Books by
Extensive list of books by former U.S. Peace Corps volunteers. Gives the country and years of PCV service. Includes Paul Theroux's books. http://www.peacecorpswriters.org/pages/depts/resources/bibliog/bib.html

Penguin Prize for African Writing
Sponsored by Penguin Books South Africa, it only existed for one year with September 2010 awards for a fiction and non-fiction book. The Internet Archive has archived the site.  The non-fiction prize was won by Pius Adesanmi for You’re Not a Country, Africa!. The fiction prize was won by 
Ellen Banda-Aaku for Patchwork.

Per Ankh Books
"Publishers of accurately researched, historically grounded works of fiction and expository prose focused on Africa." Publishes the works of Ayi Kwei Armah. Based in Popenguine, Senegal. https://perankhebooks.com/

Pilgrimages
Site has no content.  The plan - "The Chinua Achebe Center for African Writers and Artists has chosen to celebrate Africa's first world cup by sending 13 African writers to 13 cities for two weeks during the World Cup. Each writer will produce a book of nonfiction prose, Travel Literature, of 30,000 words, for publication in Africa and abroad." "the writers will first blog their journeys and create momentum online and on mobile phones while the World Cup is taking place." http://www.pilgrimages.org.za/

Pretexts: Literary and Cultural Studies
Ceased publications 2004. Full text is still online through subscription only. Some universities subscribe. Was based in South Africa. https://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/routledg/cpsw

Princeton Ethiopian, Eritrean, and Egyptian Miracles of Mary (PEMM) Project 
1,000+ Miracles of Mary folktales/stories and 2,500+ images painted of the Virgin Mary from African countries. The stories are originally in Ethiopic or Arabic script and published between 1300 and the present.  Includes 2,500 paintings of the Virgin Mary owned by repositories worldwide, digitized Arabic manuscripts and translated (into English) stories, research and lessons and a Bibliography. The Project was directed by Prof. Wendy Laura Belcher. [KF] https://pemm.princeton.edu/

Project Muse Journals
Subscription only; many universities subscribe. Offers full text articles from Callaloo, Africa Today, and other titles. https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3307756

[Quayson] Critic.Reading.Writing with Ato QUAYSON
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=++Critic.Reading.Writing+with+Ato+QUAYSON
YouTube channel by Stanford Professor Ato Quayson

Topics include -
The art and practice of writing

What is Postcolonialism

WHAT IS INTERDISCIPLINARITY? : A View from the Humanities

TONI MORRISON, Beloved (Part 1) - On Slavery and Freedom

ON TRAGEDY: Aristotle, Job, Ophelia

EURIPIDES, Medea: Companionship, Exile, Revenge

CHINUA ACHEBE'S Things Fall Apart

CHINUA ACHEBE’s Arrow of God: The Malaise of Colonial Modernity

WHAT IS GREEK TRAGEDY?

Ato Quayson - on 'Tragedy in Postcolonial Literature'

JOSEPH CONRAD’s Heart of Darkness: Representing Colonial Atrocity

FRANTZ FANON, Black Skin, White Masks and the Black Bodily Schema

J.M. COETZEE’s Waiting for the Barbarians: Moral Residue and the Affliction of Second Thoughts

SHAKESPEARE's The Merchant of Venice: Anti-Semitism as Racism

SHAKESPEARE's Othello: The Question of Race

SHAKESPEARE's The Tempest and the Allegories of Colonialism

TAYEB SALIH, Season of Migration to the North: Orientalist Archetypes as Colonial Desire

TSITSI DANGAREMBGA's Nervous Conditions: The Confluence of Colonialism, Education, and Patriarchy

Research in African Literatures
Subscription required. Many universities subscribe. Published by Indiana University Press. https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/375549 

Sable LitMag (London )
"...international publication, for writers of colour, produced by S.A.K.S. Media." Table of contents online. S.A.K.S. Media offers courses and workshops for writers, sponsors a literary festival. http://www.sablelitmag.org/

Sankofa: A Journal of African Children's and Young Adult Literature
An annual. First issue to be pub. November 2002. Edited by Meena G. Khorana, professor of English and adolescent literature with Brenda Randolph, director of Africa Access. Based at the Department of English and Language Arts, Morgan State University, Baltimore, Maryland. https://sankofajournal.com/

Sehene, Benjamin - Wikipedia
His official site has closed; the Internet Archive has archived some pages. The writer who had to flee Rwanda [in 1963], went to school in Uganda, then to Europe.  HIs official site had a biography, photographs., a bibliography of books and films on Rwanda with comments by Sehene, and a historical chronology to 1994.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_Sehene

[Sembene] Ousmane Sembene, 1923-2007
The "father of African cinema" and writer. Born in Senegal.
Obituaries - BBC (June 10).
Professor Samba Gadjigo's (Mount Holyoke College) - article on California Newsreel.
Profile by Serigne Ndiaye, Fall 1998. On the Emory University, English Department, Postcolonial Studies web site. https://scholarblogs.emory.edu/postcolonialstudies/2014/06/11/sembene-ousmane/
Internet Movie Database entry. His films are distributed by Médiathèque des Trois Mondes (in French, also has a free short film on Sembene) and New Yorker Films.

SIELEC, Société Internationale d’Etude des Littératures de l’Ere Coloniale
Full text articles. Profiles of writers. Publishes a journal, Cahiers; has the table of contents. SIELEC organizes conferences. "Par littératures de l’ère coloniale, nous entendons tous textes ou documents qui ont pu traiter du problème colonial, .......: Récits de voyages et d’exploration, romans inspirés par l’outre-mer, textes produits par les divers agents de la colonisation (administrateurs civils, militaires, missionnaires, enseignants, géographes et autres), textes et discours politiques, littérature de l’esclavage, rapports et relevés d’ethnologie, données d’anthropologie appliquée, littérature pour enfants, B.D. (de Tintin à Tarzan) manuels scolaires, cinéma colonial, iconographie coloniale (cartes postales et affiches), architecture néo-coloniale, musique, peinture (Delacroix, Matisse), etc." Based in Montpellier, France. http://www.sielec.net

Sierra Leone Writers Series (SLWS)
"...launched in Sierra Leone on July 19, 2001. The vision of the SLWS is to provide an answer to the stubborn problem of the scarcity of books in Sierra Leone." Sells books, for each book provides author biography, description of the book, a review by an academic. Has "a database that comprises professionals in diverse fields living all over the world who have interests in Sierra Leone. Its main purpose is to enable a quick search by name, profession, schools and universities attended, etc." http://www.sl-writers-series.org/

Sigauke, Emmanuel - Wealth of Ideas
Literary blog by Zimbabwe writer Emmanuel Sigauke. Discusses many Afican writers and literary events, especially in Zimbabwe and California. Sigauke teaches at Cosumnes River College, Sacramento, CA. http://vasigauke.blogspot.com/

South African Voices
"...oral tales, histories, and poems from among the Nguni peoples: the Xhosa and Zulu in South Africa, the Swati in Swaziland, and the Ndebele in the southern part of Zimbabwe. Collected by Professor Harold Scheub, Department of African Languages and Literature, UW-Madison. From the late 1960s into the 1970s. Text is keyword searchable. Includes audio files. From the University of Wisconsin Library, Madison, Wisconsin. http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/SouAfrVc/

Soyinka, Wole - Stanford Presidential Lectures &  Symposia
Biographical information, a bibliography, excerpts from his books, from interviews with Soyinka, and from reviews of his books, and links to internet resources on Soyinka. Prepared by William McPheron, Curator for American/British Literature, Stanford University library. Soyinka spoke Nov. 30 and Dec. 1, 1998.  http://web.archive.org/web/20011201232136/http://prelectur.stanford.edu/lecturers/soyinka/index.html

Story Time - Weekly Fiction by African Writers
"First published in June 2007, the weekly StoryTime online literary magazine publishes new fiction short stories, and book excerpts, by African writers exclusively. We also publish African Roar, an annual anthology selected from the best of StoryTime's short stories .....These stories are then further extensively workshopped by the African Roar editors with each author to bring about a final anthology. StoryTime is a registered serial publication: ISSN 2072-9359." http://publishyourstory.blogspot.com/
To counter plagiarism there are sites such as plagiarism.org and TurnItIn. A good way to check copying from web sites is to paste passages into the Google search form. You can locate the exact same passages elsewhere on the web.

Tierno Bokar
Site for the play directed by Peter Brook adapted from Amadou Hampate Ba's book, Vie et enseignement de Tierno Bokar: le sage de Bandiagara. The U.S. premiere was at Columbia University. "Tierno Bokar (1875-1939) was a Sufi sage,... and a spiritual leader in his village in Mali. His clan, exponents of repeating a Sufi prayer 12 times, was embroiled in a debate with a rival clan that advocated repeating it 11 times, a debate that devolved into a conflict over power and leadership in the Tijani Sufi Order. Video clips and transcripts of interviews. Site at Columlbia University, New York city. [KF] http://www.tiernobokar.columbia.edu

Transition (New York)
Published by Soft Skull Press, New York city and the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA. "The original Transition got its start in Kampala, Uganda in 1961. The brainchild of a twenty-one-year-old writer of Indian descent named Rajat Neogy, it quickly became Africa’s leading intellectual magazine..."  https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/398999

University of Florida. George Smathers Library - "Papa Mfumu’eto 1er Papers"
In Lingala and French. Over 800 graphic literature titles by Democratic Republic of the Congo comic artist, Papa Mfumu'eto. https://findingaids.uflib.ufl.edu/repositories/2/resources/1447

University of Washington. University Libraries - Karen Morell's Africa, New Orleans, and Trinidad Multimedia Collection
Audio readings by writers, Chinua Achebe, Dennis Brutus,  Kofi Awoonor and Wole Soyinka held in 1973. Interview transcripts. Audio of class discussion. Photographs. https://content.lib.washington.edu/morellweb/index.html

 University of Western Australia. Dept. of French Studies - Lire les femmes écrivains et les littératures africaines / Francophone African Literature
On Francophone African writers, esp. women writers. Includes interviews in French with the writers by the Dept. and from Amina magazine, information on the literature of Benin, Cameroun, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Guinee, Mali, Senegal, Zaire, biographical information on the writers, bibliographies, and a directory of Francophone African book publishers, summaries of books by women authors during the colonial period. Includes an English version. Editor of the site is J. Volet.  https://aflit.arts.uwa.edu.au/

University of the Witwatersrand. School of Literature, Language and Media
The Dept. of Literature "was established in 1983 under Professor Es'kia Mphahlele."  Based in Johannesburg, South Africa. https://www.wits.ac.za/sllm/

Urhobo Waado, Urhobo Historical Society
The website of the Society, formed in 1999, has proverbs in pidgin (youth affairs), names and naming practices, short stories, a series of lectures honoring Mukoro Mowoe by Professor Peter P. Ekeh, Professor Obaro Ikime, and others.  [KF] http://www.waado.org

Verba Africana: E-learning of African Languages and Oral Literatures: DVDs and Internet materials
"to document African oral genres (poems, narratives, songs etc.) for teaching and research." Coordinators are Daniela Merolla, Department of Languages and Cultures of Africa and Jan Jansen, Dept of Anthropology, Leiden University. http://verbafricana.org/index.htm

Voices, Wisconsin Review of African Languages Literatures
Site closed. The Internet Archive has archived the site. Published by the graduate students of the Department of African Languages & Literature, University of  Wisconsin, Madison. The first issue is May/June 1999. Katrina Daly Thompson is the Editor.

Volet, Jean-Marie, "Présentation des documents rassemblés dans ce dossier consacré au dernier livre d'Henri Lopes
Le Lys et le Flamboyant
Site is closed.  Archived by the Internet Archive. In French. Article in the e-journal, Mots Pluriels, No. 7, 1998. Includes an interview with Henri Lopes by Jean-Luc Aka Evy (1997). 

Wagadu, Journal of Transnational Women's and Gender Studies
Online journal, several Africa-related articles - En-gendering Critical Spatial Literacy: Migrant Asante Women and the Politics of Urban Space, by Epifania Amoo-Adare; When Male Becomes Female and Female Becomes Male in Mande, by Kassim Kone; Mariama Bâ's Fictional World, by Siga Fatima Jagne. https://digitalcommons.cortland.edu/wagadu/

Wainaina, Binyavanga - How to Write About Africa
"Always use the word 'Africa' or 'Darkness' or 'Safari' in your title. Subtitles may include the words 'Zanzibar', 'Masai', 'Zulu', 'Zambezi', 'Congo', 'Nile', 'Big', 'Sky', 'Shadow', 'Drum', 'Sun' or 'Bygone'. Also useful are words such as 'Guerrillas', 'Timeless', 'Primordial' and 'Tribal'. Note that 'People' means Africans who are not black, while 'The People' means black Africans." Article in Granta 92: The View from Africa. "Granta magazine publishes new writing—fiction, personal history, reportage and inquiring journalism..." https://granta.com/how-to-write-about-africa/

• See also the New York Times Book review, "A Writer's Beginnings in Kenya" by By ALEXANDRA FULLER, (August 14, 2011, p. 12) of his book, One Day I Will Write About This Place, (Minneapolis, MN: Graywolf Press, 2011).
   

Wasafiri (London)
Important literary magazine with "writers from African, Caribbean, Asian and Black British backgrounds" Subscription required to read the full text of each issue. Some free content online. Began publication 1984. Over 300 libraries have holdings. https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/11971069

Webb, Hugh - "Passionate Spaces : African Literature and the Post-Colonial Context"
Full text of the book. 237 pages. First published in 1991 by Postcolonial Press, Attadale, W. Australia. Includes a bibliography. https://freotopia.org/readingroom/litserv/Webb/contents.html

Women's World. Organization for Rights, Literature and Development
Site is closed. The Internet Archive has archived the site (via University of Texas)
Established 1994. Focused on gender-based censorship and encourages the development of women's presses and journals. Board members included Ama Ata Aidoo (Ghana), and Micere Githae Mugo (Kenya). Has the full text of "The Power of the Word: Culture, Censorhip and Voice" by Meredith Tax with Marjorie Agosin, Ama Ata Aidoo, Ritu Menon, Ninotchka Rosca, and Mariella Sala. Has an Africa Program.  Has articles such as "Women writing for their rights" by Gertrude Fester, "Talking About Feminism in Africa" by Amina Mama, Political Power: the Challenges of Sexuality, Patriarchy and Globalization in Africa" and "Radically Speaking: The Significance of the Women's Movement for Southern Africa" by Patricia McFadden, plus poetry and short stories. [KF] http://www.wworld.org/

World Literature Today (Norman, Oklahoma)
Some free articles. Subscriptions required for all articles.

• Vol. 80, No. 5, Sept.-Oct. 2006 is a special section on Censorship in the 21st Century - Power Demons by Ngugi wa Thiong'o (an excerpt from his novel, Wizard of the Crow), Free Speech in Zimbabwe, by Brian Chikwava, and Zimbabwe's Battle for Press Freedom, by Andrew Meldrum. Review of Skinner's Drift, first novel of Lisa Fugard, daughter of Athol Fugard. Published at the University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK. [KF] http://www.ou.edu/worldlit/
   

World Literature Written in English, Journal of postcolonial writing
Ceased publication in 2004, was continued as the Journal of postcolonial writing.   "devoted to the study of literary and cultural texts produced in various postcolonial locations around the world."   https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/400776

Writing Africa
Formerly James Murua's Literature Blog. Interviews with writers, literary award announcements, literary festivals, new books, podcasts, Youtube channel. http://www.writingafrica.com/

[Zwani]  Brigitta Zwani
Zwani is a writer. Her site lists her books and includes Botswana tourism information. She was a speaker at the 2024 British Zimbabwe Society Book Festival. https://www.brigittazwani.com/

• Brigitta Zwani Trust. "a Botswana-based non-profit organasation looking to make a difference in the diverse communities around the country through heritage and cultural tourism." Based in Francistown, Botswana. https://www.brigittazwanitrust.org/
• Ebooks also from https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Bidgie