Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
France: Race, Class, and Revolt: Finding articles
A guide to provide a start to understanding the complex histories and current issues of race and class in France.
Stanford Libraries has subscription access to English and French-language article databases where you can find historical and up-to-date scholarship. For French language articles, the OpenEdition and CAIRN full-text databases would be good places to start.
Full text database of scholarly journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada). Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
The MLA international bibliography is the standard bibliographic citation index for research in literary and cultural studies. It is maintained by the Modern Language Association and is international and interdisciplinary in scope. It offers direct links to the cited materials, if Stanford has digital access to them.
Full text articles and now ebooks online from French academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes "Que sais-je" and "Repères" series as well as over 10,000 other academic monographs. Links to English language translations of many articles in Cairn International.
Bondy Blog. https://www.bondyblog.fr/ Online journalism outlet created in 2005 response to revolts following the deaths of Zyed and Bouna, with the goal of giving a voice to the voices of the banlieues. Great resource for up to the minute news. Primary source!