Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Stanford University Archives: About the Archives
The Stanford University Archives is the official repository for records of Stanford University and serves as its institutional memory.
About the Stanford University Archives
The Stanford University Archives serves as the University's collective memory. The University Archives collects, preserves, administers, and promotes access to materials in any format that document the history of Stanford, including its founders, administration, faculty, students, and alumni/ae. Our holdings include more than 30,000 linear feet of material and 30+ TB of electronic records within 2,500+ collections.
The University Archives was created in 1965 to collect, preserve, and make available to researchers the historically and legally valuable records of the University and of Stanford community members. These records are broadly defined as all content published or manuscript, text or illustrative, paper or electronic, relating to the University, its various units and individuals.
The University Archives is committed to collecting materials that are inclusive of the broad diversity of our community members. University Archives resources support faculty research for publications and teaching purposes, graduate student dissertations, theses, and course work, as well as undergraduate work. Archives materials are also used in a variety of external research projects, publications, news stories, exhibits, and documentaries. Primary fields of interest are history, higher education, history of science and technology, women's studies, and student life; secondary fields include every academic field taught at Stanford, as archival resources include materials relating to all Stanford departments, programs, and research units.