By understanding the theoretical underpinnings, practitioners can better plan for adjustments because they know how the outcomes they seek are informed by the theory. Engagingly written and perfect for day-to-day use, this book translates state-of-the-art research and interdisciplinary theory into practical recommendations for those working with children and adolescents.
Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs provides educational and psychological researchers, practitioners, policy-makers, and graduate students with critical expertise on the factors and processes relevant to learning for students with special needs.
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions: Working with Disengaged Students provides an understanding of the factors that contribute to student disengagement, methods for identifying students at risk, and intervention strategies to increase student engagement. With a focus on translating research into best practice, the book pulls together the current research on engagement in schools and empowers readers to craft and implement interventions.
With its roots in clinical and educational psychology, school psychology is an ever-changing field that encompasses a diversity of topics. The Oxford Handbook of School Psychology synthesizes the most vital and relevant literature in all of these areas, producing a state-of-the-art, authoritative resource for practitioners, researchers, and parents.
The Handbook of International School Psychology provides a description of the specialty of psychology devoted to the global provision of services to children and youth, their teachers, and parents. Authors from 43 countries provide valuable information and insights regarding the following areas: the context of school psychology; the origin, history, and current status of school psychology; the infrastructure of school psychology; the preparation of school psychologists; the roles, functions, and responsibilities of school psychologists; current issues impacting school psychology; and key references.
The third edition of the Handbook of Educational Psychology is sponsored by Division 15 of the American Psychological Association. In this volume, thirty chapters address new developments in theory and research methods while honoring the legacy of the field's past.
This topical and exhaustively-researched Companion examines the difficulties of defining EBD, and the dangers of allocating this imprecise label to children. Bringing together the work of contributors from fifteen countries and across four continents, this book features the research of leading experts in the global field of EBD, who discuss and debate educators' key concerns by: looking at the overlaps between EBD, ADHD and mental health difficulties; outlining the types of appropriate schooling for children with EBD; urging readers to look beyond pupils' challenging behaviour in order to understand and respond to the social, biological and psychological causation; considering the key areas of assessment, whole-school and targeted approaches that help pupils with EBD in mainstream and in special settings; outlining helpful work with families, the crucial contribution of effective multi-agency working and the importance of supporting and developing teachers who work with challenging pupils.