Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. East Asia-related resources in this collection include:
Country Intelligence Reports on China
Country Intelligence Reports on Japan
Country Intelligence Reports on Korea
German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935
Japan and Korea: Summation of Nonmilitary Activities, 1945-1948
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Political Relations Between China, the U.S. and Other Countries, 1910-1929
Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department
Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941
Records of US State Department’s Division of Chinese Affairs
Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950
Shanghai International Settlement : urban planning and development
Shanghai International Settlement. Shanghai Municipal Council reports, minutes of ratepayers meetings, and Shanghai Volunteer Corps
Shanghai Municipal Council: The Municipal Gazette, 1908-1940
Subject Files of US State Department’s Office of the Republic of China Affairs (1951-1978)
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993

Digitized materials offering an array of Western perspectives and sources on China and Southeast Asia spanning several centuries, from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century.

This collection consists of three groups of early-modern printed and manuscript material relating to Western visitors to Japan. Highlights include an illuminated English copy of 'The Travels of Marco Polo' of c. 1400; the logbook of William Adams (1564-1620), the first known Englishman to reach Japan; the manuscript notebooks of the German physician and naturalist Engelbert Kaempfer (1651-1716); and the 'Historischer Atlas von China' of Heinrich Julius Klaproth (1783-1835)

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries that include the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum and the Massachusetts Historical Society, China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.

The core of China: Culture and Society is the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes. The pamphlets have all been digitised in colour and are full-text searchable. Types of material in the collection include: addresses and speeches, annual reports, assessments, catalogues, essays, examinations, guides and manuals, inquiries and studies, journals, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, minutes of meetings, notes and records.

Based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, this resource provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Formerly called China from Empire to Republic, this is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. It contains two prominent collections: Missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals and Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China.

Offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947. Contains some material related to East and Southeast Asia.

This collection makes available the complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan from 1919 to 1980. The highly varied documents include government memoranda, official correspondence, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports, profiles, economic statistics, records of court cases, eye-witness accounts, etc.

Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Includes memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches and topics of special interest.

Contains the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), one of the first Americans to live in Japan. Contents include Morse's diaries, journals of visits to Europe, personal correspondence, scrapbooks, and records of Morse's publications and lectures.

Over 200,000 pages of documents on the Marshall Mission to China and the Peiping Headquarters Group active in Beijing durin 1945-1946.

A database of previously-published English translations of official edicts and memorials from nineteenth century China's Qing dynasty, spanning from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912.

ECPO joins together several important digital collections of the early Chinese press and puts them into a single overarching framework.

Digital archive of an English-language weekly published in Hong Kong under Japanese occupation from 1941-1945.

Digital archive of the Hongkong Weekly Press, an English-language newspaper published between 1890-1945.

The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902-1940) is the newspaper of record for Japan's engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the 20th century.

Full-text searchable archive of the English-language Japan News in all its various forms - the Daily Yomiuri (1970-2013), the Yomiuri (1958-1970), Yomiuri Japan news (1956-1958), and Japan news (to 1956). Coverage begins in 1955.

American-operated Japan News-Week was the last independent, foreign-owned English-language newspaper published in Japan before World War II. It began publication on November 12, 1938, and continued until the arrest of founder W. R. Wills and managing editor Phyllis Argall by Japanese special police (Tokko) on a charge of espionage in December 1941.

Database of digitized issues of the Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, Japan Times & Advertiser, Japan Times Advertiser, Nippon Times; includes all issues from March 22, 1897 to December 31, 2013.

Archive of these weekly pictorial magazines, covering the years 1938-1944 of these consecutive titles that showcase Japan's martial and geopolitical achievements in the all-out war in China and then in the Pacific War.

An independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea. Content includes news, news aggregator, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and other data about North Korea.

An English-language newspaper published between 1919 - 1922, the North-China Standard (in Chinese, Huabei zheng bao) presented Japan's case for expansion and leadership in Asia to a growing readership in post-WWI China and Japan.

Contains full text of various English-language Chinese newspapers published from 1832 to 1953. Important titles include The North China Herald, China Weekly Review, and Chinese Recorder.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverge of the politics, society and events of the time.

Full-text searching of the Korea Times from 1956-2016.

The Seoul Press (publ. 1907-1937) was Japan’s Korean news flagship, its mission to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising and modernising force in East Asia.

Launched in Tokyo in 1919 as the flagship of the Japan-America Association by Benjamin Fleisher (1870-1946), publisher of the Japan Advertiser, the Trans-Pacific began with a mission to stimulate US-Japan amity. Published monthly, then weekly, and sharing editorial and corporate resources with the Japan Advertiser, the Trans-Pacific soon became that newspaper’s de facto weekly edition, serving up a heady mix of political, cultural and commercial news to forward-looking Japanese and western readerships. A victim of its own success, the Trans-Pacific was bought out by the Japan Times in December 1940, ending its brief but distinguished career in uneasy partnership with the Japan Times Weekly.

This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.

This archive of the Japanese-language Yomiuri shinbun also includes full-text searchable issues of the English-language Daily Yomiuri (now The Japan News) from 1989-present.

Nexis Uni is a database that provides access to a number of contemporary newspapers published in East Asia, many of which have English-language editions. These include Chinese newspapers such as the Beijing Review, China Daily, People's Daily, Shanghai Daily, Shenzhen Daily, and the South China Morning Post; Japanese newspapers such as the Japan Daily Report and the Japan News; and Korean newspapers such as the Korea Economic Daily, Korea Herald, Korea Times, and South Korea Daily Report.

The ProQuest Global Newsstream database allows users to search across a number of international newspapers. Some of the East Asian titles include the Asahi Evening News, Beijing Review, China Daily, Daily Yomiuri, Japan News, Korea Times, Shanghai Daily, and the South China Morning Post.

Contains English-language resources on Chinese law, from the Legal Information Center of Peking University. Includes laws, regulations, rules, judicial interpretations, local regulations, and local rules in more than ninety legal areas. Also contains English translations of judicial decisions, international treaties, official gazettes, legal news, and other resources.

China Law Translate (CLT) is a collaborative translation project dedicated to facilitating communication between Chinese and foreign legal professionals by creating fast and reliable translations of Chinese legal authority.

This online resource contains nearly 1,500 declassified documents on the international relations of the People's Republic of China since 1949. Freely-accessible from the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the database includes diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and other internal documents retrieved from dozens of archives around the world, the vast majority available with English translation.

Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE) is a unique collection of official documents in English, covering various levels of Chinese government, Communist Party of China (CPC) and National People's Congress (NPC) from authoritative sources from 1921 onwards. It is an invaluable resource for research on the history of Communist Party of China (CPC), the Chinese government, and National People's Congress (NPC).

The official English-language website of the State Council includes an archive of laws, statistics, official communications, white papers, policy statements, and other documents.

The unified DB of Korean Social Science Data Center (KSDC) consist of all kinds of statistical yearbooks published by the government, public institutions and overseas institutions. These data are classified and processed through a new data-input system developed by the KSDC, and ready to be used as variables for researches. Uses can easily access this advanced variable-oriented DB, and analyze them statistically on the Website.