This handbook presents a state-of-the-art overview of dual language bilingual education (DLBE) research, programs, pedagogy, and practice. Organized around four sections--theoretical foundations; key issues and trends; school-based practices; and teacher and administrator preparation--the volume comprehensively addresses major and emerging topics in the field.

"Technology-mediated language learning has matured over the past few decades, with various tools and contexts now widely used in language education for all ages and levels. Many of todays language learners have experienced technology as an ever-present feature both within and beyond the classroom, highlighting how the role of technology has expanded into many daily activities, and underscoring how research in Second Language Acquisition (SLA) can inform and support the use of established and emerging technologies."

"The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Writing is the authoritative compendium of theoretical perspectives and empirical developments on how and why the processes involved in writing (planning, composing, reflecting, monitoring, retrieving knowledge, processing feedback) can promote language learning."

The ability to speak two or more languages is a common human experience, whether for children born into bilingual families, young people enrolled in foreign language classes, or mature and older adults learning and using more than one language to meet life's needs and desires. This Handbook offers a developmentally oriented and socially contextualized survey of research into individual bilingualism, comprising the learning, use and, as the case may be, unlearning of two or more spoken and signed languages and language varieties.

The Handbook of Research on Engaging Immigrant Families and Promoting Academic Success for English Language Learners is a collection of innovative research that utilizes teacher professional development models, assessment practices, teaching strategies, and parental involvement strategies to develop ways for communities and educators to create social and academic conditions that promote the academic success of immigrant and English language learners.

The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education presents a comprehensive international reference work of the policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education.

The Handbook of Research on Bilingual and Intercultural Education is an essential scholarly publication that provides comprehensive empirical research on bilingual and intercultural processes in an educational context. Featuring a range of topics such as education policy, language resources, and teacher education...

The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12). Exploring the latest disciplinary and interdisciplinary issues in the field, this is a first-of-its-kind Handbook and contributions are offered from a team of internationally-renowned scholars.

Provides a comprehensive and unique examination of global language learning outside of the formal school setting.

As globalization has increased awareness of the extent of language contact and linguistic diversity, questions concerning bilingualism and multilingualism have taken on an increasing importance from both practical and scholarly points of view. Written by leading experts and practitioners in the field, The Blackwell Guide to Research Methods in Bilingualism and Multilingualism: Highlights the interdisciplinary nature of research on bilingualism and multilingualism and offers a practical guide to the procedures and tools for collecting and analyzing data.

The first edition of ELL (1993, Ron Asher, Editor) was hailed as "the field's standard reference work for a generation". Now the all-new second edition matches ELL's comprehensiveness and high quality, expanded for a new generation, while being the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics.

In this second, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.

This landmark volume provides a broad-based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research into second language teaching and learning.

The Handbook of Research on Advancing Language Equity Practices With Immigrant Communities explores issues of linguistic and educational equity with immigrant communities around the globe in an effort to improve the teaching and learning of immigrant communities, featuring a wide range of topics such as higher education, instructional design, and language learning.

The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.

The Handbook of Research on Pedagogies and Cultural Considerations for Young English Language Learners presents research-based, theoretical frameworks and best practices for teaching young English language learners. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics and perspectives such as co-teaching, inclusion, and social awareness...

This two volume handbook provides a comprehensive examination of policy, practice, research and theory related to English Language Teaching in international contexts. It offers a strongly socio-cultural view of language learning and teaching. It is comprehensive and global in perspective with a range of fresh new voices in English language teaching research.

The Handbook of Advanced Proficiency in Second Language Acquisition offers an overview of the most recent and scientific-based research concerning higher proficiency in second language acquisition (SLA). With contributions from an international team of experts in the field, the Handbook presents several theoretical approaches to SLA and offers an examination of advanced proficiency from the viewpoint of various contexts and dimensions of second language performance.

The Handbook of Second and Foreign Language Writing is an authoritative reference compendium of the theory and research on second and foreign language writing that can be of value to researchers, professionals, and graduate students.

This volume focuses on the main debates and research advances in second language assessment in the last fifty years or so, showing the influence of linguistics, politics, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and psychometrics. There are four parts which, when taken together, address the principles and practices of second language assessment while considering its impact on society.

The Handbook of Research on Integrating Technology Into Contemporary Language Learning and Teaching examines the relationship between language education and technology and the ability to improve language education through technological advances, featuring coverage on a wide range of topics, such as computer-assisted language learning, flipped instruction, and teacher education.

The Handbook of Technology and Second Language Teaching and Learning presents a comprehensive exploration of the impact of technology on the field of second language learning.

The Handbook of Research on Curriculum Reform Initiatives in English Education provides research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of a variety of areas related to English education and reform, as well as applications within curriculum development and instructional design. featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as teachers' roles, teaching methods, and professional development.