Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Race, ethnicity and education: Background information
This guide is designed for those beginning research of how race, racism, ethnicity, ethnic identity, and discrimination based on race or ethnicity impact education. It covers both research and practice.
Past injustice against racial groups rings out throughout history and negatively affects today's society. Not only do people hold onto negative perceptions, but government processes and laws have remnants of these past ideas that impact people today. To enact change and promote justice, it is essential to recognize the generational trauma experienced by these groups.
"This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education. It covers innovations in educational research, policy and practice in both schools and in higher education, and the increasing interdisciplinary nature of critical race research. New chapters broaden the scope of theoretical lenses to include LatCrit, AsianCrit and Critical Race Feminism, as well as coverage of Disability Studies, Research Methods, and other recent updates to the field."
The volumes address ways in which race and ethnicity affect learning across the life span, at all levels of formal education as well as in informal educational settings. Issues of school curriculum, instruction, and administration are examined.
While critical whiteness studies as a field has been attacked from both within and without, the ongoing realities of systemic white supremacy across the globe necessitate new and better understandings of whiteness, white racial identity, and their links with education. Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education offers readers a broad summary of the multifaceted and interdisciplinary field of critical whiteness studies, the study of white racial identities in the context of white supremacy, in education.
The Oxford Handbook of Language and Race positions issues of race as central to language-based scholarship. In twenty-one chapters divided into four sections--Foundations and Formations; Coloniality and Migration; Embodiment and Intersectionality; and Racism and Representations--authors at the forefront of this rapidly expanding field present state-of-the-art research and establish future directions of research.
The Handbook of Research on Social Inequality and Education provides insights into social influences on school and educational settings. Featuring an array of topics including online learning, social mobility, and teacher preparation...
Studying 25 different national contexts drawn from every inhabited continent on earth and building upon material from the earlier edition, the work analyses educational policies, practices and research on minority students, immigrants and refugees. The editors and contributors explore principal research traditions from countries as diverse as Argentina, China, Norway and South Africa, examining the factors promoting social cohesion as well as considerations regarding the use of international test score data.
Until now, no single source has brought together such an expansive and interdisciplinary collection in exploration of the ways in which music, visual art, theater, dance, and popular culture intertwine with racist ideologies and race-making. Drawing on Critical Race Theory, contributing authors bring an international perspective to questions of racism and anti-racist interventions in the arts in education.