Suzanne Comhaire-Sylvain (1898-1975) was Haiti’s first black female anthropologist known for her work wth the Creole language. Includes manuscripts, letters, notebooks, publications by Comhaire-Sylvain, maps of Haiti, and approximately 500 photographs taken during her research. Also included is material concerning her husband Jean Comhaire and her family

The papers include class files from the course The Female Experience: Victorian Heritage, Part II, containing the syllabus, lecture notes, exam questions, minutes of the teaching collective (1978-79), and the course reader; one file of Rosaldo's lectures on women's position in "simpler" societies, which includes one letter from Rosaldo to Jane Collier, Oct. 31, 1975; and typescript papers with some published versions of Rosaldo's book reviews and articles, 1972-83. An addition to the collection in 2006 (largely unprocessed) includes course files, 1973-81; research notes, including field notes from 1963 and 1966; correspondence; reprints of her articles; her undergraduate papers; and condolence letters to Renato Rosaldo after her death, 1981.

This collection contains the field notes, field school operation records, and teaching materials created and assembled by John Rick.John W. Rick (b. 1950) is an Associate Professor of Anthropology, Emeritus, at Stanford University. John Rick’s research focuses on prehistoric archaeology and anthropology of hunter-gatherers and initial hierarchical societies, stone tool analysis and digital methodologies, Latin America, Southwestern U.S.

Collection includes field notes, research files, lecture notes, articles, papers, reprints, class files, and other materials.

James A. Fox (1944-2019) was an associate professor of anthropology at Stanford University, specializing in historical linguistics and the indigenous languages of Central AmericaThe contents of this collection include course materials, lecture notes, research files, publications, and audiovisisual media relating to Fox's work on Pre-Colombian Central and South American languages. A signifcant portion of the materials are specifically relate to spoken Quiche, including flash cards and audio recordings.

Greet Kershaw, an anthropologist from the University of California, Long Beach, lived in Kenya from 1955 to 1957 in order to study the reasons behind the Mau Mau movement, an anticolonial movement, and the effects on the local people and the world. Included in this collection are her field notes, her M.A. thesis and Ph.D. dissertation among various correspondences with editors, articles written by her and other notable anthropologists and her contributions to published works. This collection also has maps, charts, photographs correspondence, and other documents which Kershaw used in her research.

Renato Rosaldo is a cultural anthropologist who has done work primarily with the Ilongots of the Philippines. He was born in Champaign, Illinois in 1941 and graduated from Harvard College in 1963 with a Bachelor's of Arts in Spanish History and Literature.The collection consists of field notes, journals, notebooks, field maps, correspondence, drawings, phonologies and word lists, genealogical charts, newspaper clippings, photographs, contact sheets, negatives, slides, audio cassettes of field recordings, publications, texts, manuscripts, index cards, poems, and other materials.

Renato Rosaldo is a cultural anthropologist and joined the Stanford University anthropology faculty in 1970. This material consists of student files and course files.

William P. Murphy earned his Ph.D. in Anthropology from Stanford University in 1976. Murphy conducted extensive field work in West Africa for his dissertation, "A Semantic and Logical Analysis of Kpelle Proverb Metaphors of Secrecy." Collection includes audio tapes and reels from Murphy’s dissertation fieldwork among the Kpelle for 13 months in 1973-74; fieldwork in Liberia in 1971; and fieldwork in Sierra Leone among the Mende of Sierra Leone for 13 months in 1981-82. Also included are transcriptions and translations of audiorecordings.

Robert B. Textor served as Professor in the Dept. of Anthropology at Stanford University from 1964-1990, and as Professor Emeritus from 1991 until his death in 2013. Robert Textor was a professor of anthropology and of education at Stanford. Textor was a pioneer in the field of ethnographic futures research.The materials consist of reports, essays and other materials relating to Textor's work on Ethnographic Futures Research (EFR).

Included in this collection are Karen Leonard's research materials that were the basis for her book MAKING ETHNIC CHOICES; CALIFORNIA'S PUNJABI MEXICAN AMERICANS (1992), as well as the PBS documentary ROOTS IN THE SAND (1998). The Punjabi Mexican Americans are California immigrants with Indian and Pakistani ancestry (mostly men), and people with Hispanic ancestry (mostly women) who began intermarrying during the early 1900s throughout California's agricultural lands from north of Sacramento to the southern part of the state. Their descendants maintain an ethnic identity reflected in these papers.