Alternative education: Background information
This guide is for those beginning research on alternative forms of education such as charter schools, private schools, homeschooling, and school vouchers, but also school choice and out-of-school time learning programs.
Background information
The Palgrave International Handbook of Alternative Education by Publication Date: 2016This state-of-the-art, comprehensive handbook fully explores the field of alternative education on an international scale.
The Wiley Handbook of School Choice by Publication Date: 2017The Wiley Handbook of School Choice presents a comprehensive collection of original essays addressing the wide range of alternatives to traditional public schools available in contemporary US society.
Handbook of research on school choice by Publication Date: 2020Updated to reflect the latest developments and increasing scope of school-based options, the second edition of the Handbook of Research on School Choice makes readily available the most rigorous and policy-relevant research on K-12 school choice. This comprehensive research handbook begins with scholarly overviews that explore historical, political, economic, legal, methodological, and international perspectives on school choice. In the following sections, experts examine the research and current state of common forms of school choice: charter schools, school vouchers, and magnet schools. The concluding section brings together perspectives on other key topics such as accountability, tax credit scholarships, parent decision-making, and marginalized students.
The Sage encyclopedia of out-of-school learning by Publication Date: 2017The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning documents what the best research has revealed about out-of-school learning: what facilitates or hampers it, where it takes place most effectively, how we can encourage it to develop talents and strengthen communities, and why it matters.
The Wiley handbook of home education by Publication Date: 2017The Wiley Handbook of Home Education is a comprehensive collection of the latest scholarship in all aspects of home education in the United States and abroad. Presents the latest findings on academic achievement of home-schooled children, issues of socialization, and legal argumentation about home-schooling and government regulation.
