American Indian Newspapers

American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

American Indian histories and cultures [electronic resource], 1524-1997; 1770-1910

Sources spanning four centuries and covering North and Central American Indian history and culture. Material in this database comes from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Includes Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books); Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art); American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s; Rare Printed Books; Photographs; Maps. Cross-searchable with the Adam Matthew database "American West."

ProQuest history vault. American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971

Consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. One of the highlights of this module is its focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much detail as the calamitous 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these 20th Century records, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes

Indigenous peoples of North America

Indigenous peoples, North America traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos

Native American Cultural Center, Records

Containing  audiovisual recordings, photographs, posters, and publication, the records of Stanford's Native American Cultural Center contain rich audio, video, and visual materials (many of which are available online) documenting the programs and activities of NACC from 1971 to the present.